We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort. "Must visit" on a Kerala trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Tusker Trails

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Tusker Trails to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort. "Must visit" on a Kerala trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited Kerala in Nov 2013 and Thekkady was the second stop from Kumarakom. The place is about 4 hours from Kumarakom. Enroute you pass a few towns followed by rubber plantations, vast tea plantations, spice gardens, a waterfall, and winding roads which take you to lush green Thekkady. The resort is situated very close to the Periyar tiger reserve.
The resort itself is very well laid out with nature pouring out of every corner. The staff is amazing and clearly make extra efforts to ensure a pleasing stay for guests. An added advantage of the resort's location is the closeness to the market - so you have the option of having food outside when you are tired of the resort food. Having said that, let me also point out that this resort has an amazing variety on buffet - and food tastes the way it should. So a chinese dish would taste that way and not like sambar.
There are lots of activities in Thekkady.You can, and should, visit the local clubs that put up a performance for Kalari(Kerala martial arts) and Kathakali every evening(Rs. 400/head for both). Its walking distance from the resort and will take about 2.5 hrs.
For the much touted Periyar boat ride, you need to queue up early morning at the tiger reserve(~5 am), go in and wait. The ride starts at 8am and goes on till about 10. We found it extremely boring though we did see a herd of wild elephants. Its avoidable.
Then there's the elephant ride - which is like any other. However, if you are travellign with kids, do get the elephant bath done - the elephant bathes the kid on its back with its trunk. Our child simply loved it.
There's a jungle jeep safari as well - about 4 hours.
The resort itself organises cultural events in the evening - which we found to be quite lively.
All in all, its a very nice resort to visit. Definitely must do on a Kerala visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    73
    29
    12
See reviews for
169
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

All the rooms are like stuffed in Nature, and they have some special Mosquito repellent program in resort. Spa is very nice. Rooms are very spacious as stayed in 1BR. Swimming pool was bit dirty but that was due to monkeys on the trees who were jumping around the trees above swimming pool.

Room Tip: Have to walk a lil up down in resort if you are senior citizen ask for room where you have to walk l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvassa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The previous Taj property now owned by club mahindra was pleasing when we entered and check in was quickly done with smiling faces and withought much hassels....nice welcome letter containing timetable of a week activities was a nice idea.the rooms were very very nice gives you feel of a tree house and amidst the forest...
nice small restaurant served variety of food,the evening show of mohiniattam was nice which gave us recreational and relaxing time,staff is very courtious and mainly very smiling....they promise to give you a nice holiday vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

this was one of the first club mahindra hotel we have visited.it is located on the outskirts of the Periyar Sanctuary. The hotel staff is very helpful and polite. All the cottages are nice and close to nature, they also have some spice plantation inside the premises. Restaurant serves good and tasty food, liked their coupon system. Chef is eager to serve new delicacies. Rooms are clean and neat. Fun zone has varieties of creative activities.their tiny swimming pool is well kept Overall it was a wonderful experience indeed!
best thing is one doesn't need An A/C

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A nice,cosy,quite cottage property with jungle/plantation theme in center of sleepy town of thekkady/kumily.Its a 20 year old property of taj group which came to Mahindra few yrs ago,its surrounded by other resorts/bungalows.Having said that there is no room for addition of an extra acre to expand it.Hence it wouldn't be prudent to compare it other mahindra properties which they have built from the grass root level.Being a old property its mainly designed by teak wood,which has its own rich old world charm, which you hardly find anywhere these days.The wood work is good,the rooms are big with high ceiling.The age of property is evidently visible.It requires a good amount of refurbishment.The Mahindra has already started a full scale renovation,they are doing that in a phased manner. Hopefully in a one years time they will conclude this work,which will bring this place at par with Mahindra standards/RCI Gold Crown levels.Its certainly not a Gold standard property at present. Being a member we by default end up comparing the property with other properties of the club, but on my part I compared it with Derby Green, Ooty which is also a acquired property from Das Prakash Grp, its a 100 yr old small estate with a heritage status and I concluded that Derby Green is far better.Now back to thekkady, the resort staff is courteous, warm, polite. Food is good but not elaborate due to space constraints,hopefully this will change after renovation and rearrangements. The service is prompt.All in all its a good experience. To truly enjoy this property I suggest everybody to book their holidays in thekkady after 1 yrs time from now, when the property will be fully renovated. Will write more once I conclude my stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have visited first club mahindra hotel which is located in town. The hotel staff is very helpful and polite. All the cottages are nice and close to nature, they also have some spice plantation inside the premices.

Restaurant serves good and tasty food. Chefs is eager to serve new delicacies. Rooms are clean and neat.

Fun zone has varieties of creative activities like paper quilling, coloring, rangoli, dress designing, cake making etc.

Overall it was a wonderful experience indeed!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I agree with some of the earlier reviews that this is first club mahindra property in the middle of the city. I was informed that it was acquired from Taj group few years back and we could see that in the premium feel of the reception area and rooms.
We stayed in 1BR apt, which is quite spacious, big and with basic kitchen facilities. Resort is small but sufficient considering the location and Thekkady town.
Restaurant serves good food but service level needs to improve. Since their is not much to do in thekkady town, I would suggest club mahindra to add few activities within the resort to entertain guest.
Overall, we had a nice stay at Club Mhindra Tusker Trails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Tusker Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Tusker Trails

Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Tusker Trails 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Tusker Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Hotel Thekkady
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Tusker Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.