We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kerala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Tusker Trails

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Tusker Trails to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kerala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at Tusker trails on our trip to Kerala, a very nice resort with all the amenities every hotel can provide. The room were extremely well kept , The bathrooms are nice but could be better kept, the staff was very courteous and helpful,however took very long for check formalities,a bit nerve wrecking. The food was very good and the restaurant staff very accommodating , the chef was in attendance. Overall the stay very good.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the upper slope
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    102
    63
    29
    11
See reviews for
151
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
goa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

as i said holidays to remember.before going to thekkady i have read some reveiws about this resort but it was all opposite it was beautiful resort room r really nice n spacious i stayed in room no 111 called as kingfisher.swimming pool is little small but good because it was cold so we only go for swim not more than half an hour.dont forget about food it was tasty n staff were very nice thanks to mr.murali,sanu.augustine n every body .looking forward to go back we wrere there for 3nights n 4 day we enjoyed our stay at club mahindra n thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After Lake View Munnar, we proceeded to our next stop Thekkady & we were really disappointed with the quality of rooms that were available in this resort. The bathroom was small, stinking and my son was always reluctant to even enter!!! The TV was also in bad shape with poor picture quality & needs to be replaced immediately with latest LCD technology. Even the room service & housekeeping staff were very slow in their response time. Only good thing about this resort is its location which is walking distance from nearby Kumily town which we visited for all our meals & so we were saved from the exorbitant pricing of CM which I am sure must be the grievance of all other members. The only efficient staff in this resort was the person who was encouraging all occupants to take meal vouchers for having meals within the resort. No wonder I found that the restaurant was always vacant since most members chose to visit Kumily for their meals like me. All in all this resort needs to spend some money on its basic infrastructure in order to be a liveable place.

Room Tip: All rooms are surrounded by lush greenery & spice plantations so if you are not disturbed by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of my best vacations was my recent stay at club mahindra thekkady. Excellent rooms though quite old, but maintained pretty well. Three cheers to the staff there, their personal interaction with each and every guests compensates all the shortfalls of the old resort.
The destination thekkady has a lot to offer in terms of variety. The forest trekking - gavi, was the best of all. Ofcourse you should be lucky enough to get a good guide.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After getting Club Mahindra membership this was my first resort. My room no. was 601 in Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Resort, Thekkady.

1) Room was smelly.
2) Toilet bathroom was dirty. Old tiles, old bathtub.
3) Bathroom door knob-lock was broken.
4) Flooring was broken.
5) Old CRT TV.
6) Deformed mattress (Springs were making noise)
7) Bathtowels were dirty and rough.
8) Bad-mannered staff
9) There was a short black-out (no electricity) in the night
10) Smelly restaurant
11) Food was tasteless
12) Extra bed was actually sofa-bed with inferior quality mattress

While leaving this resort I felt like cheated by Club Mahindra. While getting membership they give attractive offers, show glossy photos of the resorts . Instead of paying huge membership fee and ''BINDING'' yourself to have such a third class stay, it is better to find a good resort by reading tripadvisor reviews.

If Club Mahindra is ready to refund my membership fee, I am very much interested to withdraw my membership.

They also promised me to give resolution within 3 working days but there is no resolution or any response from their side. After some days, They again asked for 5 working days for resolution.

After some days, they gave me 2 options on my membership withdrawal request.
1) To have 2 nights complimentary in their resort in the white or blue season.
2) Cancellation of membership and only around 20% refund of my membership fees and ASF (Annual Subscription Fees)

Before opening a new resort, Club Mahindra should maintain their old resorts first; your takeover/ old properties are in bad condition and need your urgent attention.

Room Tip: If anybody still want to go there then try after their renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our trip to Thekkady was in April 2011. Nothing to beat the Club Mahindra choice of locations. We were hosted in a studio apartment, with wooden flooring, which was quite spacious. The cottages give you a 'woody' ambiance.

A few things that you can appreciate:
1. Awesome location
2. Tasty food
3. Good Ambience
4. Helpful staff, namely Basil, Taniya, and Jayalakshmi
5. Elephant ride in the jungle :)

Not so nice things
1. NO TIMELY REFILLING of food. We had to wait for a long time to get them refilled, and repeatedly request the staff.
2. Phulkas/Rotis from the live counter used to take FOR EVER to reach our table.
3. Desserts (even breakfast) were refilled only on REPEATED requests.
4. Annoying experience was with housekeeping - Linens were never replaced when the room was cleaned. I had to remind them/call up housekeeping repeatedly to change bath towels, only to get a replacement by night.
5. One of the days, when we returned from sight seeing, we noticed that the bathroom sink was clogged and was smelling dirty (like someone had puked). This was after our room was cleaned for the day. We asked someone to come and clean. I don't know why this had happened, because in the morning, we had left the sink clean to notice this awkward thing when we returned. The plumber who came to repair the clog only said that apart from us (the guests), there is no one entering the room. Is that an

answer??
6. WATER and Beverage-related stuff were NEVER replaced when the room was cleaned. This was another effort to remind them REPEATEDLY. One of the housekeeping staff, by name Basil Mathew was helpful in replenishing the required things for us. Thanks Basil.
7. Umbrellas have to be kept as emergency measures. It was pouring cats and dogs in Thekkady, and we did not have umbrellas to reach the restaurant or the reception.
8. Sadly, we observed that some guests were using unclean hands to pick up food, after which, we never ventured to serve from the same bowls. It was a very sad sight.
I hope things have improved in the last 1.5 years. I have provided my feedback to Club Mahindra. Will rate the service and maintenance with 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A green retreat inside a small Keral town. The property was belong to TATA group. Mahindra took over couple of years back. Since then the property is under renovation. The overall cottage planning is good. Rooms are good. Perier Lake is the only attraction nearby.Better not to expect much variety in all areas. Staffs are cordial.
OK for a night or two, if you have nothing to do outside except eating and sleep !!

Room Tip: Under renovation. So better not to stay at all. Huge machinery noise will kill you sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Tusker Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Tusker Trails

Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Tusker Trails 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Tusker Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Hotel Thekkady
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Tusker Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.