We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Treetop

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Treetop
Save
You added Hotel Treetop to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   Lake Road, Thekkady 685536, India   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage for two days in the 1st week of May 2013. Room no.101(I preferred room no.201 from where you could get hill view but I was informed the room had already been booked) Neat and good maintained place. Staffs were cooperative. Complimentary South Indian breakfast was good on both days. As rightly mentioned by Mr. Vijay Tawker in the earlier review, they took time to refill food even after our request, maybe they were indirectly forcing the guest to try other items also. Since we wanted pure veg food for Lunch/Dinner we drove down to Kumily-Thekkady junction, just 1 KM from the hotel, where we found 4 veg restaurants. Though food served in Annapurna and Shree Krishna Marwardi restaurants (Krishna kitchen was found in pathetic condition) were not up to the mark, but not much options were available. We didn't eat at Lake Queen. Must go for two hour Periyar Lake boat ride(aound 3 KM from the hotel). We could see many birds, elephants etc. in its natural habitat. You can also purchase lot of spices from the Kumily market.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    92
    21
    14
    2
See reviews for
81
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good hotel to stay in Thekkady with good environment. There were many trees in the hotel and with the Shade of the trees on the bungalow Rooms is an added attraction. Even though they have not kept any AC rooms here, but it is required in summer. The sight seeing places and Shopping market area is within walkable distance. The Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are friendly. The complimentary breakfast they served is more delicious. Overall it is a good experience to stay.

Must visit boat ride in Periyar lake in the morning... It is your luck to find wild animals...

Room Tip: The cottages are beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It is a very good place to stay. Comfortable, cosy and well appointed rooms. Great service. Good food. One of those places where everything is about it is right. The hospitality quotient is noteworthy. I wish I had stayed there for more than one night. My folks thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality extended to us during out stay at this property. It has got an excellent location in the town. Highly recommend it to travelers visiting Thekkady.

Room Tip: Be aware there are scores of monkeys around - suggest you keep your room doors closed at all times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel room was clean and spacious and airy. The staff was cooperative and friendly. Location of the hotel is plus factor as all the sight seeing areas were nearby and market area was just within walk able distance. The food served was excellent though expensive. Complimentary Buffet Breakfast served is best of all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good Hotel in Thekkady and close to Periyar National Forest. Complimentary Buffett breakfast but they take a long time to refill items that are over. Rest of the day paid food is very expensive. Has a nice Children's play area.

Room Tip: Paid food in the restaurant is very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went there for one night in March with family. Located on a small hill and very near to Periyar reserve gate. Food was excellent and room too. Not very fancy but all the required things were in place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room and restaurant were good, but there is a big problem with this hotel. If you need hot water, you need to drain out water for at least 15 minutes. I cannot imagine how many liters of water get wasted. I have been to many hotels, but I have never seen this absurd system anywhere. When I spoke to the hotel authorities, they said that this is how it works in their hotel. I'd never recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Treetop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Treetop

Address: Lake Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Treetop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the natural beauty of the wilds Hotel Treetop is Thekkady's leading resort on the edge of Periyar Tiger Reserve. The perfect place to explore the magical sensation of the evergreen rain forest that straddles the tiny state of Kerala. The well spaced neatly laid out Gabled cottages and rooms with tiled roofs and un-plastered granite-stone exteriors are reminiscent of the colonial bungalows and blend into the landscaped hinterland harmoniously. The gourmet restaurant is stylishly laid out and spacious. Barbecues and Tandoor in the open alongside the campfire place in winter is another option. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Treetop Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Treetop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.