We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential hotel, could be managed better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel
Save
You added Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Potential hotel, could be managed better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast is nice. Staff is just ok. I wish the staff could guide their guests about the area, the wildlife sanctuary and options to see.
The price is a bit high. Decor is basic. We spent most of the day outside and returned for the night. It is located close to the market. It has a games room with table tennis, carroms etc.
If it is managed better it could do well

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    81
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
79
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is good. The garden is well maintained. The restaurant on the ground floor is three sides glass - and offer a good view of the Periyar elephant park.
Services is good. Location is a bit awry. Otherwise no issues.

Room Tip: Top floor in winters and not the top one in summers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The suite was amazing. It had a very good view .the room was quite spacy. There also have table tennis & carrom board . The only problem is the food . That can be better. Around 500mtr from the hotel there is a elephant ride. Also close to the hotel there r Kerala ayurvedic massage centres that r really good .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was big, beds were comfortable and clean, plenty of lighting in the room, and we had a small balcony (no chairs there unfortunately). The bathroom was large, clean with a decent shower and good towels. Breakfast was nice, staff was friendly. I booked this hotel in a tour package, so I don't know what price was paid for it exactly, but since I had a good and comfortable stay, I assume that it was value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had gone to thekkady after 2 days stay in munnar.... thekkady was not dat gr8... nothing to do much.... we had done massage a full body for 2000 rs... was worth ... elephant ride was good wic was near to our hotel periyar meadows.... and also done boating early morning to see wild life/.... but nothing much to see... Abt hotel it was ok ok types... room was good... big... the bed was superb,,, very soft pillows,,, I also req for extra pillow aslo... bathroom and balcony was not dat gr88... small bathroom adn balcony view was not dat good.... dnt expect much from it... food in breakfast was nice... we enjoid a lot....indoor games was timepass...
if u r nt having ur dinner from ur hotel YOu hv to get it from outside before 9 pm as all hotels and full market shutsdown by 9 pm.... we had purchased lots of spices from very discounted and cheaper rates from kisan shop wic is in the main market...

Room Tip: do nt expect much from room s ,,,as all rooms are same,,,, no good outside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The place is great in terms of food and staff..however the location can be a pro or a con: It is close to the market place which worked for us..but the 'meadow' is indeed just a field (nothing great, trust me!) but the rooms are clean and the staff takes a lot of effort to make you comfortable!! A good place with decent accomodation but sadly not the best of the views!

P.S: It has good in-house games (TT, carrom etc if you are into it)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Denver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a comfortable stay at the hotel. Rooms were comfortable and very spaces. Food was good, very good. Staff was pleasant. Drove early in the morning to the lake and were we saw some elephants. We would recommend someone traveling through Thekkady.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel

Address: Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.