We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Michael's Inn to your Saves list
Michael's Inn
Kumily P.O., Thekkady 685509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 84 Thekkady B&B and Inns
belfast
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is situated at the edge of the town in a pleasant wooded area. Thekaddy is the centre of the Ayuravedic tradition and the management will be happy to organise a massage for you. Four of us went - what an experience!
My room was clean and airy with a comfortable bed. Everything in the (again clean) bathroom worked - so no problems there. My main memory of the hotel is the staff. Just a really cool bunch of people. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a buffet dinner which was excellent and breakfast ( nothing special, but again, no complaints here).
Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Martin,
We at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your comments and I assure you that the concerned staff members will be made known of your appreciation of their service. Appreciation from guests such as yourself are highly valued in our organisation and that is what keeps us going. Thank you once again, Martin and do visit us again on your next trip to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Centrally located in the heart of the town, yet peaceful. The service and standard was good.
The restaurant closes at 9.30pm and may have to be considered while planning.

True value hotel and happy to have made the choice by considering reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Public Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Shiv,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are happy for learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your happiness is our reward and we thank you for the same. Do stay with us during your future visit to Thekkady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good. There are two places nearby where you can enjoy traditional KATHAKALI dance and marshal art of KERALA. Food in the restaurant attached with the hotel not very good and not bad also. Room sizes are small.
But there was a problem.
We have stayed in the hotel as a part of our tour package booked through ‘Make My Trip’. As a part of the package we suppose to get flower decoration in room with a red wine bottle. But there was no such arrangement. After enquiry hotel manager told that they don’t have any information about flower decoration in room with a red wine bottle etc. They have only information about room booking. I have tried to contact ‘Make My Trip’ representative but they were not responding. So before going please be sure about the facilities to be provided.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Sir, from your review I gather that you had certain issues with the booking of the package. I have re-checked your booking and can confirm that the agent, through whom you had made the booking, had booked with us your accommodation which included a complimentary breakfast. If you had any special requests, these were not communicated to us and hence the confusion. Sir, I assure you that if we had received any special request from the customer, we would definitely have gone the extra mile to make sure that it is provided. I hope you understand the situation and I would like to politely request you to take up the matter with the travel agent. Once again, Thank you for patronizing us and please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed there in the month of Feb2012 for just 1 day. Hotel located at heart of the town. In 2 Mins by walk you can reach local market. Room was clean & well furnished, however, might be the structure of the room looked little congested. When we entered the room there was a sticker saying “Beware of monkeys” I showed it to my wife n ignored it considering it as a prank by the previous travelers who might have stayed in our room. Thought how come monkeys will come inside the room? When my wife approached windows to open them, whollaa…half dozen monkeys were sitting on the balustrade. We never opened that window again :). After the rendezvous with bunch of Apes we started unpacking things. After few min of relaxation, lights went off. Called Reception there was some generator issue. However Mr. Thomas from reception area ensured that electricity will be up soon. Electricity was back after 15-10 mins. This happened 2 – 3 times.

Over all service was excellent, food was good, we haven’t got a chance to dine, however buffet breakfast was excellent. Buffet breakfast including south Indian cuisine like Idali, Dosa, Chatney, Sambhar was at par. Also Egg omelette, Bread-butter, Jam & fruit juice was present on the menu. Overall experience was adventurous & pleasant. I recommend this hotel for all honeymooners :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Deepak,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Thekkady. We are extremely delighted to learn that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. Your valuable comments are indeed heart warming and it will definitely spur us to maintain, if not, improve upon our standards. Your special mention of the services of Mr. Thomas, our front office assistant and that of the food and beverages team have been specially noted and appreciated. Sir, Once again we, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank you and hope that you will continue to patronize us in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. But there were some insects in the room. Cleanliness can be improved.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mohit,
We, at Michael's Inn would like to Thank You for choosing to stay us during your visit to Thekkady. We are also happy to learn that you found our hotel to your satisfaction. We have taken note of your indifferent experience regarding certain areas and have made necessary corrections. I apologize to you on behalf of 'Michael's Inn', for the inconvenience caused to you. I further assure you that we will take all necessary measures to see to it that this does not happen again. Please do visit us again.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our two nights stay at Michael’s Inn Thekkady was an incomparable one though the hotel is not exactly located in the wildlife. This is a very nice hotel. Food quality was great. Rooms are clean spacious and very comfortable. The service was impeccable matched with friendly smiles that make you feel that the staffs really are enjoying serving you. Every staff that we came across in The Micheals inn were very courteous and always ready to help.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Nijit,
We, at Michael's Inn, would like to profoundly thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are also very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are indeed heart warming and we take immense pride in it. It will further encourage us to strive even more to meet the highest standards demanded by our guests. Once again, Thank you very much, Mr. Nijit, and do visit us again in future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at michaels inn during the month of april,2012. The hotel was very good value for money and we had a wonderful time. The good bits were the service and food. The people were very caring and helpful. The food was yummy and we really liked it. The only bad bit was we had to wait for 20 mins to get our morning bed tea served to our room. Other than that the stay was upto the mark.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelsInn, Guest Relations Manager at Michael's Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Larry,
We at Michael's Inn would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Thekkady. We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay at Michael's Inn. Appreciation from guests, such as yours, are highly valued at our property and we take great pride in them. Please do continue to patronize us and I assure you that we would do our best to keep the standards and improve wherever needed.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Address: Kumily P.O., Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael's Inn - the paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. The vicinity of Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary with its chaste, green and exciting blue mountains makes it a real delightful experience. Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary is actually bounded by the Periyar lake. The sanctuary is ostentatious with the presence of untamed wild animals like tiger, leopard, elephant, gaur, sambur, bear, jackal and more in camaraderie with lot of water birds. We welcome you to Michaels Inn - to witness the glitter of all these natural treasures and habitat at work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.