We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Prakriti Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Prakriti Homestay
Save
You added Villa Prakriti Homestay to your Saves list
1 Mile, Opposite St. Thomas School, Thekkady 685509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Foodie paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited Meena's homestay as part of a culinary tour around Kerala. Not only is Meena herself one of the most welcoming, interesting, vibrant people we met on our trip, she is a fabulous and knowledgeable cook. You won't want to eat anywhere else! We had a fascinating cooking lesson at every meal, in which we learned about food from all over India, but particular Tamil Nadu, where she's originally from. Her house (which she built with her husband) is also a treasure, particularly the atrium-like common room and plant-covered roof terrace. For those looking for a place to stay in Thekkady with personality, character and charm - not to mention lots of great food! - Meena's is the place to be.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The best part about staying at Villa Prakriti is Meena and her food...
I was on a honeymoon trip to Kerala and after reading lot of about Meena's cooking; I decided to stay at Villa Prakriti. I am glad that I stayed there.
Meena is really an amazing hostess who makes you feel at home within no time. She not only took great care of us but also offers us help and valuable advice for our trip, sight-seeing and activities. Food was simply delicious and superb. Best food on my entire Kerala trip. Meena prepared variety of dishes for me and my wife and to be honest we missed Meena's food a lot during our Kerala trip after we left.
Villa is located away from hustle and noise of city and gives you easy access to city. Rooms are neat and clean with hot water facility.
Overall staying at Villa Prakriti was delighting experience and will be definitely back to Villa Prakriti on my next visit to thekkady. Highly recommended for Meena's company and food.
Thanks Meena for making us feel at home, for your food (I missed it a lot), for your company and for everything. Looking forward to see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Meena is a charming hostess who made me and my 19yr old son feel at home as soon as we arrived.
She is an excellent cook and worked hard to prepare a variety of tasty local dishes for us to sample.
Her cookery lesson was great fun and definitely worthwhile as we learnt lots of tips to try out back home.
We stayed 2 nights and on one of the evenings we all watched a brilliant Bollywood film together on Meena's laptop.
Staying at Villa Prakriti was a wonderful experience which we would recommend to anyone who wants to get a feel for living in an Indian home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meena_8, Manager at Villa Prakriti Homestay, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Suzie and Robin
Thank you both for a lovely review. I hope you both do reconnect and come again for a longer time:) Have a wonderful year ahead.
Warmly, Meena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Villa Praktiki and we have had a great experience, I had veel expectations about Meena's cooking and one word....perfect!!! Great food, the kids also loved it. Meena is great with kids and she will do everything possible to help and give precious advise about your journey, excursion and activities. The homestay is not centrally located but very easy access to towncenter with Tuk tuk. If we go back to Thekkady we will for sure go back to Villa Prakriti.
Thanks Meena for everything. Kisses from the boys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staying at Meena's wasn't quite what I expected although it's difficult to tell what a place is going to be like sometimes. The house itself is very interesting and has a lovely seating area with a central space with plants open to the elements where you can sit and read or use the free wi-fi. The bedroom was basic and clean with hot water in the shower but a bit dark maybe but very roomy. It was very humid when we were there (October) which can make drying clothes tricky. But hey these things you should expect and be prepared for! The best thing for me was Meena's lovely company and really lovely cooking. Really the best Indian food I've ever had. All veggie. I'm not veggie but could easily be if Meena made dinner every day. Meena's advice and organising was very useful when deciding on what to do each day. Our trip to Aroma Spice Garden almost next door was lovely. There are many larger spice gardens. Aroma is run by Sebastian and his wife and you get a very personal explanation of some of the 200 spices and other plants in his garden. He is very well travelled and world renowned for his knowledge of plants and spices and a lovely chap. We also had a couple of great days in Periyar Reserve and a couple of lovely local walks, routes courtesy of Meena. THANKS MEENA!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I traveled in India for a few months and after concluding the trip I can confirm I had the best meals at Meena's homestay. The variety and quality of ingredients were excelent!
The terrace at the top of the villa is beautiful and green, perfect to relax and read. And with luck, you might be able to see the monkeys playing on the trees around the house.
Gorgeous flowers and paintings complete the atmosphere of this cozy house. It reminded me of the colonial houses in Venezuela.
The place is conveniently located, you can easily walk to town or take a very short riksha ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our first night in India Meena was fantastic! - the stay itself was a pleasure and the rooms were clean. Meena is a great cook and we enjoyed chatting about India, politics and life in general. Meena helped us have an amazing second leg our holidays by arranging our car (with a perfect driver) and a house boat of quality with great staff in Allepey!

THANKS MEENA
Debby and Cain
Jan 12

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Prakriti Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prakriti Homestay

Address: 1 Mile, Opposite St. Thomas School, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear travelers, we are open from September to March. There are special packages available for those interested in staying here and doing the three-day cookery course or birding getaways. We also have Yoga teacher available for those interested in Yoga besides Ayurvedic workshops and an excellent Ayurvedic clinic close to us! Looking for a great yoga workshop in Thekkady? Kerstin is available for the best yoga teaching courses. Kerstin has also been writing about her large and vast experience in Ayurveda and Yoga , spanning nearly 20 years and is one of the most experienced yoga teachers in Kerala Coming soon: A painting course in botanical art! We hope to see you soon in our little patch of paradise here in the Idukki District of Kerala! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Prakriti Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Prakriti Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.