We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Friendly Staff, Nice Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kappad Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kappad Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kappad Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chemancheri PO Thoovapara, Kappad, Kozhikode 673304, India (Formerly Renaissance Cochin Kappad Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Kozhikode
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Location, Friendly Staff, Nice Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Kappad Beach resort. The location of the hotel is good right on Kappad beach with all of the rooms having direct views over the beach. The resort grounds were well maintained and the pool was a great place to relax. The restaurant was good as long as you stuck to the Indian fare. The rooms were a bit dated but clean and comfortable with a great porch which you can sit on and overlook the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and made the overall stay relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at Kappad beach resort very recently for 3 nights, it was a memorable stay. Compared to most other places that you stay in south india, this is certainly way above in terms of hospitability and comfort.
Rooms are very well located, you can actually view the beach. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
They have a decent swimming pool, resturant is good for continental and indian food. We had tried chinese food one day but it was not upto the mark.
Breakfast is quite elaborate and nice, usually breakfast is part of the room rent.
Location of this resort is great, just next to the beach.
Charges are ok, compared to their services, infact I have stayed in several other resorts in the past where they charge a lot of money and provide very poor service.
Rooms are big, and every balcony has a good view to the sea, with a swing. !
Good room service for any food or drinks.
Its around 375 km from bangalore, takes around 8-9 hrs by drive.
They have facilities such as carroms, gym and spa.
One issue was the resturant smell seems to be coming when you sit and have food, they should have had a better exhaust at their kitchen, otherwise the resturant location is good, its sea facing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

the hotel was very good .
it has all the facitilities.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We were at Kappad Beach Resort for the second time in 20 months. Let readers know the earlier reviews have brought out the salient highlights (and negatives, if any) of the property; as on Oct'08, the points hold good. I will therefore, keep this review as short as possible:

- We did our reservation directly with the resort and thanks to Vibin, the Resort Manager, the process was very smooth and reassuring.
- The rooms are simple yet functional; what's impressive is the size: we were 2 adults, 2 kids (aged 5 & 8 respectively) and an infant (5 months) all in one room!
- The proximity to the beach is awesome. It's like "hey, I will be over by the sea; if you want something, just holler from the balcony!"
- The service level is exceptional for a mid-range resort. It's pleasing to see the staff go around with a smile at any point of time of day. The night before we checked out, we had a bit of a situation: a private party was organized at the lawns and since we were in the first cottage, it was obvious the loud music was going to keep us awake longer than we wanted to. A call to the reception and within no time, we were relocated to the furthest cottage from the lawn - no complaints, no if's-and-but's!
- The resort has acquired a 'wine-and-beer' license (wasn't the case in Dec'06); didn't check the wine list in detail, hence cannot comment on it; the beer (Kingfisher) you get in Kerala is of very poor quality- ask for Fosters or such-like.
- A clean kids' pool kept the kids happy when they wanted to avoid the beach; loungers are now available
- Captured a wonderful sunset which I will cherish for a long time.
- Food is passable (being a Keralite myself, wouldn't rate it higher).
- One negative I felt was this time the beach seemed more crowded, due to an increase in the local population visiting the
beach.

As we headed back to Bangalore after 3 days of invigorating sea air, my son was very keen we should be back to Kappad for a holiday soon; we couldn't agree with him more.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Not much to complain about...
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

The stunning position right on the beach is what makes this place so special. Amazing views of the sea and beautiful sunsets through the palm trees – it’s well worth paying the small amount extra for an upper floor room. Leave the windows open, turn off the A/C and go to sleep with a gentle sea breeze and the sound of the waves.

Rooms themselves are, like the resort as a whole, certainly not luxurious though they’re comfortable enough. The food was great but the restaurant itself a bit soulless. But maybe that was because the resort was so empty that it all felt a bit hushed. And that said, the absence of hordes of other tourists was what made this beach experience so idyllic.

The beach directly in front of the hotel was virtually deserted during the day – more fishermen than visitors, a couple of small beach kiosks, lots of shady palm trees and a merciful absence of hawkers. As the previous reviewer has mentioned, it only fills up in the evening with local people come to watch the sunset. Turn right and head over the rocks (but watch out for the poo – the only cleanliness downside as the beach was cleaned every day) and you’re confronted with mile upon mile of totally deserted palm fringed beach worthy of a picture book desert island – heaven! And this is no more than a ten minute stroll away.

The staff were helpful and smiling at all times – Arun was a great host, but everyone, from the waiting staff to the security guard, made us feel exceptionally welcome. But perhaps our overwhelming memory is the warmth of the local people. There are so few Western tourists this far north in Kerala that we were something of a novelty, to say the least. However people don’t simply stare, they smile and want to shake your hand and practice their English and, most of all, have their photo taken with you. Far from being overwhelming this was just a joy.

  • Liked — Stunning location right on the beach, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Decor is a bit tired, but this is a minor quibble
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

As this is the first reiew and this resort seems to hit few guidebooks I'll try to be as detailed as I can. If you want more info feel free to contact me direct.

We knew this resort existed and arrived without booking to take a look. We landed up staying for 5 days and found it a great place to relax and soak up the sun.

Background
This used to be a KTDC (Kerala Tourism Development Corporation) resort, but is now on a long lease to Renaissance of Kochi. It appears that they are trying to up the standards, although they cannot do much to the fabric of the buildings. This is not particularly a bad thing as, like many TDC resorts, it is substantially built, but just hasn't been maintained that well. So if they keep going with the improvements it will be good.

Buildings/grounds
There is a substantial main building housing reception and an upstairs open sided restaurant. Then there are four identical blocks of rooms, Each block has two rooms downstairs (sea view) and two rooms upstairs (beach view).

The swimming pool is reasonably sized, with a children's pool, and a few hammocks. Definite lack of sun loungers, but they told us that the new ones were due next month.

There is plenty of shady space under the trees, both around the pool and around the buildings. They do need to be a bit more vigilant about clearing up cigarette butts, etc. from the ground, but were very receptive when we pointed it out.

Rooms
All appeared identical, but the upstairs ones have a far better view - the downstairs ones can see the sea but, due to a substantial wall around the property, not the beach.

Rooms were generally pretty clean, although the decor was a bit tired, and the tiles in the bathroom not as clean as they could have been. Loo & shower in large fully tiled area, with basin in a separate area off the bedroom. Huge shaded balcony with two chairs and also a hanging chair. Fridge provided.

Restaurant
The only guidebook that we read that featured this resort said that the food was 'unexciting'. What we found was that the menu was not that exciting, but that once the F & B manager, Suresh, realised that were staying several nights and interested in Indian cuisine everything changed!!

As we started asking questions, they started to come up with ideas of things we may like to try .... this included a banana leaf meal along with various other Keralan specialities that were not on the menu. We only chose what we ate on the first night - after that we just told them to decide what they thought we may like and they did us proud - really good food.

We came away with recipes for many of the things we had loved best. They clearly enjoyed having guests staying a bit longer with whom they could build a rapport - most guests were Indians on tour who stayed one night only.

No alcohol icense at present, but they expect one before Christmas.

Service
This is where Kappad Beach absolutely excelled. Everyone seemed really pleased that we were there and wanted to help & be friendly.

Arun, on the front desk, was so welcoming when we first arrived and so helpful throughout and beyond our stay. We had problems with registering our Indian SIM card and two days after we left the resort he was still phoning and helping us to sort it out. 5* service for sure.

The beach
Beautiful sandy beach, with fishing boats. It was generally pretty quiet until the evenings, especially at weekend, when everyone came to watch the sunset.

The beach was cleaned every morning, although it appeared that the fishermen made use of the far end for their sanitary arrangments, so just steer clear of that end.

Nearby
You can walk out of the hotel in both directions to larger beaches each side of the one that Kappad Beach resort is on. As we walked through the village we were greeted with smiles by the local women and children but ignored by the men, so not as welcoming as some places we stayed. There were a couple of little shops in walking distance.

Buses went from outside the hotel on a regular basis, so if you wanted to do a bit of exploring you could.

Summary
Not a luxury resort, but a conmfortable welcoming place to stay. Much for the future will depend on how much effort/improvement the group that have leased it (for 25 years) put into it.

  • Liked — The location & the great staff
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kappad Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kappad Beach Resort

Address: Chemancheri PO Thoovapara, Kappad, Kozhikode 673304, India (Formerly Renaissance Cochin Kappad Beach Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kappad Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kappad Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kappad Beach Hotel Kozhikode
Renaissance Kozhikode
Kozhikode Renaissance
Kappad Beach Resort Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kappad Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.