We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience in Kerala Ever :(” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Calicut Towers Hotel

Calicut Towers Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Calicut Towers Hotel to your Saves list
Calicut Towers Hotel
Indira Gandhi Road, Kozhikode, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Kozhikode
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience in Kerala Ever :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

this is one place where you find for outsiders they sell buffet @ Rs: 150/head (that is listed in front of the restaurant )and those who stay or booked it for some purpose will be charged Rs: 250/head quality of the food that is served and they behave is just :( for a room they charge around Rs: 3000/night and you find far far better rooms about Rs: 2000/- or less nearby

we booked this hotels board room OMG! how they can say its a board room :( & they are charging around Rs: 7000/- for 7 hours & its worth less than Rs:1000/-) my mistake is that i booked it over phone without visiting the place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
6
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for our last 3 days in Calicut. We were not planning on having the deluxe rooms but that was the only ones left so we agreed.
The rooms were really fresh and clean, with a/c. The location is also good, just a sideroad on the main "strip" with shops and malls. The restaurant is also very good and its nice to spoil yourself with roomservice :)
Will reccomend this to anyone unless your on a very tight budget.

Room Tip: From reading other reviews it seems the deluxe rooms has better value than the cheaper ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although this modern, high-rise hotel lacks character, it makes up for this by the quality of its a/c rooms and its excellent bathrooms. Bedrooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed, but do try to get a deluxe a/c room on the 7th floor - those on the 3rd floor, for example, are less well-kept. The showers are some of the best we've experienced in India! Breakfast is served buffet-style in the rather gloomy 1st floor restaurant and is uninspiring. Disappointingly, there is no internet access. The location is good: very convenient for restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe a/c room on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have visited multiple times here. It has good auditorium suites and ac rooms. But non-ac rooms were far below standards were I stayed last timed. They have gave little attention to maintain non-ac rooms and its same as it was some decades ago. For same kind of room, one get get it at 1/3rd price in other smaller hotels in same location. Everything inside the room is very old. Walls were dirty, bed was hard, tv had weak cable signals, wash basin tap was leaky.

The rooms service was fine and prompt but didnt seem friendly. At night lot many food are off the menu. Since its in heart of the city lot of options were available outside.

Overall the non-ac room is not worth the price. Maybe one can take ac and suites which are good enough.

Room Tip: ac and suite rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calicut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

spacious rooms, well priced, right at the heart of the city. Value for money. Good buffet in the noon, the staff is homely. Shopping malls, masjids, perfumery, jewelleey, bus stations, earing joints closeby.

Room Tip: Good bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hello..
I had been to Calicut Tower last month with my wife. I had actually planned to stay here for just a day, but i liked the hotel and moreover my room so much that i actually extended my stay for another day. Everything's good. I couldn't find any reason to complain about anything, be it the room, restaurant, service, or anything. Everything was next to perfect. The room was so good and big that the moment we saw the room, we fell in love with it. I couldn't imagine staying in another room. I instantly decided, THIS IS IT. Everything was very neat n tidy. The room was very spacious and well furnished. They had given extra attention to d detailing, which i liked. Bathroom is also big with beautiful interior. This was d best room, i felt, throughout my entire journey to Kerala. They also have a restaurant. Food is good here, but a bit expensive. Can try mutton biryani, fish, prawns, etc. This property is located in Markaz Complex and is perfect for shopping here, especially Attar and perfumes. The moment you get in, u are just astonished if u've come to some Arabian country shopping complex.

Overall, this is the perfect place to just relax and indulge in the luxury feel.

Happy Stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on Seventh Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The rooms are suprisingly large. This was the first thing that struck me. This Hotel is located on one of the main roads of Calicut, yet you wouldn't know it from inside the rooms. The lighting is an issue,since the rooms have an antique ambience, business travellers can find it tough to read in here, there are no tubelights, just a couple of small bulbs.

The staff is friendly and prompt. Food is a bit on the expensive side but there are not too many vegetarian options nearby, so its alright.
When I complained about not getting hot water in my room, I was promptly shifted to another room.
Overall, this is a good place to stay in Calicut

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calicut Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calicut Towers Hotel

Address: Indira Gandhi Road, Kozhikode, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kozhikode
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Kozhikode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Calicut Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calicut Towers Hotel Kozhikode, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calicut Towers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.