We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay and relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Residency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orchid Residency to your Saves list
Orchid Residency
Pulimoodu Junction, Kottayam 686001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Kottayam
Kottayam, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is located in the heart of the city and moving around is quite easy. Room and all public areas are well maintained and quite clean. Food was very good indeed and very reasonably priced. Visiting Kumarakom and doing all shopping can be done while staying here. Staff is smart and dedicated and was patient as our dinner party got delayed for a long time. overall it was a good experience in the orchid. The lights in the stairs need some improvement please.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
6
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Beware of ths hotel..pathetic service. They have a master key ..waiter just knocks at 8 AM and open the door by master key with in next second with out you opening the door.they are not bothered if your family is dressing and later tells you that they are seeing whether its checked out or no.food cold and average.try checking in as last resort and no options.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through my friend who already stayed there.
I was looking for a good and affordable hotel easily reachable to all major locations in kottayam town.
And this one exceeded my expectation. Rooms were very spacious and tidy.. The food was mouth watering par with that of 5 star hotels..Very courteous hotel staffs... All major shopping centers are just walkable..still it is very calm and peaceful inside the room..
I surely recommend hotel for both business and family trips..

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent place for a family to spent time. Its a good place for business or tourist in the heart of the city. Walking distance to the Bus Station and around 10 minutes away from the Railway station. The staff is friendly. Breakfast which comes a. Very near to Kumarkom, so away from the hustle and Bustle. Excellent Service, Very polite Staff and excellent food in the Restaurant. Any request attended to immediately. Rooms very big and very very clean. Would highly recommend the hotel. Its a clean and nice place and definitely worth what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda-Gujarat
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Posun Tours, Baroda had booked this hotel for me and my wife for stay on 25th and 26th October 2013. Trouble started almost immediately after checking in,
in late evening we asked for ice cubes for drinks.Hotel gave us the reply that
Ice cubes or cold filtered water are not available in the hotel
At dinner, waiter inquires whether he can bring only mineral water which is charged for

at dinner, waiter asks whether he can bring one finger bowl between two diners? or he has to bring two finger bowls!!
No hot water in the bathroom. I had to heat water on my electric kettle for shave and even bath!!! yet hotel manager Rajesh Nair mainaintans that there is ample hot water and I do not know how to operate the system He roughly brushes away my offer of verifying. it in my room stating that he knows and does not need any proof!!!

Hotel has practice of giving items not ordered by guests and then, while admitting mistake, they maintain that once the bill is prepared, it cannot be cancelled, hence guest will have to accept it and make payment
Needless to add than we cut short our stay and checked out very next day
.
There was not one smiling, welcoming face in the hotel

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel and find something , anything will be better than this
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here on March 2013, I reached to the hotel at 12 in the midnight, Since i was not sure about the location I called to the hotel, some one picked up and told me how to reach, Checkin was smooth, entered directly to the room, room was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel is located in the market area. Food and the service is good. This is a good place to stay within a medum budget. Looking at the budget the rooms are specious and clean. No doubt food is special attraction.

Room Tip: Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Residency

Address: Pulimoodu Junction, Kottayam 686001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Orchid Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Residency Hotel Kottayam
Orchid Residency Kottayam, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.