We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to enjoy the peaceful Backwaters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GK's Riverview Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added GK's Riverview Homestay to your Saves list
GK's Riverview Homestay
Aymanam North West of kottayam,Pulikkuttyssery.P.O | Near Kumarakom Backwaters, Kerala, Kottayam 686015, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Kottayam B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The perfect place to enjoy the peaceful Backwaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Georges' homestay is a small piece of heaven in the backwaters area in Kerala. At the heart of the rice plantations, his welcoming house is the perfect place to stay for a few days. The rooms are large and very clean. Meals are delicious and a good occasion to discuss and exchange with fellow travellers! I ll definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    21
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
52
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

George and Dai made us feel so welcome, we didn't want to leave. We spent 4 nights with them (after extending from an initially planned 2) in what has to be the most tranquil spot in Kerala - hammocks overlooking endless rice fields, flanked by palm trees.
Traditional Kerala meals (breakfast, lunch & dinner) at the family dining table really adds that special touch to making it feel like home - and the food is fantastic.
Better hosts you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere. Go stay there. It is more than worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The two days we spent at GK's Riverview Homestay were among the very best of our two week trip to southern India. Situated right on a rice field in the midst of a village of canals and rivers, the homestay provides a wonderful base from which to explore a unique way of life. What made the experience even more special was the hospitality we received from our kind and charming hosts, George and Dai. George responded quickly to our email inquiries. Dai prepared delicious Keralan food for us, and she, her mother and George even taught us how to make appam, a popular pancake. We really enjoyed our conversations with George during our meals. He also helped us figure out where and when to get a local ferry and arranged an excellent canoe trip for us. The accommodations were basic but comfortable. All in all, this was an unforgettable experience, that we highly recommend to anyone visiting southern India.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roath, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were originally going to stay for two nights, but stayed for six instead! The accommodation was nestled between expansive rice paddies and the glittering backwaters; truly beautiful. Moreover the hospitality we received from George and his family was exceptional. We will be back in the future for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent 3 nights here recently, as the only guest in George and Dai's fantastic homstay - if you want the experience of how people live among the backwaters without any other tourists, motorised houseboats or any artificiality, then Aymanam near Kumarakom is the place to come (also the childhood village of Arundhati Roy and setting of God of Small Things). George has 4 rooms separated from the main house overlooking the rice fields, I must have seen 10+ bird species (flycatchers, sunbirds, woodpeckers, egrets...) within 10 minutes of sitting in the hammock. The dinners, breakfasts and canoe trip were all superb too. Rooms are basic but comfortable, and more luxury somehow would have seemed out of place. Just get out there and walk about (and get lost in my case!).

Room Tip: You can get picked up (for free if staying 3+ days) from/dropped off at Kottayam easily which has go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this homestay by chance and what a piece of good luck it turned out to be! Our hosts George and Dai were wonderfully welcoming and lovely company, with George even coming collect us at very short notice. George was the most helpful and charming host we have come across in Kerala and rightly deserves the awards he has won. His obvious love and knowledge of the local area really enhances your stay. He pointed us in the direction of boat trips that show you the true Backwaters and you wouldn't see on the expensive, touristy and environmentally unfriendly houseboats. The homestay is tucked away in a quiet spot between the river and the rice paddies and is a very quiet location. This means it is very peaceful and tranquil and also gives you the opportunity to meet local people.
Dai's cooking was truly authentic Keralan and absolutely delicious and we enjoyed the communal meals with other guests and also George. George is very happy to answer any questions you have about the area, which we found very helpful.
The rooms are situated in a separate building behind the family's home and are unassuming, but very clean and comfortable. They overlook the rice paddies and there are hammocks where you can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

We would highly recommend this homestay if you are looking for something authentic and special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at GK riverview for 4 nights and it was the most relaxing and peacful 4 days of my trip. It was so nice to stay in a Keralan village and get a slice of the way of life and see the lives of the locals on the riverbanks on the lovely canoe ride. George was so attentive and caring and really welcomed me into his home. His wife Dai cooked amazing keralan food and it was nice to eat in their home every day and I never felt unwelcome or like I was intruding. They really looked after me. I loved the hammock overlooking the rice field and managed to switch off and read a lot. I really recommend gk if you want a good mix of relaxation and want to experience a traditional Indian village and beautiful backwaters which hasn't been affected by tourism.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GK's Riverview Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK's Riverview Homestay

Address: Aymanam North West of kottayam,Pulikkuttyssery.P.O | Near Kumarakom Backwaters, Kerala, Kottayam 686015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of State Tourism Award for the Best Homestay facility in Kerala. The Genuine Backwater,Ecofriendly and Green accommodation with warm Hospitality provides the facilities such as mosquito-free AC & Non AC rooms, hot and cold water, veg/non-veg food, Canoeing,Bird watching, Boating, Sightseeing, Ayurvedic treatment and body massage,Yoga classes, fishing, temple and snake boat visit, giving a chance to mingle with the locals to learn the culture and village life, to see the cultural activities, festivals etc. and also arranging trips to hill stations, plantations, wildlife sanctuary. It is an ideal place for Bird watching and for a long stay for relaxation as it is in 100% pollution-free zone and peaceful Green Eco-friendly accommodation.It is a Romantic place for Honey moon.We accept all major Credit cards for payment and provide free Wifi and offer complimentary breakfast,Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your GK's Riverview Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GK's Riverview Homestay Kottayam, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GK's Riverview Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.