We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect end to our Indian holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philipkutty's Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kottayam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Philipkutty's Farm
Save
You added Philipkutty's Farm to your Saves list
Pallivathukal, Ambika Market P.O, | Vechoor, Kottayam 686 144 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sussex UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect end to our Indian holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Two wonderfully relaxing days watching the world go by on the water, walking and eating Mummy's delicious food, the best we had on the whole trip. Very comfortable rooms and Anu is an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
101
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Hants
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

The island location and access by boat gave Philip Kutty that little difference that made it particularly memorable. We enjoyed ourr two days there immensely, but have marginally down-graded the location due to the noise of drumming from the temple on the opposite bank, which went on (and on) due to it being a religious festival. I inadvertently left my mobile phone in my room, but full marks to the cleaning lady who handed it in, from whence it finally caught up with me in Cochin. One thing we would not advise is to attempt to walk round the island along the retaining wall at the waters edge. It is very uneven, and non-too clean.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is a gem of a place tucked away on an island in Kerala's backwaters. Run by Anu and her mother in law who makes exquisite and plentiful Keralan food, it may seem expensive but is excellent value for food and service of the highest order.
You can walk, cycle, go birding, have a massage or chat to whoever is around. When we were there, there was a fascinating mix of nationalties and backgrounds.
1 hour taxi from Cochin; no cars-- bliss in India.
Bring books and a notepad

John Gillies

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We visited Phiipkutty's Farm following our stay on a rice boat. Each time we moved on we were apprehensive that the next place could not be as good as the last - it was!
The accommodation was excellent as was the food (some of the best we had throughout our trip).
I just loved the sounds from the Hindu temple just over the water .

Finishing touches like the flower arrangements (renewed daily) and the attentiveness of Anu all added to make this a very special place to stay.

The cookery demonstation provided by Mummy and Anu was informative and interesting and only wish that I had attempted to paint or draw whilst there.

I was unsure initially about communal meals i.e. with other travellers but it was a wonderful opportunity to learn about other people and share experiences.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Stayed two nights, arriving by houseboat. There was a warm welcome from Anu and Mummy when we arrived and their personal approach to guests was obvious. The six bungalows (one for each couple) don’t have air conditioning but we found the rooms acceptable with the ceiling fans even when the temperature was 33̊C. The accommodation was spotlessly clean. The bungalow’s verandas each had a large fan. The outside paths were swept daily and there were bowls of decorative flowers everywhere, also changed daily.

Meals were taken at a single large round table for all 12 guests. Although I don’t particularly care for enforced communal meals, the conversation by a mixture of professional, business and academic guests present when we were there was enjoyable and informative. Food was very good, accompanied by explanations of Kerala cooking by our hosts who sometimes ate with us.

It was lovely to have a guided stroll around the plantation, seeing and smelling all the spices. There’s a lovely view of the backwater, faced by all the bungalows, and if you don’t arrive by houseboat your taxi leaves you on the other side of the backwater and the boatman punts you across. Phipilkutty’s boatman takes you to the lake to watch the sunset. This can be lovely, but on no account should you miss the sunrise. The stillness, the soft light and seeing the occasional fisherman punting along the river was a sublime experience. The boatman also took us over the river so that we could spend a couple of hours walking around the village. It was all fairly quiet until we passed the church and school, then all was bustle when we reached the road. We talked to several locals and were invited into a house for refreshing drinks. Two or three days are probably enough although one couple were there for a month. We greatly enjoyed staying at Philipkutty’s, particularly after an otherwise hectic ‘homestay’ tour, and we were very well looked after. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

While most rave about their stay I found it diasappointing. Whilst the villa had a great location and was generally comfortable be warned it can be very hot and humid and without a/c the room fans do not offer must respite. Meal times are communal and at set times and in my opinion the food was average. This was the only stay ( of 6) where service was without a smile. Being picked up by the houseboat was a benefit and that trip/overnight was the highlight. I would suggest 2 nights on the boat is a better bet than Philipkuttys.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The other reviews pretty much say it all. Not centrally located, but an ideal spot for relaxing and enjoying the backwaters environment. Just splendid food -- we will return for the cooking school Mummy runs (one week) if we can. Conversation with Anu and other guests around the dining room table was open and fascinating. The farm fit a general experience of ours in India -- the harder it was to get to the hotel, the more remarkable it was likely to be. This is for peace and quiet -- expect no electronics in your cottage -- and it really delivers.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Philipkutty's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philipkutty's Farm

Address: Pallivathukal, Ambika Market P.O, | Vechoor, Kottayam 686 144 , India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kottayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Philipkutty`s Farm Hotel Kottayam
Philipkutty's Farm Kottayam, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philipkutty's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.