We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backwaters - EcoTrails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eco Trails Kerala Day Tours

Eco Trails Kerala Day Tours
Kumarakom, Kottayam | 686 563, Kottayam 686563, India
+919446439252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Activities in Kottayam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Backwaters of Kerala is unique and is found nowhere else in the world. Backwaters are a network of lakes, canals and estuaries and deltas of forty-four rivers that drain into the Arabian Sea. The backwaters of Kerala are a self supporting eco-system teeming with life. The most exciting aspect of Kuttanadu is the Kettuvallam (traditional Houseboat) which has become the most popular tourism product in India today.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
East Fremantle, Australia
1 review
“Backwaters - EcoTrails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We organised a cruise with EcoTrails and it was definitely the best day in Kerala. Kence was helpful, well organised, lovely to chat to and get some interesting facts about his land & people. The crew on board was amazing and we had the best food ever. 100% Vegan as per my request.
The boat was clean and well looked after. Thanks a lot for the amazing experience Kence!!!
Highly recommended!
Cheers, Linda

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    31
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ecotrails Took us to Another World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

When researching about all of the houseboat options in Alleppey and the environmental problems caused by them, my husband and I opted for the eco-friendly option. We learned about Eco Trails in our guide book and booked with Kence over email. It was easy to book the reservation and Kence was great at responding to inquires. We got there on time and were introduced to the amazing staff. We had 3 staff members on the boat for our one night stay, which was one of the most memorable experiences of our life. The tour of the backwaters took us away to another world and we were completely relaxed for the 21 hours. The meals the staff prepared for us (lunch, snack, dinner, and breakfast) were even better than some of the more expensive restaurants we ate at in the big cities. We even stopped at one point for a break and my husband got prawns, which were cooked in two ways by the chef for him to enjoy during dinner. All of the amenities were there to meet your needs. The room was nice with a/c and the mosquitoes did not bother us too much. We even got to enjoy an unexpected torrential downpour while we settling in for the night. At night, Kence called us to tell us there were strikes to occur in the morning and asked the staff to call our driver to pick us up at a different location. We disembarked in Alleppey instead of Kumarakom where we started and our driver met us there. They didn't miss a beat. It was an incredible experience and I think we could've stayed additional nights!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent two nights in the houseboat around the lake, canals surrounded by villages, rice plantations... It was like a honeymoon! The staff were fantastic, attentive, the food delicious, the landscapes wonderful and the boat so cute. On our way from the train station to the boat, the driver (from the same company) called Kence, the owner, to tell him our food preferences. We also bought some beers and wine. We didn't take any other service like the massages to the centre or kayak experience as we were so lazy after 3months backpacking, but we swimmed in the canal, where unfortunetly we lost our water camera and the staff guys found it!
I recommend this experience!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A well-organized Houseboat Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everything was agreed and arranged upfront via email. Kence (the nice and very busy owner) welcomed us on board of our private one family-houseboat before we left for our overnight Kerala backwaters tour. The two rooms were fine, the staff was friendly and the food was very good.
The tour itself is the typical and for Indian standards very expensive tourist thing in Kerala (by the way: and only done by tourists). Nevertheless, it is a great way of combining relaxing and travelling. We started at around noon, stopped for 2 hrs lunch and at 5:30 pm for dinner and the night. The next day after breakfast we had a quick ride back and arrived at the starting point at around 9am. So it's a decent overnight trip, but not the 23h promised on the advertisement (but not shorter than any other tour you find in the area).
As the houseboat "only" has access to the impressive large lake and larger canals you might additionally consider doing a kayak tour - where smaller rivers and canals can be followed to get an even better feeling of the local life. We didn't have the necessary extra time so we were happy with the general overview we got from the relaxing houseboat tour.
Unfortunately we can give only mixed reviews for the massage center they recommended on our way around the large lake. It was very basic, partly loud, mixed quality and not really relaxing. Apart from that the tour was really memorable. Thanks Kence and your friendly team.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“9 day Kerala Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Kence organised a 9 of our 16 day tour commencing 23rd October 13. Very well organised trip including two nights on a luxury house boat. Everyone was so helpful and our driver Satheesh was excellent.
The Spice Tree in Munnar was a super hotel albeit very quiet with only one other couple there. We did enjoy the cooking class in the Spice Tree. We were a little disappointed with the Mayapot Villa near Thekkady as the room was dark and beds were damp, probably the wrong time of the year to visit this location. However the staff were excellent and the visit to the cardamon factory was worthwhile. Our final two night stay was was at the Heritage Villa Aymanam where we were looked after by Chitra and Philip who were superb hosts and the food they cooked for us was without doubt the best we had on the trip

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Trails Kerala Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Eco Trails Kerala Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco Trails Kerala Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.