We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crooks! Dont stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vasco Da Gama Inn

Vasco Da Gama Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vasco Da Gama Inn to your Saves list
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Square | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
1 review
“Crooks! Dont stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011 via mobile

The location is good, rooms are clean but dreary. We paid 1200 Rs for an A/C room and indeed there was an air conditioner in the room. But when we tried to turn it on it did't work. We were told that there was a surcharge of 250 Rs for A/C that was not disclosed.when.we checked in. The staff, friendly enough with a sleazy edge, when we checked in, turned nasty when we complained about the bait-and-switch.

There are many nice hotels and homestays in Ft Cochin. No need to patronize these sleazebags.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
15
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

When my friend and I got to Cochin, I was rather hot and cranky. We looked for a while for a place that looked within our budget, and we thought Vasco Da Gama Inn would be out of it. To be honest, it was, but since it's the slow season, we did a bit of bargaining and got a more than reasonable price.

I think it was the nicest place that I've stayed in India that I've paid for out of my own pocket! We had a highly effective ceiling fan, a TV (that went in and out of service, but that's not a major complaint), and towels, soap, and even toilet paper provided. You can order breakfast (toast, omelette, banana, and instant coffee or bag tea) or you can just go around the corner for some spicy Kerala breakfast at the hawker stalls nearby.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is fantastic, right by the Chinese fishing nets. I was very pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stayed at Vasco da Gama hotel as recommended by travel agent in Kovallam, our room was clean and had all we required, en suite, table etc. good breakfast and excellent service from Vinny and his staff. Taxi arranged to meet us from station and return when leaving, near all the attractions, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We happened to check-in into Vasco da Gama Inn as the taxi driver took us there instead of Vasco House (which was recommended to us). We checked the place and found it to be tidy.
We stayed there for two nights. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. We were served good Indian breakfast on the first morning though we were quite late in informing Vinny about our choice. The continental breakfast on the second day was good and well on time (we had a 6:30 AM departure, and had requested for 6 AM breakfast).
The staff and Vinny are very courteous and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at Vasco Da Gama Inn in Fr. Kochin for almost the entire month of April. We were delighted with our large simple and clean room (top floor) which included views into beautiful tree tops, glimpses of the sea, a writing desk, and a working air conditioner. All the staff were consistently gracious. The inn is located near the Chinese fishing nets, the quaint town, exquisite churches, and more. We choose to eat breakfast at various restaurants around town because it was fun to sample all the great food within 5 blocks of the inn.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

only Thing I can say about this basic hotel is about it's location. It's just 10 meters far from the Chinese nets and Crowd. I didn't like the Breakfast. The Room was clean but I didn't found something beautiful and remembrance in this Hotel. But the price was really cheap. For Dollar exchange the price they gave us was OK. I think this hotel is better for Business Travelers not tourists.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The dark room with brown walls on the first floor looked straight into the staff wash area of the building next door. We had paid for our three nights before we arrived and that was probably a disadvantage- we got any old room. It was our introduction to a fairly common Indian hotel habit of not bothering to clean rooms every day. The woman looked put out when I asked for a clean glass and a dry towel. On the second day, they did clean the bathroom. Breakfast was perfunctory- we finally got a good Indian breakfast on the third morning. The woman on the travel desk tried to oversell- we wanted to go to the backwaters and to Munnar and suddenly she was trying to push us into an 8 day package for over $A2000. We bought nothing from her. Instead we went to Carnival Tours in a nearby street- very good service there. We came back to Fort Kochi a week later and stayed at Noah's Ark Homestay, which was fantastic- a world away from Vasco da Gama. We also had a night at the Tower House- very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vasco Da Gama Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco Da Gama Inn

Address: Vasco Da Gama Square | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Vasco Da Gama Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasco Da Gama Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasco Da Gama Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.