We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Kochi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Fort Kochi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Capital Fort Kochi
Save Saved
You added The Capital Fort Kochi to your Saves list
Door No. V/40, Bazar Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682 002, India (Formerly Capital Anchor House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 167 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
nimes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fort Kochi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A calm and comfortable hotel, centrally situated with good food and very helpful staff

Room Tip: A better view from the upper rather than lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our favorite hotel on our trip through India largely due to the staff, food, and accommodations. We found most Indian hotels in this mid-price range disappointing, but this one is a real gem and the service was outstanding. The highlights:

Location/Facilities
The location is very convenient to all there is to see in Fort Cochin. It is in the older part of town and the area around the hotel is pretty run down but in a very charming old world way: ancient buildings, wooden handcarts, and goats walking in the street. Typical India. We loved walking here -- it was definitely a walk back in time. The hotel however, is impeccable and beautiful - with whitewashed walls and lots of natural wood touches.
The rooms were very clean with large tiled bathrooms and a small unobtrusive fridge which is always nice. The hotel was full when we arrived with the only room available very close to the front desk. Even so, we found it to be very quiet and relaxing. There is a nice pool and lounge area near the water.

The view here is much better than most waterfront hotels in Fort Cochin, particularly from the second floor covered patio -- which offered an unobstructed view of the harbor. We loved hanging out here enjoying the breeze, drinking Kingfishers, and watching the boats and wildlife on the harbor below. Lots of wildlife here: herons, eagles, and numerous other interesting birds. On several occasions we saw Brahmini Kites (Indian Bald Eagles) fishing and enjoying their lunch on the pilings right in front of us.

The Food
Delicious. If you appreciate South Indian food, you will love the meals here. The breakfast was huge, with fruit juice and very good coffee. Order the Puttu. We liked it so much that we ate lunch and dinner here almost every day. Our favorite meals included Kerala Chicken and also the Palak Paneer which we enjoyed on the aforementioned patio with some nice cold beers and a glass of wine. The chef is very talented and will cook anything you want. The waitstaff is exceptionally attentive. One night we arrived late (after 10:30) and although the kitchen was closed they made a special meal just for us.

The Service
All of the staff here is very attentive. We found the service to be much better here than at hotels at twice the price across India. The waitstaff was excellent and very friendly. The concierge and his team were always willing to help us out, whether with a ride, getting a taxi, or helping us around town. Several times I was very amused to see them chasing off several baby goats that had wandered in through the front gate. And then there is Sreekumar: the manager. What can I say? Sreekumar is the best!! He went above and beyond to help us with all of our special travel needs. It is clear that he is the one expanding the growth and development of the hotel, and the rest of the staff follow his lead. What a treat it was to find this gem of a hotel in a gem of a city.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

After several average hotels in India, this was a surprise! The street outside is not so good, but once you get behind those gates, it's another world. The food was great as were the views.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

VERY pleasant. Great service and excellent food but the ambiance was really wonderful

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Don't be put off by the entrance - I was about to get cross, but when we went through the gates it improved. Not many rooms, but all large and comfortable. Again the water left something to be desired, so lost a point, but the service was fine and the restaurant really not bad. There is a view over the port which I personally enjoyed (I know some reviewers found it not so pretty, but what do you think a port looks like?). Clean and good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of January, before starting a trip around Keral. The property is Heritage and they have managed to sucessfully marry the modern with the traditional I think. It overlooks the harbour and you can sit having breakfast in the airy second floor dining area/balcony watching the local fishermen and the abundance of Red Kites competing for fish. I mislaid my wallet on the day I was leaving and the staff all piled in to help me find it. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, especially Sreekumar Perozhi, the manager. I believe, that they are expanding to include more rooms and a waterside seafood restaurant- good luck on that. I would definitely stay here again. Beautiful setting, great staff and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unguidedmissal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We didn't stay here but we had two very lovely and leisurely lunches on the covered patio overlooking the water. VERY pleasant. Great service and excellent food but the ambiance was really wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Fort Kochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Fort Kochi

Address: Door No. V/40, Bazar Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682 002, India (Formerly Capital Anchor House)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#23 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital - Fort Kochi is the most popular water-front hotel situated but a whistle away from the world famous Cochin Harbor.A comfortable blend of old world charm with modern conveniences, this water-front hotel of Kochi is evocative of all good things which is truly Cochin blend, from its ambience and the splendor of the surrounding water-front and the harbor view to the flavor of its local cuisine makes The Capital - Fort Kochi the perfect place to rewind your pensive mood.The Capital - Fort Kochi is a cozy water-front hotel with neatly appointed rooms and suites, a fine restaurant with entertainment and barbeques, all making for a truly enjoyable vacation in Cochin.Hospitality comes naturally to the Cochin. At The Capital - Fort Kochi we've made it a habit. You'll be treated to people pleasing service. Service, that goes beyond the daily routine, to make your stay comfortable and memorable. A holiday at The Capital - Fort Kochi is an unforgettable experience and a memory long treasured.The Capital - Fort Kochi is delight for ethnic Kerala cuisines while they also offer a good choice of Indian and continental. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capital Anchor House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Anchor Hotel Kochi
The Capital Fort Kochi Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Fort Kochi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.