We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nimmy & Paul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nimmy & Paul
Save
You added Nimmy & Paul to your Saves list
Variamparambil | Chakalakal Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682 015, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 320 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had an excellent day, learnt around 12 dishes and ate some of the most delicious food on our trip. We decided to do the full day cookery course – it was easy to organize; we sent Nimmy & Paul an email a couple of months beforehand. On the day, we arrived around 11am and first of all discussed what we would like to learn. We were made to feel at home and it was a relaxing atmosphere. The course was as hands-on as we wanted it to be. Nimmy had loads of useful tips and hints that you don’t pick up from a cookbook. In total we learnt around 12 dishes and they were well explained – so much so that we have cooked several of them successfully since we have got back home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a pleasure to spend my first evening in Kochi with Nimmy and Paul. We cooked, ate and had some great conversations. This was one of the best meals I had so far in India. I learned all about the ingredients that are typically used in the cuisine of Southern India, as well as some hints on spices. Thank you for your warm hospitality and knowledge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Both Nimmy and Paul were so welcoming! Nimmy provided us with recipe books to take with us so you could concentrate more on the cooking lesson without worrying about writing it all down. Nimmy is a very good teacher - she didn't just run through the recipe but also covered useful cooking tips. We all sat in the garden afterwards to eat together - the food we had here was some of the best we'd had on our whole trip. Would definitely recommend this course - a really fun day and good value!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stopped off for a meal and a cookery demonstration at Nimmy & Paul's beginning of November while on our tour of India. A fantastic experience an excellent meal and a very informative cookery demonstration of some of the courses we had been served. A really homely welcome was made and a real taste of Indian cooking with out the ''heat'' was served.
Well worth a visit was a real highlight of our tour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Nimmy and Paul's for slightly less than 24 hours, and never wanted to leave! We initially read about Nimmy and Paul's on Trip Advisor, and since we love Indian food and wanted to learn how to cook these delicious meals, it seemed like the perfect choice and we were not disappointed in the least. Nimmy gave us a mini cookbook and taught us simple ways to create these gourmet-tasting traditional South Indian dishes - some of the best Indian food we've had since arriving in India. She amended our cooking lessons to include specific dishes that we told her we wanted to learn to cook.

From the moment we walked in the front door, the hospitality was impeccable. Both Nimmy and Paul seemed to know what we wanted/needed even before we knew. We are students who had been traveling in India for the past two months and Nimmy insisted on washing all of our clothes, since we had been washing them by hand since we arrived in India. We came back to our room later that day to find our fresh laundry folded on our bed - truly a nice surprise. Nimmy also knew that we would be taking a long, overnight bus ride when we left their house, and arranged for us to have an early dinner and then packed more food for us to take on the bus in case we got hungry. My friend and I were amazed at their kindness and generosity, and agreed that it was the most "at home" we have felt since arriving in India.

I am now confident in my ability to whip up some of the relatively simple but delectable South Indian dishes, and can't wait to cook them for my friends and family when I get home! Our stay with Nimmy and Paul has been one of the absolute highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed with Nimmy and Paul one night, had a private cooking lesson, and ate great food at every meal. Their house and garden are beautiful, our room was air conditioned, and Nimmy teaches out in a little demonstration kitchen set up in the shade looking out at the garden. She showed us how to make simpler dishes so that we would be more likely to make them back at home, but they were delicious. The class wasn't hands-on, but that ended up being just fine, especially since there were only two of us with her: she made sure that we watched closely and understood things like changes in texture.

Nimmy and Paul also gave us tips on where to go to buy spices and tins (I wanted a tiffin carrier!), and we had fun shopping. They were also helpful in coordinating with a local music teacher so that we were able to do the singing, cooking and shopping all in one day. Whew!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We arrived in Cochin on the 18th of January on the Silversea Silver Wind. We had seen that this was an excursion offered by Silversea and did some research on Nimmy & Paul via the internet well in advance and noticed that they could be booked directly which we did. We were a party of 6 (5 great cooks, and me) and Paul was very prompt in his replies to our email inquiries. He was even kind enough to arrange a taxi for us for the day which we paid directly to the driver however Paul made sure we got superior quality at a reasonable price. Our research paid off and we were able to secure NImmy & Paul's services for the full day at a significant savings from the ship price. (We prefer to book our tours directly rather than through the ship to be able to customize our days to suit us and the price is always more reasonable)
When we arrived at about 11 in the morning Nimmy & Paul were both there to greet us and welcomed us into their beautiful home. We had a short chat and then it was off to work in the lovely back yard which doubles as an outdoor kitchen/instruction area. It was a warm day and they both made sure that the fans were directed towards us and we were comfortable. We had a demonstration for about 5 dishes and then we sat down to have a wonderful lunch. During the morning instruction Nimmy endured many questions about spices, technique, and pots. Nimmy was assisted in her prep work by Baby, who was wonderful. Baby did not speak, however always had a smile, adding to the pleasant day. After lunch, NImmy and Paul found out from us where we wanted to tour and what items we wanted to buy and instructed the taxi driver where to take us. We saw the most popular tourist areas and purchased spices and pots. Nimmy and Paul did not accompany us as a previous poster has suggested. We then were taken back to Nimmy & Paul's to have a beautiful dinner. Because Nimmy had to receive the tour from our ship, she was not able to spend time with us, however Paul and their son Joseph did sit with us as we ate and were terrific company. After dinner, Nimmy did come to say goodbye, and sent us off to the Broadway Market to buy some more pots. Our taxi then took us back to the ship.

In short, Nimmy, Paul and Baby were wonderful people and accomodated our many requests. I would not hesitate to recommend Nimmy & Paul for a day of cooking to anyone who has an interest in Kerala cookery. Their home was spotless, comfortable, and quiet and the yard was beautifully maintained. We have already recommended them to travellers and would not hesitate to send anyone there way.

All of our group are fairly well travelled and this was truly one of the best days we have ever arranged.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nimmy & Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimmy & Paul

Address: Variamparambil | Chakalakal Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682 015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand finale to your Kerala experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nimmy & Paul Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nimmy & Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.