We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's too expensive!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vasco Home Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vasco Home Stay to your Saves list
Vasco Home Stay
Vasco House, !/344 | Rose Street, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 320 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's too expensive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed at the Homestay in March 2012 for three days/Nights and at the beginning everything was fine, Mr. George seemed to be a very kind and helpful man..
It's true, that the rooms are very large and that it is a historical place - but if you travel alone it's really too expensive because you don't need 3 beds in one room (BUT, you have to pay for it...). There was no hot water at all and sometimes the lights did'nt work. WLAN was only available the first hours and after that it wasn't possible to get a connection anymore...Ok, that's not the most important point.
The day i was leaving, Mr. George told me that i could leave the luggage IN the room till 1p-m because i had to wait for the airport bus. When i payed at 11a.m he told me that i'd have to leave the room immediately because other guests were waiting for the room. No problem - if he told it a little bit earlier, then i'd have been ready with leaving but all he is interested in is making money. He is very freindly in the beginning - but at the time he gets the money he stops and it was not the only time that i experienced this way of behaviour in India, especially Fort Kochin!
When i met a few backpackers they told me that they were staying in a homestay for 300INR per night (which is quite cheap) and even this one was in the centre...so if you are planning to stay a few days in Fort Cochin (maybe not too long, it's a very touristic place) then you should be aware that this homestay is too expensive!!
Breakfast was average, but Mr. George's wife was really nice and always smiled (in fact she doesn't have to say anything...it's so sad that most of the Indian women have to behave like the man tells them)
Last thing to mention, it's also a loud place, wasn't possible to close the windows and there is traffic from 7a.m to 10 p.m so no time for a break if you want to sleep during the hottest time - foret it;-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesantosh, Owner at Vasco Home Stay, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
First of all thank you, for staying with us ,I never asked you any rent when you checked in because ,its was all decided earlier by many letters and reply's and accordingly you agreed to pay me,..While staying with us and till the time you left you where so kind and happy Now I am really sad to know your comments
I had told you in advance and a Notice is kept on the table giving all clear details and the Check Out time is boldly written 11 A.M..I mentioned the check out time to you while you had the free breakfast at coffee shop about 9 a.m. and then you went out and you came back only by 12.45 am ,15 minutes before the bus departure,and when you find two other ladies waiting for you from 11 am, just for you to check out and they want to check in and only after 1 pm I could offer the room to these guest
Regarding the WiFi its given free for all the guest unfortunately the optic cable was in trouble for no fault of mine so instead I gave my computer for you to use in my travel desk office which you had used to check you mails
Bye for now, I feel sorry for you.for no fault of mine.Wish you good luck,Happy journey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
17
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

An old building, large rooms, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained, the St.Francis Church visible from the windows, a very friendly Mr.George and most things a short walk away made this a great place to stay at Fort Kochi. Nope, all wasn't perfect - they forgot to add the toiletry (and we forgot to ask since we were carrying some of our own!) and the breakfast was very basic (though served with a smile, and very well timed for our next trip) but that did not take away from the great value the place is, and more importantly, the experience of being part of the history of the place. Apparently, Vasco Da Gama had stayed at the place, and it lends itself well to the slow and gentle pace at which Fort Kochi must be experienced.

Room Tip: We stayed in the one on the corner. Nice huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have stayed in Kochi for 3 nights and have totally loved the place.
Sort of a tamed Indian city...Vasco Homestay was perfect for me, i had a vast room in a very good and quiet location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at this 500 yr heritage homestay for a couple of nights in Feb 2012. Great location as everything is within walking distance.Mr. Santosh the proprietor is a charming helpful man. They offered breakfast with the room rent but it was a bit of a disappointment. I was hoping for a more hearty breakfast than the two slices of bread and a glass of juice. All in all it was a decent place to stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesantosh, Owner at Vasco Home Stay, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thanks for being my guest.While staying with us for three nights of your honey moon days we where open and friendly. We guided you and also arranged transportation If you had openly said or put a word that you are not happy with this breakfast individually (small pot of Coffe 300ml or Tea,two slice of Bread ,jam and butter &,300ml of fresh juice,) we could have given any other variety of items from our menu card Variety of Pan cakes(-Kerala.Banana, Plain,) Chappathy,.Dal Corn flakes with cold milk ,etc:
Now sitting in one corner of India Shillong we feel sad about you for not being able to satisfy you.
Hope next time it not happen, so friends speak up openly,we are here to help you and solve your problems




Kindly remove the first matter and put only this response
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in Vasco House for three days in February 2012.We found it an Ideal location to see Fort Cochin.For Rs.50 we had a three wheeler tour of Ft.Cochin with a running commentary of the sites we were passing!!
Regarding the guesthouse itself we found it cosy having an old world charm.The rooms were with high ceilings of colonial times and very clean..George and his wife were very friendly and helpful in fact when we were leaving for the airport at 5 a.m. he was awake to give us a cup of tea..The cafe downstairs was a godsend as we did not have to go looking for a place for breakfast.The Cafe was well patronised.
Vasco House is close to all the main sites.It is 5 minutes walk to the fishing nets and the adjoining Bus station.The food court where fresh seafood is available is also 5 minutes away.
For the price of Rs1500 including continental or Kerala breakfast we think this is a bargain.
Will we stay again? Yes if we visit Cochin again.

Dr.&Mrs.Sitha
The Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

George and his wife are absolute delights. Helpful, accommadating. We were picked up at the airport and arrived late. George kindly made us feel at home with some fruits and tea. We stayed for 6 nights.The rooms are huge, with a private sitting area, mosquito nets for the beds. We still sprayed ourselves when outside the net. Great corners if you want to be on your own.
I felt safe and at home. The breakfasts were fantastic with a good selection of items. Loved the pineapple juice and the Kerala pancake. I also enjoyed the Dhal and Chapati. On the only day it rained because of the Cyclone in Pondicherry. My friend and I decided to have lunch at Vasco Cafe which is always busy. As the everything is fresh, we needed to let them know an hour before what we wanted. We had delicious Keralan Fish curry and rice. Which was the best we had so far during our stay. We booked tours with George and just had a tab. We were in a great location close to everything. It was carnival, New Years and there was always something going on. The house is also famous as we later found out, because people were also standing and taking photos in front of the house. It was the set of several movies.

Its family run and a great place if you are travelling with children book the larger room. If you are two women travelling alone as we were you will feel quite safe.
Imagine visiting your uncle George and his family for awhile..

My friend who has difficulty sleeping complained that it was too noisy.
I had no problem sleeping. As its on a busy street it can get noisy.
It real value for money and a delightful place full of history.

Room Tip: There are two rooms both are spacious and one is a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Vasco homestay for 2 nights. I can certainly recommend this accommodation. The room was spacious and clean, 2 beds covered with mosquito netting. Vasco homestay is located in the heart of Cochin within walking distance of everything. The price, 1500R per room, breakfast included. The owners were very nice and helpful. This was the best accommodation of our trip through Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vasco Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco Home Stay

Address: Vasco House, !/344 | Rose Street, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Portuguse house which is about 500 years old building believed to be the residence of Vasco Da Gama (Vasco House) the Portuguese Navigator who found the sea route to India ,died in 1524 on Christmas Eve,and his tomb stone is in St:Francis Church. WE have two executive rooms and two basic rooms,We have our Coffee Shop serve breakfast also take advance orders for keralan Lunch and Dinner and a Travel Desk where we arrange House Boats and other package tours in Kerala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Vasco Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasco Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasco Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.