We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Queen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fort Queen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Queen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manthra Road | Pandikkudy, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 166 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Mumbai
2 reviews
“A friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A personalised welcome. Though the entrance lobby is small, it is tastefully done. Rooms are large enough to give you sufficient space to move around. Bathrooms were neat and tidy. Located in a quiet corner of Kochi but in close proximity to city's numerous attractions. The food was fine. The availability of bicycles with safety gear would give a good start to explore Kochi streets in a leisurely manner. The staffs were more than eager to help us in ensuring our comfort. Over all a nice place to quietly spend some quality time with family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
40
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

In my quest for "Austerity" friendly hotels this year, I booked the Forth Queen at Kochi, its a small clean hotel in the fort Kochi area. Its some where between a business hotel and a bed and breakfast. The rooms are smallish but very clean, with a similary clean but small bathroom. Not too noisy its on a quiet street with occasional traffic and small houses and shops no other tourist activity near by, it has two restaurants one of which specializes in indian and continental food - i had the indian food which was mostly kerala seafood - which was well prepared and delicious. The hotel lies some where between the Sea front (where you have the fishing nets, princess street and the basalica) and the mattencherry area which has the dutch palace and jewish synagogue, both are around 8-10 minutes drive by tuk tuk (30 rupees) and around half hours walk - i walked to both places... some may feel this is too far, as you do have lots of hotels of all kinds in both areas... especially the sea front has lots of boutique hotels. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and arranged my transportation, when i had some problem with my ATM card they also helped out. What i think is missing in this hotel is some extra frills and glitz, right now it is a very business/B&B kinda place - they should make it more kerala tourisim oriented which will take it to another level. But for a short non-frilly kochi stay this is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nothing wrong with the hotel apart from it's location. It isn't near anything particularly interesting and all the placed you might want to visit are a good drive away. You can change many things about an hotel except its location.

The rooms were fine, clean if a little basic and the food was reasonable. Service was fine but the place lacked something - not sure quite what.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Decent hotel:
1. Nice deluxe room with basic features (TV, Aircon, Mini refrigerator, table and chairs, complimentary mineral water).
2. Queen size bed. Not good enough if you are a family with small child. Mattress also not firm if you are looking for one.
3. Clean bathroom with good shower.
4. Unimpressive toiletries and torn towels is a let down.
5. Complimentary decent buffet breakfast. Not much choices but it was a decent mix. Would do good, if everything is served hot. Nice ever smiling staff.
6. Good location in Fort Kochi close to other sightseeing options in Fort Kochi. Busy road infront of hotel can get you an Auto (for 30 rupees) to nearby places and restaurants. But no shopping options nearby. You will have to go to Ernakulam, MG Road for that, which is some distance away.
7. Clean and comfortable hotel with no-frills. So if you are looking for budget hotel with most of the time being spent in sightseeing, this is a convenient option in Fort Kochi. Good value for money spent.
8. Having a travel desk with local information will help. Front desk struggled to answer our queries for places of interest and some help in bookings for KTDC tours. But staff was polite in responding with whatever information they could get.
9. Average food in restaurant with reasonable pricing. It was bit spicy for us but we should have informed of lesser spice. But there are lot of lovely seafood options around 2 kms. We specially loved food at restaurant at Abad Hotel in Princess Street and it was not too expensive.

Would recommend as no-frills hotel with value for money.

Room Tip: Prefer to take room on back side (not road facing), since bus traffic could be nuisance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vizag , India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our Office trip went to hotel fort queen(Kerala), Cochin via a good budget tour for kerala from Antilog Vacations. We went August first week & tour operator really give us very good services This is a 3 star property located in the heritage town of fort Cochin. It was overall a pleasant stay at fort queen.

We booked deluxe double bed for 5 rooms .we were 10 people , 2 each room. It designed with sleek floor. Deluxe double room is with air conditioner and it's maintained with a double bed. CABLE TV, MINI BAR, DRESSING TABLE ARE AVAILABLE in this resort. There is a pool and a PC near the front desk with internet access and also free internet in the lobby and one can use it for emergency need.

It has a multi cuisine family restaurant. The hotel provides Indian, traditional Kerala, continental and Chinese foods. Food is delicious and lip smacking. We loved to have Kerala dishes, simply awesome.

Other amenities are health club, medical services, safe deposit box, business centre, laundry facilities, travel counter, and spa. Fort queen resort also provides a bicycle ride for free not chargeable.

The hotel staffs were friendly, co operative and fantastic. They welcome us very politely. They spoke very well in English. So we were able to understand fully ( sans malayalam accent) what they trying to say. Good staff and we liked them for their apt service. The tour operator arranged our sightseeing trip. The person who guided us was helpful.

Overall our stay was wonderful and makes us happy. I thought to extend my stay over there but unfortunately it not happened ( coz of colleagues)but next time surely I will visit Cochin and I will come back to fort queen again. Recommend this hotel to everyone who is planning for a summer vacation. Come and enjoy the nature scenic beauty. See you guys.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This a good property with good rooms ,clean bathrooms. The restaurants are decent and the prices are okay. The welcome at hotel was warm.Complimentary drinks were an add on. The room service was prompt,Location is really good cause it's kind of a landmark.Everybody knows it and the beach and the synagogue are like 5 min auto ride away.They helped us with local taxis and gave us a very friendly driver . The Tv was not working in one of our rooms but the staff was prompt to fix it,Over all pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Mail them for better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good value for the money spent.
All sight seeings at kochi (fort cochin) are near by. Rooms are neat. Reception staff is very helpful. Fish varities are available in restaurant. Avoid this hotel if you are looking for a business trip as the hotel is around 10kms away from railway station or main town. but good for travellers who wish to see fortcochin area (I found only this area worth for sight seeing at Kochin).Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Queen

Address: Manthra Road | Pandikkudy, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 166 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Queen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel FortQueen is a new hotel at Fort Kochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fort Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Queen Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.