We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Old Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Old Harbour Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1/328 Tower Road Fort Cochin India | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the time the car picked me up at the Cochin Airport until my stay was over four days
later (a very fast four days), I cannot find fault with the property and the staff. My room was
ready when I arrived. Just beautiful and so very comfortable. Since it was my birthday, Jude
brought in a bouquet of roses and a wonderful birthday cake. Dinners were superb served
outside except for the one night of the torrential rain and thunderstorm. Breakfast was made
to order when you arrived and also the best coffee. Location of the hotel was marvelous -
near the chinese fishing nets and also close to Princess street. The property was maintained
beautifully and the staff was so kind and so caring. I would highly recommend this property
and would definately return.

Room Tip: This is a very small boutique property. My room faced a lily pond and was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    116
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
151
492
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Each and every person was very helpful at this hotel. Great pool, great rooms, great location, great price. This was a great jumping off point for visiting historic Cochin or for just lazing by the pool, both of which we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had a lovely 2 days here- staff very friendly and gorgeous rooms. We had a garden villa room which looked onto the pool. The pool was very inviting and an oasis after a busy day in Cochin. We chose to eat in the hotel the first evening after a long journey and were extremely impressed. Definitely would recommend and breakfast was equally good- try the Dosas! Only tiny criticism is no mirror other than bathroom and no full length mirror ( purely a girl thing!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broad Town, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after arriving at Cochin airport at the beginning of a 2 week tour of Kerala. It's hard to fault it. The staff are delightful, helpful, and charming. The pool and garden are a haven, and the food is great. There's yoga on the roof every morning. The rooms are cool and well furnished.

I particularly enjoyed sitting in the garden for early morning tea and listening to the city waking up. The large trees are full of birds, there are squirrels, geckos, butterflies - and the most attentive staff I've ever come across quietly checking that you have everything you need.

The hotel is right near the Chinese fishing nets, opposite a large park area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Disappointed by the food in our chosen hotel we were lucky enough to stumble across the Old harbour and ate here every day for four days. The restaurant is a beautiful indoor/ outdoor situation looking onto a beautiful garden and pool. The service is red-hot. The real star is the Chef, Shafi - a man with considerable international experience who loves to chat with his guests and cook to their taste - a real gem. Food is Indian and well balanced Nowhere better in town. Wish we had stayed at the Hotel as well Old building, well maintained

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The old harbour hotel is an island of tranquility in a splended site at the end of the old town next to the fishing nets. The staff could not have been more helpful and always around with a genuine smile,not the plastic kind we have become used to in the west!!, Also the food was fresh and very tasty with a lovely blend of good presentation and fine south Indian flavours with plenty of heat yet not killing the flavours of the sea food congratulations . I wish I had spent one more day here but not much longer as enough of a good thing Paul's after a while WELL DONE old harbour and good luck for the future PLEASE keep up your friendly and genuine high standards of friendliness and great food.

Room Tip: Ask Forres a complimentary upgrade BUT they are usually full during the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We just popped into the Old Harbour Hotel for a drink on our recent overnight stay in Fort Cochin and it was magical. The beautiful walled garden with sparkling lights everywhere had such a lovely atmosphere. The manager then kindly showed us one of the bedrooms which looked extremely comfortable and there was a lot of attention to detail. My comment to my husband was that I thought this was what the chap in the "Most Exotic Marigold Hotel" had been trying to achieve (but failed!). Will stay there next time instead of just having a drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road Fort Cochin India | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel'. A 300 year- old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.