We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Old Harbour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/328 Tower Road Fort Cochin India | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we arrived in the middle of the night first appearances from the outside made our
hearts sink - it was rather dilapidated looking and in need of a coat of paint!
However inside was a different story - a lovely little hotel with character and a sea of
smiling faces who couldn't do enough for us.
Rooms were clean and comfortable without being luxurious. Always plenty of hot water.
The pool in the small garden was very nice though while we were there it was hardly
used.One could eat in the restaurant or in the garden as you prefered, though since it
was at the end of the rainy season one had to be prepared to move suddenly!
With encouragement from the chef we even tried several new dishes we might have
been shy of otherwise, and on the day of my birthday a cake and candle appeared
after our meal and the staff and other diners all sang "Happy birthday to you"!
Two German ladies we met there said it was their third or fourth time staying there.
We also would return if ever in Fort Cochin again.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the garden should be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    138
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
176
568
46
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After 2 weeks travelling around Southern India this was the perfect way to end our trip. Beautiful hotel - room with ensuite was stunning, lovely pool and without doubt the friendliest hotel staff we met. The district surrounding the hotel is more relaxed than most urban areas, the fishing nets just meters away from the entrance would be beautiful if there was even the slightest effort made to clean up the surrounding area but worth seeing. Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a garden cottage for 2 nights in October. A very tasteful period property with a central location in Fort Cochin. Lovely room with traditional Keralan outdoor bathroom, charming garden with a fabulous pool. Would highly recommend the restaurant, excellent service and fantastic food. Also had a great massage here. This is a great place for a bit of luxury either at the start or end of a tour of Kerala.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If The hotel was a real treat for me as we were out to spend leisure time in Kerala. Old Harbor hotel is well located, a very short stroll to the seafront and the Chinese fishing nets.

Our Tour driver , Sujeet from Antilog Vacations was a great help through out the week long tour.AV did gave us a nice package booked online at rates affordable not comprimising with hotels.

Our room was all spacious and welcoming (including fresh flowers, petals on the beds). Perfect
aroma and immaculateThe bathroom was also in perfect condition. All the toiletries were present and it was neat. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and there’s always someone or the other from the staff fetching you some snacks or some kind of drinks. The pool and the garden are lovely and at night you can eat in the garden, with Classical Indian musicians sitting at the far side of the pool.

Staff were very helpful. Excellent location - Chinese fishing nets, walk along the shoreline,
visit local shops and restaurants, hop on the ferry to Eranakulum or Mandacherry (synagogue, dutch palace). Free Wifi is a bonus. Highly recommended.The food is mostly prepared according to tasteand is just fabulous. There was excellent south Indian food being served n there was a whole lot ofwonderful delicacies.

From the time of our arrival to the moment we left we were looked after in the most courteous andfriendly manner. There was always plenty of staff on hand to fetch and carry for us, answer queries and make arrangements. The service was highly personal and attentive. In Old Harbour hotel, you can stay in the most peaceful place, where all the staff, are doing there outmost to help you in every way they can. And the you can walk out in the exiting and colorful, vibrant Fort Cochin, and then back again to a cooling dip in the pool ind the garden. The absolute best of both worlds.

I higly reccomend that you stay in this lovely "home".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here (Tulip room) for a weekend getaway and would highly recommend this hotel. The grounds / courtyard are breathtaking and the staff was very helpful. They helped coordinate a backwater canal tour for us as well as caught a lizard / frog who had made their way into our room (not a huge issue; the bathroom / shower open to an outdoor private courtyard so it makes sense we had some critters). They also picked us up at the airport even though our flight was super delayed. Great breakfast and we also ate here for dinner to enjoy the nice poolside sitar music. Location is in the heart of Fort Cochin, right by the Chinese fishing nets, Princess street shopping etc. They also have a pool. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived after a long ad trying drive. As soon as we walked through the door we could relax. The staff are efficient and friendly, and the room was very comfortable. Food excellent. Perfect location in the town. Unable to find any negative points.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Old Harbour Hotel does not simply provide accommodation but a unique experience. The hotel itself is an elegantly restored old house and the garden with its pool is a lovely place to relax in after the heat of the day. But best of all is the wonderful personal service. I loved the jasmine petals that were sprinkled on the bed each evening so that the room was full of their scent throughout the night. I appreciated the cup of coffee that would appear unbidden as I sat in the lounge area in the early morning. I felt that I was staying in a private home rather than a hotel.
I celebrated my birthday whilst there and although traveling alone felt surrounded by friends with flowers, cake and a birthday song. Suresh, the manager, and his team are to be congratulated on he wonderful service and experience that they provide.
The location is superb being only a minutes walk from the water and the Chinese fishing nets. The windows in the lounge area look at directly onto the street and you can enjoy the sights and activity from inside.
The atmosphere is one of quiet....very little traffic past the hotel and no televisions all helps to make it a truly restful stay.

Room Tip: While all rooms are beautifully appointed the garden rooms have a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road Fort Cochin India | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel'. A 300 year- old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.