We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful introduction to Kerala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arches to your Saves list
Hotel Arches
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 168 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Golden Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to Kerala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for 6 nights in a suite and enjoyed the experience. Very late check-in no problem. Friendly and helpful staff. Food great on rooftop. We enjoyed all our breakfasts and a couple of dinners as well. Very handy position, we could walk to Chinese nets, beach, restaurants, shops.
Would definitely use this as home base again. Desk staff willing to organise all sorts of things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    128
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
231
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were very happy with Arches, extremely clean, great hot shower and very strong wifi, could use our computer in our room, laying on the bed, a one and only experience for our three week trip. Breakfast was delicious served from their roof top restaurant, all very professional and we appreciated the option of some baked beans with our egg etc Whilst the room was not huge we found it very well set out. Rose Street whilst close to everything is in a very quiet street and we slept very well each night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is at a very good spot, just seconds away from the sea. The colonial architecture, the traditional decor indoors and the comfortably plush rooms give a really good feeling. The staff was very helpful and polite. Don't miss the breakfast at the rooftop looking down upon the treetops and out onto the church of St.Francis. Very magical :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin, Kerala, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

my business trip was a good one. the staff was very helpful and manageable. the rooms are clean and good. i would recommend this to any family or business peoples. very good ratings. i enjoyed my stay a lot. Praveen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Arches is a very choice as a place to stay in Cochin: very well located (close to the Chinese nest and on a quiet street), good rooms, nice staff, terrace on the roof..A very pleasant small simple hotel, just right and historic in itself for the historic area of Kochi. Room adequate, mattress firm. Staff pleasant.Roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is clean and comfortable. When we arrived the staff on reception were helpful and welcoming - giving us all a beautiful smelling neck garland and refreshing fresh coconut. We had a lovely meal in the roof top restaurant and the waiters were very attentive, even bringing us a mosquito coil. Unfortunately we had to leave very early to go to see the elephants being washed at Kodanand and were pleased to be told that breakfast boxes would be given to us in the morning. However, when we checked out and asked at reception the following morning the person on reception didn't seem to know what we were talking about, telling us boxes were not available and so we left without any food - which didn't go down too well with our 17 year old son. To add to his disappointment when we were waiting at the river to watch the elephants, another group arrived carrying breakfast boxes with the Arches name on them! However this was the only disappointment to our stay. We would recommend a stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed on 1 night with my family 2 adults on 19Jul12. It was impressive that they have earned about 5 TA rewards of excellence in recent years. Of course the service was delivered as the rewards they 've deserved.

will give a full 5 star even though the a/c is a bit noisy in my room + the wifi reception wasn't good at the lobby but you are too perfect so the minor issue can be ignored!

Keep up your good work.

Room Tip: walking distance to the cochin fort to see chinese fishing net!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.