We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of heaven ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ann's Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ann's Residency to your Saves list
Ann's Residency
1/307A, Post Office Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Having been in India for 2 months, and having stayed in various places of varying quality (ie some truly awful dives) this place is a bit of heaven. It isn't the cheapest homestay you'll find here by a long shot (and it isn't even really a homestay, although advertised in some places as such), but it is clean, comfy, cool, there are books, comfy chairs, good breakfast and coffee. The people are friendly and helpful, and it is in a great location. The price (I am paying 3000 rupees a night inc breakfast) means it is a treat for a couple of nights rather than a longer stay, but well worth it.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    88
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
129
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We remember with great pleasure and affection the wonderful days we spent in this lovely residency in January, 2014. We enjoyed very much the very comfortable A/C room , the garden, the very delicious meals and most of all the cosy atmosphere !
We would like to thank you, Leslie, too that you engaged Antony to drive us to Munnai, Periyar, Madurai and then to Varkala. He is such a nice, friendly and humorous man and really an excellent, cautious and reliable driver. Everytime we felt very safe and comfortable to go with him. We strongly recommend him for every Kerala tourist

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Once again we chose to stay at Ann's for part of our trip. The owner Leslie is a delightful man who bends over backwards to help you. You cannot underestimate being able to trust someone when you are overseas. Leslie organised our trips once again and we were not disappointed. We also used the same driver, George, as we used two years ago. He has worked for Leslie for many years and is totally reliable. He does not take commissions from local businesses, therefore you don't find yourself being manipulated into yet another handicraft shop.
Leslie has plans to put in a swimming pool in the next 12 months which will make this little boutique hotel even better than it is now.
My one tiny, tiny criticism is I wish the pillows were a little better. Two pillows would be even better again. But all in all, Ann's Residency is great value for money and in a quiet part of town, 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Everything has already been said about this place. Lesley is very hospitable, the rooms are a good value and the location is situated perfectly outside the busier streets of Fort Cochin. The breakfast is very good for eggs to order (with bacon!) and the fresh brewed coffee is a plus. At dinner and lunch we found the fish curries, jumbo prawns and veg dishes to be the best we had in Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: Eat there for dinner as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really good place for a stay in Fort Cochin. Location is calm and perfect, tariffs and rooms are resonable and the food in the restaurant is also OK and they're serving real fresh brewed coffee (we found out that this is not a standard in Kerala)
Lesleys hospitality might make the difference to comparable places because he makes you a little bit like feeling at home.
He's got a lot of good ideas how to organize your trip in Kerala and as a result of this we booked a one week trip with his Ambassador 2000 and his great driver George. This was really an outstanding experience to travel around in such a car and a driver who we already missed after he brought us to the airport on our last day. Thanks again, Lesley and George!

Room Tip: if you need your morning coffee as soon as possible take the rooms facing to the street (which is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the third time I have been to Ann's Residency and I keep coming back because of Lesley (the owner)'s hospitality, warmth and friendliness which makes this place feel like a second home. Chatting with Lesley is like chatting with a friend. He's happy to share his insights about travel in Cochin, the wider Kerala and Tamil Nadu and he has practical tips for travelling about town. Our rooms were comfortable, although my aunts who had poor knees and stayed in the ground floor room had difficulty climbing into and out of the bathtub. Perhaps they could look into safer options for people who have some restriction in mobility. Other than that, the stay was very comfortable.

We had many meals at the restaurant and the food was outstanding - the fish curry and prawn curry and appam were a standout. I also always love their breakfasts.

Lesley organised our airport and houseboat transfers, a kathakali performance and a great houseboat experience. The driver Lesley arranged, Sheckson was a very safe driver and extremely friendly guy.

We are looking forward to coming back. Thanks Lesley for another great stay!

Room Tip: If you have elderly guests or guests with mobility issues, ask for a room on the ground floor as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying here. Leslie and his staff were fantastic, the food delicious, the atmosphere delightful, the location excellent. Leslie was very helpful organising transport for us and making suggestions about where to go. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Address: 1/307A, Post Office Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann's Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.