We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in Fort Cochin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ann's Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ann's Residency to your Saves list
Ann's Residency
1/307A, Post Office Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A home in Fort Cochin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the third time I have been to Ann's Residency and I keep coming back because of Lesley (the owner)'s hospitality, warmth and friendliness which makes this place feel like a second home. Chatting with Lesley is like chatting with a friend. He's happy to share his insights about travel in Cochin, the wider Kerala and Tamil Nadu and he has practical tips for travelling about town. Our rooms were comfortable, although my aunts who had poor knees and stayed in the ground floor room had difficulty climbing into and out of the bathtub. Perhaps they could look into safer options for people who have some restriction in mobility. Other than that, the stay was very comfortable.

We had many meals at the restaurant and the food was outstanding - the fish curry and prawn curry and appam were a standout. I also always love their breakfasts.

Lesley organised our airport and houseboat transfers, a kathakali performance and a great houseboat experience. The driver Lesley arranged, Sheckson was a very safe driver and extremely friendly guy.

We are looking forward to coming back. Thanks Lesley for another great stay!

Room Tip: If you have elderly guests or guests with mobility issues, ask for a room on the ground floor as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    87
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
129
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying here. Leslie and his staff were fantastic, the food delicious, the atmosphere delightful, the location excellent. Leslie was very helpful organising transport for us and making suggestions about where to go. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our welcome to India and it was perfect. Clean, comfortable rooms with friendly, helpful advice from Leslie. Walking distance from the town and ferries but an auto-rickshaw always close by if needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Four of us chose to make our first few days' stay in Kerala at this hotel. It was close to the shore and to several visitable sites yet was a really quiet and peaceful location. We thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Ann's Residency for 3 nights at the beginning of our Kerala trip. Being a part of a large family group who were arriving on different times from different corners of the globe, the logistics of our reunion were challenging. However, Leslie was the perfect host! He helped us in every way, always being patient and courteous. With his advice we were able to plan the next stages of our holiday with ease. We also appreciated the lovely, quiet gardens and the convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We arrives in fort Kochin by taxi around 10am and from the first moment Leslie was amazing. We were lucky to get a room to crash out in on arrival and Leslie helped us with the laundry we required doing and helped us with the challenge of posting a parcel back to the uk.

The room was basic but kitted out well and the location is great for visiting the sights and finding a garden of quiet in the city. It was a beautifully tranquil place.

Leslie also let us keep our bags there until our late evening train. We couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip and will happily return here for the end of it. It is perfectly located if you want to be within walking distance of the main attractions around Fort Kochi, with St Francis' church for instance being no more than a 10 minute walk away. There are quite a lot of restaurants that are close and also several boutique shops such as Anokhi and Fabindia. Ann's is set back a little bit from the road with a very pleasant garden. Breakfast is taken in a separate eating area near the entrance and we were very happy with the food - toast, masala omelette, juice and coffee, tea etc being the standard.

Leslie is a very kind and thoughtful host. We arrived very early in the morning from our overnight flight and he was there to greet us and let us go straight to a room even though we hadn't technically booked it for that night. Our room (number 9) faces out to the back of the property and is pretty quiet, save for the school next door which gets a bit noisy after 9. Everything was nice and comfortable and an ideal start for us.

Room Tip: Rooms face both back and front and although the road is just outside, it is not a noisy location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Address: 1/307A, Post Office Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann's Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.