We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ann's Residency

Save Saved
You added Ann's Residency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ann's Residency
1/307A, Post Office Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 166 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Leslie is one hell of a host! From the time that we parked the car in the driveway to the point we drove away for the airport we had him by our side, assisting with everything imaginable. The place looks very nice, rustic with a well-tended garden at the entrance. It is an old Portuguese villa that has been well maintained. The location is amazing – 10 minutes walk to the Chinese nets, Fort area, Santa Cruz Basilica, the Dutch cemetery. A tip to visit the spice market, Jain temple, Jewish synagogue and the Dutch Palace – take a tuk-tuk from outside the B&B. The drivers are super sweet and for 100Rs. an hour they can get you to see all the above attractions in little more than an hour – and you can dictate which places and for how long you want to spend your time there. The rooms at the B&B are cozy, with mosquito nets on the beds as an extra protection from the gazillion mosquitoes always ready to feast on you. The bathrooms are clean but in need of refurbishment. Two of the rooms we got had a terrace and a balcony which we used quite a lot. Otherwise the big windows in the rooms let in plenty of daylight. We had reserved three bedrooms for two days, but with a gap of three days between those two days. I reserved these rooms through an email communication with Leslie, and I must say he was extremely prompt and accommodating on every request. We could even keep our luggage with him while we went touring other parts of Kerala. From suggesting good places to eat & places to see, to lending good books & booking taxis at reasonable rates – he assists with everything you would need. The breakfast is basic and made to order. The area is very quiet so you get a good night’s sleep. I cannot recommend this place enough. Please don’t go there expecting hotel facilities. It is a family trying to do their best to accommodate guests as best as they can and they are, in my opinion, doing a good job. I have also checked other B&Bs in the vicinity that have similar tariffs but half the charm and service. Therefore, give this place a try for the remarkable hospitality.

Room Tip: The entrance/garden facing rooms and the back courtyard facing room with a balcony are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    83
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
65
122
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I traveled in Oct'12 with my family., very good & pleasant place to relax..!

Rooms are comfortable & cozy., out of 3 rooms where we stayed, one of the room (# 9) has AC water dripping on bed, as we stayed for single nite, we felt not to bother Mr.Leslie & family..!, so we switched off the AC :)

Only the hitch is besides good breakfast they don't provide any food., we need to depend on nearby restaurants., oceanos on beach side else there are good & small restaurants at queens street ., watching restaurants & stores for a moment I felt like I'm in goa..all are at walkable distance..which is a definitely a plus staying here..!

Mr.Leslie thanks a lot for wonderful breakfast., we all enjoyed it..! also I recommend please help ALL your guests with cab service..!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay in this hostel.
Ok, the windows and the terrasses should be cleaned more often, but we stay in India and such complaints would be a little over-criticized.
What counts are the clean rooms, spacious bathrooms, the warmly well come of Leslie and his family. He organized the pick-up at the airport as well and all his hints were useful.
The homestay is a 5 minutes walk away from the center, near Oceanous restaurant were we got good meals a well.
Happy greetings to Leslie, who is since two months grandfather of two lovely girls.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped here during our cycle trip to tropical India and Kerala, I immediately felt 'at home', the hosts are warm and welcoming and the gardens serene and peaceful, the rooms clean and comfortable. Also the breakfast really was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to any travelers to Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: From what I can gather all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

wonderful place to spend quality time after a long and hectic travel. all hotspots nearby, chinese fishing nets, dutch cemetary, mattanchery palace, vascoda gama church...beuatiful place. rooms are neat and well mainatined, lush gardens adorn the entrance. highly recommend this place to all

Room Tip: balcony rooms at the top are really good. suite rooms offer pleasant view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The charming and very kind owners Ann and Leslie work very hard to ensure that you receive a warm welcome and enjoy your stay in their lovely boutique hotel. Pleasantly located within easy walking distance of many of Fort Cochi's popular attractions and some good restaurants and useful shopping. Our room on the first floor had a large balcony overlooking a well kept and interesting small garden. The room was clean and comfortable with A/C and free wi-fi. A few minor creature comforts such as a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries and more accessible bedside lights would make the room even better. Hot water is supplied to the bath/shower.
The included breakfast served in the garden dining area was excellent , with especially good caffetiere coffee.
Overall a very good choice for a pleasant stay in Cochi with family atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were travelling to Kochi only for 2 days but those days were divided in between the itenary to visit other places. Leslie was helpfull enough to offer us to keep our bag there while we travel to other places. Thats good customer service. Ann's is a very cozy and comfortable bed and breakfast located in Fort Kochi around the Market (Just 10 mins Walk) and at a very peaceful neighbourhood. The Beds were comfortable and breakfast was good as well. Allthough the bathrooms could get a little makeover as the tiles are taking a tolll and the fixtures can be replaced with new ones. Please remember to carry some mosquito repelent as well. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Room with the Balcony facing the Garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Residency

Address: 1/307A, Post Office Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anns Residency is a superb blend of homestay and hotel set in serene surroundings in the heart of Fort Cochin. This dutch colonial style building is situated on Post Office Road, opposite the Indo Portuguese Museum, and is just a stone's throw away from the Beach, Dutch Cemetry, Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church and all other places of interest. We at Anns, believe in providing a homely atmosphere to our guests in a three star hotel environment. Come, experience our friendly and homely Residency to start off your holidays with a bang or end your holidays in an oasis of calm that refreshes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Ann's Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Residency Kochi
Anns Residency Hotel Kochi
Ann's Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann's Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.