We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiramel Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chiramel Residency to your Saves list
Chiramel Residency
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 / 296 Lilly Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 299 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I arrived in the middle of the night and the owner (lovely lady) still welcomed me with a bright smile. I also got some free water and she showed me two rooms. The rooms are very nice (AC, bathroom) and clean. Especially the bathrooms. Everything is in walking distance. Price was also alright (20 dollars a night). The place is overall very nice and it has a very nice atmospahere. I can strongly recommend it to any traveller, especially if you arrive late to Cochin.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
30
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I had a lovely stay at Chiramel Residency. The owner of this homestay is a very sweet lady. And I have never seen cleaner rooms in India.

As a girl traveling by my self I felt very comfortable and safe here. The location is perfect and nice and quiet.

Next door you will find the best restaurant in Kerala. 'Dal Roti'

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the first place we stayed while travelling around Kerala. Staff were very welcoming when we arrived and spoke to us about local activites but allowed us to sleep off our jet lag first before arranging anything.
The rooms were basic but very nice. Breakfast was lovely and was catered to the time we wanted it.
Ben allowed us to stay an extra 3 days with 24 hours notice each time. We would recommend this homestay to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Compared to other places in Kerala Chiramal Residency did not give good value for money. The rooms are OK, some of them are furnished in an old colonial style. The breakfast was the worst I got while travelling India for 5 month. The staff / owner were very unfriendly. They gave the impression that we are a disturbance. Far too expensive for what was offered. I had originally chosen a homestay accommodation on the internet. The telephone number given for this homestay (I have forgotten the name) was that of Chiramel Residency. But the people there did not pass us on to the homesaty but just offered us the rooms at Chiramal Residency. As we arrived in the middle of the night, we agreed to stay there. But the whole set up felt a bit strange. As we stayed only 2 days we put up with the situation. Next time I will look for a real homestay accommodation, because I found many good homestays in other places in Kerala.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Its all been said in the other review I have read on this page. Chiramel is an architectural delight and the rooms are large and comfortable. The area is pleasant to walk around with a number of good and very good places to eat. We stayed for 3 days and were sorry to leave. As this was our first place to stay in India we were a little disappointed to not have Indian food for breakfast, but when we mentioned this ( hostess) Asha offered for us to have an Indian breakfast the next morning which we did- the best poori ( deep fried pancakes which swell up like balloons and are not at all fatty) served with a delicious but a bit too spicey potato dish. I bought a sari while in Kochi and Asha offered to show me how to put it on! Such a kind and motherly person, quiet and unassuming. It was a great beginning to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights are part of a tour of India - staying on the ground floor of the main house.

Positives:
+ very high service levels - helpful and friendly team family run
+ very clean rooms and communal areas
+ lovely breakfast served outside your room in the mornings - really delicious
+ free WiFi
+ good location just opposite the main park and walking distance to all the lovely shops and cafes in the centre of the town
+ good beds/mattress

Negatives:
- hot water was hit and miss
- decor in the room was quite tasteless (e.g. kitten and puppy pictures on the walls) considering the architecture of the building - could be so nice just keeping everything white and wood and using more traditional artifacts etc
- value for money could be better, I felt it was a little over-priced but Cochin did seem to be quite expensive hotel-wise.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms on the 1st/2nd floor have nice views - we had a ground floor room which had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I can't add much to what has already been written about this place.

It's a great B&B in Fort Kochi. It's very clean with a nice internal courtyard. We went for a non-AC standard room (we found no need for A/C in January), which was perfect for our needs.

The breakfasts are western - i.e. eggs, toast cereal, but I thought they were surprisingly good. Decent coffee too.

As other people have mentioned, the lady who runs it is fairly quiet, but she was very helpful if we had any questions or needed to sort anything out.

Fort Kochi is brilliant and a great place to visit for a few days - highly recommended. What I didn't realise is that Fort Kochi itself is a tiny area (less than 1km across) so when reviews say a hotel is in a good location it all gets a bit academic as everything is very close and it's very easy to walk around.

Given that, Chiramel Residency IS in a good location as it's on a quiet road, near the ATM, next door to a good (but exceedingly popular) restaurant (Dal Roti) and only moments from the sea and a few "sights".

Like other people have said, we arrived from the airport and the taxi driver took a while to find it. That's mainly because the airport is a fair drive away and so it is not unexpected that the drivers don't know every B&B. If it helps, then you might want to print a map to take with you:
mapsofindia.com/maps/kerala/fort-kochi-map.html

Overall, a really good place to start a holiday in Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiramel Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiramel Residency

Address: 1 / 296 Lilly Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiramel Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is a homestay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Chiramel Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiramel Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiramel Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.