We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koder House

Save Saved
You added Koder House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koder House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 167 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Colchester UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“anniversary treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife & i decided to spend a week or so in India to celebrate our 40th. wedding anniversary,
we decided not to travel around so we chose Fort Cochin to chill out...Koder House is an amazing boutique/heritage hotel full of history huge rooms with great furniture,balconies & the biggest most comfortable beds.(all the rooms have a/c mini bar)
When i booked direct with the hotel i mentioned that we would be celebrating our anniversary,on that evening the restuarant manager had arranged a suprise cake,balloons,red roses on the table & even a scroll congratulating us!!
After our meal (good food) we returned to our room to find our bed covered in rose petals in a heart shape & garlands of jasmine...truly wonderfull.great hotel, staff are so genuine polite & helpfull we loved it....thank you Koder House x

Room Tip: Top floor suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had one night in the Koder House Junior Suite at the end of September. The house is well located, within easy reach of the beach and Chinese Fishing Nets. The suite was spacious and extremely comfortable, with A/C and ceiling fans. The bed was also a real treat - large with a comfortable mattress.
The staff were friendly and the food we ate at the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in India for 2 weeks staying in 7 different hotels as we moved around and this was easily our favourite.

The thing about Fort Kochi is that there isn't many mid range hotels, plenty of homestays and guest houses along with budget options as there's plenty of back packers.

Just when we thought we would have to fork out for a top end hotel, we stumbled across the Koder House hotel. As well as a fascinating historical background the hotel is beautiful inside and out. It's conveniently located close to the ferry port and next to Princess Street.

Each room or rather suite is individually styled and small details are considered. The bathrooms are a particluar pull with a jacuzzi bath, and seperate shower. There is also a dressing area, mini bar and gorgeous toiletries (rather than the rubbish stuff hotels try to get away with providing).

Service is very good indeed and here's a free business centre as well as wifi.

Top Tip: call the hotel directly as the rates on online booking portals are much higher than what we paid when we went directly.

Room Tip: Go directly to the hotel, the online booking portals seem to be charging a good couple of thousand r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for one night during August. The hotel is a huge heritage building with a really interesting history which has begun to look tired. It needs a lick of paint and desperately needs to sort out the 'pool' which is murky and disgusting in the back yard. The rooms are fabulous - huge with comfy beds and a real heritage feel. The bathroom is large with a shower and bath, although again it does need some TLC. The staff were friendly ( thry brought us welcome drinks)and the breakfast was fine, although not a patch on the old harbour next door! It was probably quite expensive for what it is, even though we got a good rate as it was low season. the business centre is not actually a business centre, although we were able to use the Internet and print which was a bonus. The hotel CCTV is on the desk so it feels like you are borrowing the managers office.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived as wet as drowned rats from a monsoon downpour but got a friendly reception when we asked for a table for two. The waiter suggested we might like to sit with a view of rain falling into the courtyard.
Our Malabar and Kerala fish curries were delicious and came with poppadoms, rice and paratha. We had hoped for a beer (this is a rare thing in Kerala) but were told the first Sunday in the month is dry. We enjoyed our lime sodas nevertheless!
We also enjoyed reading about the history of the Koder House in the menu and in labels to photos on the walls.
The service was outstanding. A treat for a couple of scruffy, damp backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in a small room at Koder House and by any measure it was huge. The upstairs suits are amazing. The refurbishment of this heritage building has been carefully done in order to preserve the flavour of the era. Opposite the park that leads to the Chinese fishing nets, well located in the Fort, Koder House offers easy walks to other restaurants, shops and markets. Their own restaurant does wonderful Kerala and South Indian cuisine, and super wonderful breakfasts that are included in the rate. Only disappointment is the pool. But you stay there for the building, the service and the food.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room because I have problem with stairs. There are a few stairs from the foye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and walking distance to some great restaurants.
Our room was massive great comfortable beds and bathroom was clean and tidy a little over priced but its an experience staying at this hotel. I think they have 7 rooms in total so the service is great from all staff. The pool is very small just a dipping pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koder House

Address: Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#21 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koder House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koder House. Koder House is a three-story heritage boutique hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi, Kerala, India. Until recently, it belonged to the most illustrious Cochin Jewish family, the Koders. This House had been a host to Presidents, Prime Ministers, Viceroys, Ambassadors, Nobel Laureates, Hollywood Directors and prominent dignitaries. This dwelling also finds a prominent place on Intach's list of heritage sites, and a visit to Fort Kochi is considered to be incomplete without a visit to this historic monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Koder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koder House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Koder Hotel Kochi
Koder House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.