We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kannankeril Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kannankeril Homestay
Save
You added Kannankeril Homestay to your Saves list
Madavana Junction,Cochin | Panangadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 299 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We absolutely loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We booked two nights, stayed five and could quite happily have stayed another five. We were very sad to leave!

Babu Joseph is an amazing host and a very humble, kind and good humoured man and his wife and daughter were lovely too. Joseph couldn’t have been more helpful, advising us on all of the best things to do around Kochi and arranging a great boat trip. Station pick ups can be arranged at a minimul charge and if it is convenient you maybe offered a lift into town or to the bus stop or to be picked up after an evening trip (perhaps at no extra charge).

There are two guest rooms set on the top floor of the families beautiful house. Both rooms have been furnished to a very high spec with stone floors, lovely lighting and elegant bed linen. The bathrooms were very clean and spacious and the fresh soft towels a treat (soap and toilet roll were provided). The fans were very good and kept us cool in the night.

One of the rooms has its own balcony and as the house is set back some way from the main road it is a very serene spot amongst the lush green foliage. The other room, although indirectly, also has a balcony where you can pluck passion fruit straight off the tree to eat or have Joseph serve as in a fresh fruit juice.

The landing also has cool, stone floors with chez-lounge where we spent many an hour reading our books or planning our next trip. There is a computer which has very fast internet albeit with limited data capability.

Josephs wife is a very good cook and we didn’t have the same meal twice. We ate beautiful Keralan food (meat, fish and veg) for both breakfast and dinner and although lunch wasn’t included within our agreed price the family were generous enough to provide a light lunch and didn’t add this to the bill. We were also provided with vats of cold bottled water that also wasn’t added to the bill.

The home-stay is situated a little out of town but at a very reasonable price and with Joseph being so generous with transport this wasn’t a problem at all.

Kochi is a great place whether it’s the charm of Fort Kochin, the shopping in Jew Town or the buzz of the new town there’s plenty to see in the city. We particularly enjoyed a trip to help wash the elephants down by the river just outside Kochi, which we highly recommend!

So far this has been the best homestay we’ve had and we would would return in a heartbeat.

Thank you Babu Joseph and family for a lovley time and an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Babu and his family made a very nice homestay. Good food, good service (he picked us up at the train station), good advice, and was always ready and able to help us. The only thing to be aware of is that this homestay is a bit outside of Fort Kochin (maybe a 30 minute ride; 200-300 Rupees in a taxi) and that the upstairs rooms can be hot (there is no aircon).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinbackwaters, Owner at Kannankeril Homestay, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay.
Fort Cochin is 12Km from our place better transport when
compared to taxi is State Volvo bus which costs only Rs 20/- per person.
Our rooms are equipped with ceiling fans and in addition, we have made
roof with palm leaves over the terrace, which makes the rooms cooler.
Its your review that gives us the areas that we need to focus on.

Thanks,
Babu Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying with Babu and his kind family! They went out of their way to make sure our needs were met and that we were experiencing the best of Cochin. Babu's warm, friendly, and genuine demeanor really made our stay enjoyable. He went the extra distance to make sure we took the right boat, bus, etc., which made our visit go really smoothly. The accommodations were clean, quiet, safe, and comfortable. We highly recommend this homestay to other travellers and look forward to staying with Babu and his family again some day!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed one night with Babu and his family. He is a knowledgable and helpful guide, and his wife and daughter were very hospitable. We ate our best meals in Cochin at their home.
They went out of their way to get us lovely fresh mangoes and made fresh passionfruit juice for us.

They have 2 bedrooms with attached baths upstairs, and have ceiling fans. The windows were open and it was comfortable , even in April. We had the use of their desktop computer which had a very fast internet connection.

The house is off the main highway, about 15- 20 min from Ernakulum. Babu drove us to the city and we arranged meeting times and locations when he would pick us up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our family spent two nights at the Kannankeril Homestay during our 10 day visit to Kerala. We were warmly welcomed into Babu's absolutely spotless home which is surrounded by a lovely garden. Babu was most helpful and provided a map with very good instructions on what to see and do during our full day exploring Fort Kochi and surrounds. His home is roughly a 30-35 drive from Fort Kochi but you get to see more of the area as you are coming and going.

The food was delicious and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Kannankeril was the first place we stayed in after a long flight from the UK. Babu was quick to respond via e-mail and booked a taxi to pick us up.
I'm so glad we booked our stay with Babu and Sheetha. We really felt looked after and at home with them. The house was spotlessly clean with a nice garden and located in a nice area, away from the busy areas but close enough to make visiting the sites easy. The food, lovingly prepared by Sheetha, was absolutely delicious...we always looked forward to meal times!
Babu went out his way to help us settle in and took us around the city in his 4WD, dropping us off where we needed to be and arranging to pick us up too. He is very knowledgeable about travelling around the city, as well as all the tourist activities, bus times, sites and prices. We felt very well looked after indeed.
We liked it so much we came back on our way out of India (March 2011) and will be sure to book again next time we visit Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My friend and I arrived in Cochin tired, hungry and looking for a break from the hustle and bustle of India. Babu's home, family and gracious welcome instantly put us at ease. The food was incredible and the hospitality sincere. If you want to experience the real Kerala apart from the boring tourist circuit, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kannankeril Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannankeril Homestay

Address: Madavana Junction,Cochin | Panangadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682506, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A double storied house in a village clinging to the city of Cochin and surrounded by backwaters. The ground floor is occupied by the host family and the first floor is entirely reserved for the gust. Sparkling court yard merges with a vegetable garden . Tiled floors two spacious bedrooms, a large hallway, tempting furniture toilets are done in par excellence and attic sit out the project out of the building creating a sense of calm seduction. Suburban home is near the city and convenient for day excursions. Suburban home is run by Babu Joseph who Heads the family.Sheetha Babu’s wife ,an expert hand at kerala cuisine cares for the family.Nikitha, their daughter, a brilliant school student helps for the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kannankeril Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kannankeril Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.