We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cherai Beach Resort - needs work: Dirty water, rats, rubbish” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cherai Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cherai Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Cherai Beach Resorts
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Cherai Vypin Island, Kochi (Cochin) 683514, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cherai Beach Resort - needs work: Dirty water, rats, rubbish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rat/mouse infestation in the roof of fisherman's villa (non-AC), the rodents are very noisy at night and come into the room because these villas are not sealed. The room was clean when we arrived though.
Water/ponds are very dirty - they need to plant some reeds or something to filter the water. Smells bad at some times during the day - maybe low tide b/c of mud.
Rubbish/recycling is left beside the bins in the grounds for days.
Plumbing in toilets is a bit dodgy.
All of this could be fixed easily, but might not be.
There is no swimming pool and the resort is not ON on the beach - it is across the road - you can't see it b/c there is a big rock barrier. There are lovely views of the backwaters and grounds though.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is sealed to prevent rodent visitors in the night (i.e. any of the AC rooms I ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    165
    81
    47
    54
See reviews for
166
156
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had been in Kerala for a week, staying in some lovely homely places, and this place was overpriced and disappointing. The major off-put was the very smelly, stagnant water that the villas sit on. Nothing seems to be done to get the water moving so that it doesn't stagnate, and the smell is so bad I may as well have been in Defence Colony! The service was non-descript, and the restaurant was average and overpriced. The room itself was nice, though, and clean. The location is good, right by the sea, but I wouldn't recommend this place. There are much better value places to be had in Kerala.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just spent a few nights there after a busy sightseeing trip around Kerala. A perfect way to end our trip. Next time in Kerala, I will start and end my trip there. Beautiful gardens, very quiet, super clean, with fridge, kettle and tea/coffee, a/c, tv, large bathrooms, and wonderful staff attentive to all our needs. The beach is just across a a little road, hardly any traffic (I saw that somebody said it is a busy road, but that is not the case at all), and the security staff carry mattresses and parasols to the beach, along with lovely large soft beach towels, and they stop by in the day to move the parasol and make sure you have the shade if you want it. The sea is just brilliant - super to swim in mornings, and fun in the afternoon as some mild waves accompany the lovely breezes. Gorgeous sunsets. The resort is very well kept, and they are constantly thinking of ways to make the place even more attractive. Meals: breakfast buffet, a la carte lunches, and evening barbecues or buffet to taste all the Keralan dishes. Beer and wine is available. The front desk can arrange day trips or more, and there is an onsite gym and massage spa. I understand they will be adding swimming pools. The staff was charming, particularly in the restaurant. If I had one suggestion, it would be that perhaps somebody from the restaurant could pop over to the beach and take orders for fruit / water / sandwiches etc. We bought our papaya and pineapple and water from a lovely gentleman at the little shack just next to the resort - no complaints at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in bungalows, and totally quiet. You cannot hear anybody else, as the bungalows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the resort. The location is great, and the endless beach lovely, even though one has to cross a small road to get to it. I felt a little uncomfortable being stared at by local guys during the day, especially as I am traveling on my own.
The villas are very spacious, I stayed in a Doctors Villa, but the resort could do with a sproose
up, especially as they do not come cheaply during the high season.
The hotel grounds are lovely, very lush and green but the water ways running through the grounds around the hotel smelled badly, as the water is stagnant. There does not seem to be any pest control either. The Barbecue Dinner was good, I did not try the evening buffet.
The staff are very polite..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khor, Al Khawr, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent location next to the beach and lovely hotel grounds with lots of little places to sit quietly and a hammock and watch the birds on the Backwaters. The water around did smell at times. The staff were polite but ineffectual and requests had to be made several times before any action was taken, including dirty plates being left outside the room all day. Our rooms were not ready for us and the next day were not cleaned until we requested it. The buffet food was ok but the same every meal and the 'special' New Years Eve buffet was awful, long, long queues for the same old food. They morning yoga was magical as the sun rose over the water and the massages treatments were relaxing and good value. The beach is across the road and we didn't appreciate being stared at by the local men all morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Basic motive was to stay in Cherai was to enjoy the beach. Location of the resort is great with backwaters on 1 side and beach on the other. Just that you have to cross a busy road and beach boundary wall to get to the beach. So ideally this should not be called beach resort :).
Food Quality : For dinner there was only a option of buffet dinner. Food is really pathetic with poor services. No guest was liking the food. Even the breakfast was so bad and seems there is nobody to manage the restaurant services of this resort. They should look into the quality and taste of the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are positives and negatives about Cherai Beach Resort. The main positives are the location and the layout of the resort. It's very close to the beach and the huts are set out beautifully. I loved the backwaters, and we didn't experience any stagnant water or smells. The views in the mornings were stunning. The bar and restaurant staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. The food was nice, though breakfast was a scrum, with coffee always running out. They have a lovely barbecue most evenings, which was really good. The beach is nice, a decent width and very long. But the sea can be quite rough, and the water isn't clear at all.

The manager seemed to be away for the first few days of our stay. This was unfortunate, as the reception staff didn't really speak much English. So when the hotel transfer didn't pick us up from the airport, no-one was able to explain why this had happened (we got a pre-paid taxi eventually, which was fine, just wish we'd been told to do this in the first place, rather than sitting around for ages at Kochin airport). The reception staff were also unable to give us information about any trips we could book. They also chose to ignore us when we tried to tell them the air-con in our room wasn't working properly.

Cherai, as a holiday destination, is mainly for Indians (either travelling within India, or visiting from outside). The shops and cafes along the main beach road cater for local people. Absolutely nothing wrong with this; however, Cherai Beach Resort's website makes it look like a destination that caters for everyone. We had booked (and paid) for 10 nights, over Christmas and New Year, though ended up leaving after 5 nights and going to Fort Kochin to finish our holiday, as there was much more there for us to do. We ended up also going on an overnight houseboat through the backwaters, which I would thoroughly recommend.

So, not a disaster, but some wasted time and money, and a rather misleading website.

Room Tip: We had a Fisherman's villa, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherai Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherai Beach Resorts

Address: Cherai Vypin Island, Kochi (Cochin) 683514, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cherai Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cherai Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherai Beach Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Cherai Beach Resorts Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherai Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.