We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballard Bungalow

The Ballard Bungalow
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ballard Bungalow
Save
You added The Ballard Bungalow to your Saves list
Ballard Road, Fort Kochi | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay, right in the middle of Fort Kochi just near the harbour, fishing nets, places to eat, easy, safe walking to all the places to see. The ships' hoots mingle with the call to prayer from the nearby mosque - very atmospheric. Comfortable and spacious accommodation and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This excellent and highly recommended hotel in Fort Kochi area is set in a heritage dutch colonial mansion. It is very close to the Port boat jetty on Ballard roadand is owned and run by the Cochin Diocese. The hotel has 7 rooms, a restaurant and a travel desk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011 via mobile

The Ballard Bungalow is a lovely old converted house. The rooms were amazing and the staff really helpful. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This hotel is really nice, and the staff are incredibly friendly. It's located in Fort Kochi very close to the harbour, the fishing nets and good places to eat. Our room was very large with enormous beds. The location was quiet apart from the call to prayer from mosque, but this is pretty well the norm in India. No problems with mosquitos (or any other visitors) in the room, and the shower had hot water.
Breakfast was OK-ish, and free bottle4d water was provided on request. The taxis we had organised by the hotel were definitely not a rip-off, and were reliable (even at 5.00am). All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

A heritage hotel right by the Chinese fishing nets. within walking distance of most locations in fort Kochi. the place is set up with period furniture and fittings from around Kerala
A/C rooms cost 20$ more than the non AC ones but essentially its the same room its just that they dont give you the remote to the AirCon.
so book the non AC room and if you cant take the heat you could get the remote if you willing to give 12~13$ to the reception staff.
we had two huge (each almost a queen sized one ) four Poster beds and a small step ladder just to climb in to one . really a royal experience . Toilets are relativly clean but we dint get hot watter .
we dint bother having food at this place as there were quite a few exciting places to eat right around the corner .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is very nice but far from perfect. The location is great. Its right near the famous fishing nets and between Kochi's two most girl-friendly pubs. The rooms are intesting to say the least with large, weird colonial style beds. The bed we had was very comfy and away from the road so, for India, it was pretty tranquil. The only down side, sleep wise, was the mosque around the corner which blares out an awful "call the prayer" at 5am every day.
Breakfast is pretty terrible ("omlette" and 3 pieces of toast). Requests for an Indian breakfast were met with bemusement so we started going outside the hotel. As seems normal in India, anything trips or taxis organised by the hotel are a complete rip off but if you use your nous you can find your own deals outside (this will also be met with bemusement). We asked for a day-trip to Cherai Beach and instead of taking us there, the hotel's taxi driver took us to his mate's restaurant.
So, apart from the breakfast and the complete lack of customer service skills, its a very nice place to stay.
Also, take one of those plug-in mosquito killers as they are not provided.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This was our first accommodation on arriving in India and was the only place we had pre-booked as we normally like to see places to suss them out first. For this reason we were a bit anxious wondering what it would be like. However, our anxieties were unfounded as the room was massive with en-suite and although the whole building has seen grander days it was spotlessly clean and had a really nice feel to it. The rooms are in a courtyard set back from the main road which means you can escape the hussle and bussle and we found the beds really comfy with no problem to sleep. Breakfasts were basic but more than adequate.
Ballard`s location makes it easy to explore Fort Cochin on foot and there are several great resturants closeby. We were so glad we stayed in this hotel and found it to be good value for money. Now home and back into normal life we think really fondly of our time at this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballard Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballard Bungalow

Address: Ballard Road, Fort Kochi | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Ballard Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
The Ballard Hotel
The Ballard Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballard Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.