We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mermaid Hotel to your Saves list
Mermaid Hotel
Kaniyampuzha Road | Mermaid Complex, Vyttila, Kochi (Cochin) 682 019, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Hyderabad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bad hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is very bad hotel that i have seen till now. went with my wife for holiday and started my trip with a nightmare...
no AC, no Water in the bath rooms, bugs in the room, dirty maintenence..
Please donot go for this hotel as this is horrible and terrible to stay. I'm unable to spend atleast couple of hours in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    16
    11
    22
See reviews for
34
13
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cochin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have spent 3 days in Mermaid-Kochi. we can pay cheap cost for cheap service here. Ac is not at all working. night is terrible without proper air conditioning and ventilation.
Service in restaurant is very bad. if you enter to restaurant, nobody will serve you and have to wait there for 2 hrs to have your food. there is no discipline for the service staff in restaurant.
Bar is good in service and facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Budget Hotel for budget clients ,those who want to stay in cochin and rome around,hotel is very near to the neww bus terminal, and the dance bar is very famous with the philippino dance

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Any service you ask for takes about 20 to 30 minutes....food is bad....A/c was centralised with control within the room that didnt work... poor natural light.......worst is the lift here which stinks badly you need to hold you breath inside.
overall pathetic ....would never suggest anyone to visit this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My family and I stayed here for three days..don't be swayed by the name people..The building was looking so dilapidated from the interiors and our room(which we had booked a few weeks before) was smelly, the walls and floor tiles actually had cracks in them, there was no furniture except a table and a tv in the living room and the service provided by the staff was none too special either! Don't waste your money here,people.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

stayed for 2 days outta compulsion as we already paid to the agent. rooms were very small. no proper ventilation. a/c not working at all. no hospitable service. the pool n river stinks. looks as if the hotel isnt maintained for years. girls with very uncultured clothes and make up are seen allover offen at nights and the hotel service boys are with them everywhere. food was ok, but not all that ok. this hotel is fit for night people who use the bar. not for anyone else.

Room Tip: better dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed in Mermaid Hotel during our Kerala Trip. We booked all hotels through Club7 Holidays and this was our last stop in Kerala before heading back to our home city. Though the hotel gives the big look at the beginning, it does not do much justice once u check in and go to your room. Our room was in the back towers of the room and though room was spacious and all, the whole place seemed like quite old.

Most of the lights were not working and had to ask an for electrician who took his own sweet time to fix up the lights. Even the hot water was taking too long time to start flowing from the 'HOT' tap and finally they gave us hot water buckets when we asked. The room service was fine when we ordered some water and sandwiches.

The another good part was the hotel's bar which has some live entertainment with girls singing request songs etc. making the environment lively. Plus two large screen TV's on opposite walls and some good decor that suits a bar. Our driver told us after we checked out that these were likely some residential apartments, which got converted to a hotel. And its the bar which attracts locals here and supports the hotel!

The pool of the hotel is right behind all its towers and secluded. It is right beside a flowing river which gives good look to the place but not sure how many ppl. chose to use the pool. In our two day stay, we didn't see a single person using the pool. Lastly, I would say I also got an 'eerie', dark feel in the hotel and room etc. Maybe also it was too empty for such a large hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more people in surrounding rooms. Our room felt like too distant, in a dark hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Address: Kaniyampuzha Road | Mermaid Complex, Vyttila, Kochi (Cochin) 682 019, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.