We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abad Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abad Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Abad Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.G. Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 163 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

The building has damp and the rooms are smelly and none too clean. We checked in and went up to our room but decided within 10 mins that we couldn't stay in this building so tried to cancel and leave. They refused to let us leave without charging 1,150 rupees for "using" the room and wouldn't at first give us back our passports. In the end we stayed in the sister hotel behind (which is much nicer) for the same price but only after lengthy and unpleasant negotiations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    53
    14
    9
See reviews for
59
40
29
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
goa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

excellent hospitality and good location

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The greatest advantage of the hotel is that it is in the heart of the city. We were there just after Onam and found that our floor was being painted and as a result the corridor always smelt of paint.

The Kadaloram restaurant serves authentic Kerala meals and is recommended. However, the swimming pool, gym, etc is located at The Abad Atrium Hotel, so if you want to use those facilities be prepared to walk the distance.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Facilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Abad Plaza in Mg Road was an enjoyable experience. Staff was courteous, food lovely and room was good value for money.The staff were very helpful in arranging my tours and suggesting good places to shop. That was a real five star experience.

  • Liked — The comfort of the roms and the services of the staff and there delicious cusins,
  • Disliked — i dont know i was really impressed with them
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Though the Abad Plaza is in a great location, right on the M.G road and the staff fanstatic and very helpful I would not recommend it due to the awful smell of cigarettes and damp. Some of the rooms have been refurbished but the smell of cigarettes still permeates the corridors and the furnishings. They have taken up the carpets in some of the rooms but the smell is still there. The rooms also suffer very badly from damp. It can be very suffocating and cause breathing difficulties. I think there must havebeen a leak (well flood) on one of the upper floors as the ceiling are cracked and bowed. It is a shame that they have let this hotel goas the room sizes are good, bathrooms clean and functional and food excellent. As there was a party with d.j in the function room above us the management offered us a room in the sister hotel Abad Atrium for the same price which we gratefully accepted,stayed at for 4 nights and enjoyed ourselves tremendously

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

the stay was just awesome , rooms were spacious , foods were off the hook n steaks were just yummy to the core ...the ambience of the hotel is just cool.... the prices were cheap for such a big hotel ... all the staffs were so welcoming n courteous ... i recommend this to the fullest i can...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Abad plaza is an outstanding combination of luxury hotel guest room and suites,residential apartments and one of the most advanced conference centres in the state.An imposing reception with polite multilingual front desk staff-if you are looking for professionalism,it's there in plenty.One of the best hotels i have ever been to!Great (off) central location,exactly close to kavitha movie theatre & Jayalakshmi Garments Showroom,which is well known to be in the heart of the city.I loved the quality of food and was very satisfied with the overall experience!!would definitely stay again...Well,Kochi is known to be the Queen of the Arabian sea,definitely the abad hotel adds beauty to it..............................

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abad Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Plaza

Address: M.G. Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#21 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abad Plaza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Abad Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Plaza Hotel
Hotel Abad Plaza Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abad Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.