We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality and Spacious Clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abad Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abad Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Abad Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M.G. Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality and Spacious Clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked this place on a friends recommendation and was extremely happy with the decision. Its a cosy place with helpful and courteous staff. Food preperations are excellent and i am told they are equally good for the non vegetarian options. The room i got was extravagant and spacious, beds very comfortable and clean linen. Rooms service was quick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    111
    58
    15
    11
See reviews for
67
45
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is on MG Road , the heart of city. Its location is best and all types of market are there.
Rooms are very clean. the service is best. the complimentary breakfast is multi cousine and excellent. it has two restaurants on first floor. Food quality is very good and highly heigenic.
It has good travel desk which helps in tours.
It has complimentary health club with swimming pool, gym and sona bath and steam bath.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was my second visit to Cochin.

My company made my stay arrangement at Hotel Abad Plaza.
One of the best hotels in cochin at middle city.
Staff very courteous and helping nature.
Jain food was prepared on request.

However a small suggestion - to Hotel Management - they shall add jain items in the food menu. Sitting arrangement for Veg and Non veg people shall be made separate. This will be great help to religious people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A private atmosphere in Cochin's Muslim hotel - excellent value for money as a hotel, but a tendency to stress about the little things, like chasing for £4 on a minibar tab when the long stay with them had cost us £800, or charging Rs390 (£3.90) for a 24 hr wifi card when Tata charge Rs 55 )0.55p) if bought direct. Suites are from Rs 6000 (£60 a night - large bedroom, reasonable bathroom, spacious sitting/dining room. I have been staying here for decades, and will keep coming back! Single and Double rooms much cheaper and potentially just as good. Extra beds available for families.

The buffet restaurant is excellent value (on one occasion Madam had thirds!) but for a-la-carte, go somewhere else. On one occasion, two starters, two mains plus sides and naan were all smilingly delivered at the same time - at least the sweets came later. This is obviously a "dry" restaurant - in this climate, mostly a good thing really, but he odd cocktail by the pool would be great. This is a rare hotel in that it has a swimming pool on the rooftop - virtually unused, with wide patios, and excellent sports and massage unit, a plunge/bubble pool but no sunbeds! We would happily stay here over and again (and we do!) and the breakfast is excellent, but we do tend to take dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Facing MG road can be noisy unless you take the top suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbadPlaza, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abad Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for the positive review posted in trip advisor. It is great to know that you had a nice stay with us and liked our food. We have noted your concern regarding a la carte and have discussed with the concerned team for improvement. Wifi and minibar are provided as additional facility on chargeable basis. We look forward to your visit and assure you of our best services. You can contact me for any future requirement or assistance.

Thanks & Regards

Anup Kumar.C
Mob : 9895112330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talegaon Dabhade, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was our first visit to God's own country and though we were here only for an overnight halt it was enough to make a lasting impression.The duration of our stay did not permit us to utilise the rooftop swimming pool and jacuzzi but so what?Being on MG Road,it provides a prime location and Cochin Central is adjacent to it.The room was spacious with usual amenities including a mini fridge.My better half started shivering due to the cold a/c which I toned down.We enjoyed the buffet dinner at the first floor restaurant where most of the diners were from our package group.Our "team leader" from the travel company too joined us and suggested I try the soup.I liked the variety of dishes offered,especially the prawn noodles.Chicken fry was very spicy but fish fry was okay.After a nice sleep we enjoyed morning coffee in the room and became ready.The breakfast buffet was again well laid out.That over,we waited in the lobby where our luggage was brought and proceeded to our next destination by cab.It was our first experience of the travel company and their choice of hotel at the outset was truly commendable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Location - Cant get better than this if you are looking for a place in the middle of the city. Right next to Cochin Central, with all major shopping destinations, cinemas and restaurants within walking distance.

Rooms - Well maintained, although the hotel is very old.

Service - Staff puts in an effort to help you have a nice stay, but most of them are lacking in any hospitality training - Still full marks for trying.

Spa - Never Tried, but have heard excellent reviews from my friends.

Food - 3 Restaurants to choose from. Breakfast spread is excellent with a good combination of Kerala dishes and Continental food. The sea food in their Kadaloram restaurant is out of the world - especially Karimeen Pollichathu. Would definitely rate it among the top 5 restaurants in Cochin. Alcohol is not served in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is bang in the center of all the big shops and hubs of Kochi. A dream destination for shopaholics. You name it and it is there in walking distance. The hotel rooms are luxurious. There is a rooftop swimming pool and Jacuzzi which is very relaxing. There is a ayurveda center for treatments and spas and there is well equipped gym. There are three restaurants--Cafe canopy for me was the best among them. It served yummy pastries and cakes. Their chicken chettinad was also good....even the fish and chips was tasty. Very well priced and good ambiance. Rooms are well equipped with their home-shampoos,soaps,conditioners, moisturizers,mini bar is there with good stock, tea maker also available in every rooms. Very comfortable beds and hospitable staff. Their buffet breakfasts are not to be missed. Varied options of both veg and nonveg and food quality is also superb. All in all a really good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbadPlaza, Front Office Manager at Hotel Abad Plaza, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting a excellent review in trip advisor. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had an wonderful stay with us. We ensure you of best services and look forward to seeing you at our hotel in near future.

Thanks & Regards

Anup Kumar.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abad Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Plaza

Address: M.G. Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abad Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abad Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Plaza Hotel
Hotel Abad Plaza Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abad Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.