We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - but far from all the places in kochi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Casino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Bhubaneswar, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good hotel - but far from all the places in kochi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

very good, clean , spacious and beautiful hotel at right price to stay.
The biggest problem with the hotel is its location , this hotel is situated in Willington island ,
All transport , shops and everything closes here by 1830hrs.
if u are going outside , try to be get back by 1800hrs , or else coming here is very hard as the transport will stop after 1800hrs. even u will not get a taxi to get back here. Even u get one u have to pay double.
Other then that the hotel is nice, clean and rooms are very spacious.
Breakfast serve was very good , lots of choices and well made.
Taste of food was ok and can be lot better.
I will definitely recommend this hotel for holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    47
    20
    10
See reviews for
39
62
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Its a good hotel, needs some up-gradation..staff is very helpful and courteous...breakfast has a wide spread..however the hotel is good only if you looking for a vacation with family...its very far from the business district of cochin

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virudhunagar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Casino hotel situated in Willington Island at Cochin is a nice property. The rooms are simple but clean. The food is awesome at the Coffee shop. Also the speciality sea food restaurant serves excellent local cuisine. The rooms need refurbishment soon. The staff are courteous and can tell it is part of the CGH Group. It is a little away from the main MG road area but a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel - it is well past it's heyday when the island was the main airport and tourists used to visit by the dozen. The check-in process was very unprofessional - the staff did not know the process to be followed. I was just handed the key after 15 minutes of waiting (there was no one else before me but the staff did not know how to check me in) - they did not explain whether breakfast was included or not (it was) and did not explain any of the other facilities that were offered by the hotel.
After 15 -20 mins of waiting one of the staff showed me to my room. The furniture dates back to the seventies and while the rooms are large, they need to be updated. I had dinner at their signature seafood restaurant - it was a disappointment. If you like your seafood grilled or fried without any Indian spices, you'll love this restaurant. I ordered the Red snapper and a prawn masala fry - the fish wasn't cooked completely and was just dunked in an existing curry - the prawns were over-cooked and dry and devoid of any flavor......being in the heart of Kerala, one expects Kerala cuisine and there were hardly any offerings in the seafood restaurant.
I signed up for the ayurvedic massage which was very good - again the staff were clueless in helping one find the place or who to talk to.
All in all - this hotel and restaurant is past it's heyday. It used to be one of a handful of hotels and restaurants in the seventies that one went to but there are better ones today.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We checked in to the hotel in the evening of 8th November. The check in was fast, efficient and hassle free. The room we were given faced the pool and was good with a comfortable bed. However, the bathroom fittings show their age and need refurbishment. Some decay in the bathroom tiles is also observed.

Our extra bed for the child was given and after a fabulous buffet dinner at the Theravada restaurant we settled down for sleep. Soon we found the room getting warmer and warmer. We fiddled with the thermostat but to no avail. By this time it was nearly 11:30 pm and we did not fancy changing the room at this late hour since we were to check out early next morning to proceed to Munnar. It was a warm and restless night.

The buffet breakfast the next morning was good with local delicacies as well as the normal egg-station and continental options.

Check out was once again efficient and hassle free.

Over all, except for the room air conditioning and the somewhat old state of the bathroom we were satisfied with the hotel.

Special mention must be made of all the staff who were very courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

this is a special place ! the food is typical keralaite with the menu catering for foreigners as well. an ideal place to stay if you want to be pampered by food and happy faces. the smiles on the faces of the staff is a highlight. the rooms are slightly old but fully functional. the swimming pool is 20 m long but very well maintained. but the food is the high point with the ambiance a close second. the overall experience was very good......love to go back any time.

Room Tip: pool side is better view....esp top floor ....gives treetop view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is 2 hours away from the airport. Once you get there you will be greet by very friendly and helpful staff.

The restaurant is incredible so i would recommend eating there

Rooms are really spacious and comfortable. It is worth spending some time there.

My only suggestion would be the wifi connection, it only works in the lobby and not very good.

But the hotel provides and incredible experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Address: Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Decor Styled hotel captures the essence of Cochin, which is at once cosmopolitan and traditional and enables you to travel gracefully between these two worlds - right from that moment when you are greeted into the hotel with a warm welcome. From then on you experience the richness of simple, natural, yet elegant interiors of the hotel that carries tradition and modernity with elan. You'll experience this duality of space and time even in our restaurants and in the exotic fare - ethnic, Indian and continental - that is dished out, which is perhaps why, an experience at Casino Hotel is so exotic, yet so familiar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Casino Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Casino Hotel Cochin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.