We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddha Gallery - a must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Gallery

Buddha Gallery
Greenix Village, Kalvathy Road, | Fort-Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
+91 98957 16694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 138 things to do in Kochi (Cochin)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Buddha art gallery is an attempt to address the paradigmatic shifts in the forms of aesthetic fabulation within the country. Our attempt will be to exhibit art that attempts to connect with the contemporary with a greater feel for differences, foregrounding practices that try to engage with traditions of dissent and active reformulations that redraw the parameters of the possible. In this, we will try to question and interrogate present day hierarchies and preferences, and to provide alternatives that are rooted in the micro-politics of the region. We will also actively try to ensure the participation of artists from varied sections of people, and to highlight art that is contemplative as well as cutting- edge. The gallery will also try to provide space for various programs related to art with a view to strengthen the discourses of and around art within the country.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buddha Gallery - a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This gallery, is a must to visit while in Kochi. The owner Jiss is a joy to speak with as he is so passionate about the emotional power that can be stirred by the creative medium. The art is of high quality with a social and environmental comment. The Buddha Gallery is relatively new and already is attracting interest from overseas artists. Check it out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must Watch Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It would be a unjustice if i dont write a review abt buddha gallery located at fort kochi, on my four day trip to gods own country,kerela. i had a lot of places to see with natural and historic beauty. But this place buddha gallery is a place which brought all the history back alive infront of my eyes.they Staff are so much coordinated between each other and they definitely fullfill everyone trip to be a great one. so wat makes this place a gr8 one. it is located in fort kochi. you can just take a boat drive from marine drive to fort kochi for juz Rs.4, its abt a 15-20 min drive threw the lake. This place is filled with all the historic beauty of kerela. They have a Art gallery which gives you a gr8 insight of a artist life and what art is all about. each and every art found here have there own unique feel and touch to it. And most important they hv small theater located within where they perform the kerela Martial arts Kallare, and the kerela dances like mohini dance,kathakalli. These are somethin you dont get to see in your day to day life. and all the staffs there are so pleasing, they make yu as comfortable as possible.this place is something you shuld neva miss if you are goin to cochin.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cutting-Edge Contemporary Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My visit to Buddha Gallery was a very positive experience. The selection of artworks shown at the exhibition was a good mixture of interesting cutting edge contemporary art. Art that speaks to you! Furthermore the artwork on display was enhanced by the bright decorated gallery and its cozy atmosphere. I highly recommend a visit to the gallery for art lovers!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was a gr8 day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was a gr8 day i visited buddha gallery. 5th july, Inaugural day of the gallery. Buddha gave me a new experience of art. There show named "Aa" is excellent with almost 20 Artist showcasing there works. Works of Shivadas, Benny, Anupama, Kiran, Jalaja, shyne, Ramesh, Biju etc was awsome. Gud location and a must place for art lovers to visit in Kochi. Keep goin and best wishes- The Buddhas!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Gallery also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Buddha Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.