We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for stay in Cochin - The Renai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Renai Cochin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Renai Cochin to your Saves list
The Renai Cochin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PB No 2310 | Palarivattom, Kochi (Cochin) 682025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for stay in Cochin - The Renai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Good location, courteous staff ready to go extra mile, nice ambiance, reasonable tariff, good food, checked-in with family in the night, and the process took less than 2 minutes, and so was the check-out which was less than 3 minutes. My daughter enjoyed the pool very much. Though breakfast buffet was missing, the breakfast served was OK, so was the room service

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    53
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
16
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had the fastest check in and check out ever registered. Checked in, found the room too old and crampy. Restroom was even smaller and ill maintained. And the worst was the wi-fi. Checked 2 rooms and both didn't have a proper Wi-Fi Network, In the current business travel scenario Wi-fi and spacious rooms are a must to unwind and complete the work. This property failed in both. Checked out in 40 mins flat. Heights was the manager say to his staff- This customer may go but he is concerned about the company I represent :)
Summary- Stay away if you

Room Tip: Check for a spacious room and ask for good connectivity if that is in your agenda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Yesterday it self (28th-29th march) I had visited kochi as usual it was business trip, I used to stay at Abad hotel at MG road but due to Metro work I have been placed at The Renai. I checked in at night around 10 PM, Check in formality was hassle free. The rooms were quite small. No good space to place your clothes, you will face more problem especially if you have blazer or 2 piece suites. Unable to enjoy t20 cricket due to small screen (21') of LCD. Above all this shower area is pathetic ultra small shower area. I have 5.7 height with above average built and not able to accommodate myself in shower are. Bathroom lighting is very poor. Worst part was food, I ordered mutton biriyani and It was worst biriyani ever I have which was costing 400 bucks. Morning breakfast was also average type. In nutshell try to find out some other hotel if you want to spend around 3000-4000 Rs per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Kerala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Renai Cochin several times during our four-month residency in Kochi during 2013. We always felt welcome and in this establishment which has two wonderful restaurants. The staff were always top-notch and our rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was exceedingly well done. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

On the onset itself, I would like to make it clear that even though Renai Cochin is listed as 4star in many booking sites but its a 3star at the best.

Entering the lobby itself you feel that it has an old design. The check-in was smooth and room was alloted on the 4th floor. Room was good enough but not spacious though the big disappointment was that we were allotted two separate beds instead of master bed. With no availability of room with single bed, we were told that the beds would be joined and it was promptly done by the room service guy. Good point was the central AC was working very good inside the room.

Breakfast buffet was a total surprise, its vast spread and varieties did bowl us over. Overall I would give a recommendation thanks to its location. Its a old hotel which still has a good reputation, I hope the management modernizes it soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Renai Kochi is one of the good business hotel in Kochi. Its conveniently located in the city. Rooms are big but need a bit of renovation. Restaurant is good and has lot of variety in the menu. The swimming pool, kids play area and the fitness center are situated behind the main building. Its managed by a professional fitness center but the hotel guests can access it freely. The staff is really friendly and helpful. There is ample parking space (open parking)
Overall a good business hotel in Kochi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel Renai is a well-known property in Kochi, towards the northern side of the city. It is a kind of landmark, having been around for over 30 years. While it was top-of-the-line when it was launched, it's age is beginning to creep up on it these days.

I stayed at Renai for a night in February 2014. The check-in itself was quick and efficient. The room was kind of small, and the toilet even smaller. The room had two beds and given the size of the room, both had to be small. Despite the size, the room was well appointed, and so was the toilet. The signs of age, however, were there many, although none were too in-your-face.

The breakfast spread was quite good, and the service was good throughout. In summary, a reasonably good place for the price, but the place needs a bit of modernization before long.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Renai Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renai Cochin

Address: PB No 2310 | Palarivattom, Kochi (Cochin) 682025, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Renai Cochin 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renai Cochin (formerly The Renaissance Cochin), a landmark 4-star rated exclusive boutique hotel in the heart of Cochin. We take pride in offering personalized attention with an eye for detail at all times, regardless of whether you're scouting for a potential associate to help promote your business here at Cochin or looking to give your family an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Renai Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Renai Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Renaissance Hotel Cochin
Renaissance Kochi
Kochi Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Kochi
The Renai Cochin Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Renai Cochin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.