We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food,good ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Old Courtyard Hotel
1/371-372, Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food,good ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we had a variety of dishes that belong to kerala cuisine,fish,beef and chicken.We all enjoyed the food and the setting.It's one of those old colonial bungalows-restored with a courtyard,was too hot to sit in the courtyard , so we sat in the dining space around the court.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    71
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
106
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are nice and very clean but everything is a little old. My mother complained that the bags were not brought up to our room (2 stairs - she's getting a little older), but i'm not sure you can expect that of a hotel in this price range. The only thing we didn't like that much is that the waiter at breakfast barely spoke english and that there was no fresh fruit juice or toast with butter available. It has it flaws but overal good hotel for the price!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While I didn't stay at Old Courtyard, I enjoyed quite a few delicious meals sitting outside admiring the garden, and the art work adorning the arches.

What made dining al fresco so enjoyable at Old Courtyard Hotel was the delicious, traditionally prepared Kerala cuisine. Various Masala spices and curry leaves enhanced the piquant aromas and flavors of the many dishes made in the bustling kitchen.

While I am not sure about when I will next visit Kochi, I know I will remember the genuine hospitality and wonderful experiences I enjoyed while dining under the stars at Old Courtyard Hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night here. The bedroom was up a tight spiral staircase in the courtyard. the room was fairly small but all was OK - We didn't eat there. Interesting area around - you can walk easily to fish market and see the fisherman using the Chinese fishing nets. Staff were helpful.
Breakfast of egg +toast - as usual was offered
I dont know what the place cost as it was arranged through an Indian travel agent

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying nearby and came in one night for a meal. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent, with mosquito coils provided on request. I had one of the combo fishes with the local fish which was yummy and a huge portion. Very reasonably priced. Lovely traditional décor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 7 and 8 both was great. The location of the hotel is really good.
The rooms are really charming and the hotel has a very interesting history.
The restaurant is good, we had four different dishes for dinner everything was good. For breakfast there's one indian breakfast dish that changes every day... plus a more western breakfast with egg and so on didn't try that since I ate the Indian breakfast when I was there

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As many others have pointed out, the Old Courtyard Hotel is a very charming heritage hotel, but you must know what comes with the territory. First of all, there are a number of flights of stairs - all of them quite old and some quite uneven and cracked - in order to get to your room. So this is not a hotel for the mobility-challenged.

Second, being an old hotel, the plumbing system is, as you can imagine, left wanting. The water pressure in the bathrooms on the top floor was terrible - we showered in what was literally a trickle of water, and it took us some time to figure out how to work the hot water as well. At the end of a long day traipsing around Kochi, when you return to your room hot and dusty, sweaty and sticky, all you want is a good power shower, and you definitely won't get that at the Old Courtyard. I keep wondering if the management took some downtime for the hotel to install a modern water system, it would improve the experience immeasurably.

Here's another downside to staying in an old building: the walls are paper thin and the floorboards creak like nothing. I could hear my neighbors talking, showering, sneezing, clipping nails….and whenever they walked around their rooms, my room floor reverberated as well. At night in bed I could feel the vibrations from the floorboards as my neighbors walked around their rooms. My room faced the street, and there is very little noise insulation, so you can hear the street dogs barking at 2am and the traffic starting up around 6 in the morning. The windows are also tiny, so if you have claustrophobia, you may not be comfortable in the rooms, which are also filled with dark, antique furniture that adds to the 'gloominess'. Oh, I should mention - the bed I had was very hard as well. If you are a light sleeper, consider carefully…

Wifi was spotty, and erratic. It was down for the first day that I was there. Amenities provided were a bare minimum - bar soap and towels in the bathrooms. Good thing I brought my own toothbrush and toothpaste, shower gel and shampoo.

What this property has going for it is its excellent location: well placed to walk to the fishing nets, parade ground etc, and many good cafes in the vicinity. Its staff are also wonderful - quick to help, and very fast to rectify any shortcomings, for instance, when they did not clean my room on the first day. The staff are all warm and friendly and you feel like family here. Unfortunately I am not sure that that will be enough to warrant a return to this hotel - I will certainly consider it but will also seek other options. It really felt more like a homestay than a hotel, and it certainly did not come cheap. For me, creature comforts are so important in the heat here in Kochi, and I would rather pay a little more to guarantee a good shower or bath and a good night's sleep at the end of the day.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, Manager at Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to the staff regarding your issues. As for not cleaning your room, unless with your expressed permission we do not open the rooms with the mmaster key to clean, as some guests do not appreciate that. As you had your key with you all the time, we have to go and clean your room when you are there or you came back.
We had also checked all the plumbing system in the top rooms and they are all working fine. The showers do not provide you with jet stream of water but a gentle and constant flow which is not a trickle as you have stated. We have even called the plumber to check everything.
As for luxury add ons, that is not provided in the rooms. We are not a 5 star hotel.
It is difficult for one to appreciate the effort put into keeping the place as authentic as it can be, as a heritage hotel, without destroying the intrinsic beauty of the place. If one is used to modern buildings with all luxurious trappings included, then definitely this hotel is not suited to that person.
It is easy to destroy heritage and architectural beauty. But preserving one is a challenge.
I feel that you should perhaps have booked a 5 star hotel or a boutique hotel around the area to suit your needs. And with prices 3 to 4 times the rate charged by us, I am sure that all your needs would have been catered to.
Wishing you the very best.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Courtyard Hotel

Address: 1/371-372, Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free internet facility, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe and a Restaurant that spills over the courtyard with live music in the evenings during the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
Old Courtyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.