We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely heritage building in central position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courtyard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Courtyard Hotel
1/371-372, Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 163 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely heritage building in central position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We enjoyed about a week at the Old Courtyard - in a very pleasant room on the second floor with shared verandha over the courtyard - although sitting out got very hot and would benefit from a fan. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, we too were surprised to be asked to pay upfront on arrival - and can’t see the point of this. Having travelled far this is the last thing guests want to be asked - and we’ve never come across it before. We had a couple of pleasant meals in the restaurant situated in a great courtyard setting, which looked lovely when the table candles were lit. We were surprised this restaurant wasn’t more promoted to attract passing trade - we felt some pretty lights hanging in the trees and the alcoves would have attracted people in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, Manager at Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant being located inside the courtyard is not so visible from the outside but offers an oasis in the midst of Fort Cochin busy streets.
The policy of the hotel has always been clear on payment on arrival since we only take a one night stay deposit. Previous experience in our travels has shown this is not unusual at all whether it is Europe or Asia. In Sri Lanka although the booking is paid for completely on arrival the reception asked to swipe our credit card for "future" services to be used. In Europe even a hostel asks for full payment on check in.
In other booking websites where we are featured, the payment policy is full payment 2 weeks prior to arrival. The same goes for travel agents' bookings.
We will keep in mind your suggestion regarding the restaurant to attract more trade.
Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    63
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
98
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food - Excellent ! After reviewing the menu and consulting the Chef I was pleasantly surprised with an excellent dish consisting of Grilled Fish , Fresh Salad with Blue Cheese and Fries ( I'm not fond of rice). The Entire dish was most wonderful to eat and the pleasant ambiance along with a courteous staff added every bit of value of time i spent here.

The Kerala Cuisine options are select few but are some of the best dishes you can try around here. Don't miss out in trying out the Appam & Curry .

Service - On time and friendly , the staff is courteous enough to answer any questions about the Hotel and places to visit nearby.

During my stay in Cochin , I've managed to visit this place about 4-5 times and i make it a point to order the coffee. ( French Press ) every time here.

If there's a place i can enjoy a good cup of coffee with a newspaper and in peace then this is it.

I plan to visit again soon.

-Vivek

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was one of the nicest I've stayed in in india. Beautifully decorated, lovely old furniture, good bathroom etc.
Only gripe was the management: We had paid 50% as a deposit for our rooms, and had booked a good few months in advance. When we arrived, we were aggressively told we had to pay the full 100% before we even set foot in our rooms. We'd been on the road for hours, and just wanted to put our luggage in our rooms and sit down. But no. I have honestly never been to a hotel that makes you pay before you check-in if you've put down a deposit...
They also made us change rooms from one night to the next, even though we'd booked with plenty of time for them to sort out who goes where...

Management/staff need a once over...It's one of those places that you just can't help but think the people who run the place don't spend enough time there checking it's running smoothly and training their staff...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, General Manager at Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. As we only have 8 rooms and bookings for most comes months ahead of time, there might be times when a change is required but we always inform the guests ahead of time if a change is required due to the availability.
It has always been the policy of the hotel to take a deposit of one night stay and the balance payable on arrival. This is also clearly written on your booking confirmation.
The only thing that baffles us whether with this review, is that, if the the reviewer stayed in Feb. 2012, why wait for 9 months to give the feedback?
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant only. Its nice for folks who would like to enjoy continental options in the Fort Cochin area. The Kerela selection is a bit watered down for global tastes, and not authentic at all. Costs an average of Rs 400-500 per head for a main course and a soft drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We where attracted by the beautiful little court which is nicely decorated with flowers when we decided to stay there for a night. Not even the complicated staff prevented us ( you have to pay everything in advance, etc. etc....)
In summary we spent a most awful night...the room looks pretty with the old furniture BUT you have no space to put your cloths, the bed is hard, too short and is instable...with the AC off it is too hot to sleep, with the AC on it is too noisy to sleep....My advise to other travellers: Go in the court, take a couple of pictures but DO NOT sleep here! They charge 4200 for the most basic room...
The breakfest is ok...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, General Manager at Old Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review on Old Courtyard Hotel. We have assessed the issues that you faced while at the Old Courtyard. The Standard Room checked in, was a double queen size bed with a 5 inch mattress, but not king size bed. The option of a twin bedded room which is more comfortable if one is tall, was also offered but not taken. Being a Standard Room it is smaller than other higher categories. There is a cupboard and a luggage rack in the room as well as clothes hooks in the bathroom. The air condition in the room has just been serviced and does not make a sound, being Daikin.
The policy of the hotel is to take payment on check in if you are a walk in guests. If one books online a deposit of one night stay is required. The deposit of Rs.2000 was taken on your check in and with great hesitation was the balance paid for, only on check out. Other rooms were also shown before you checked in and yet you chose the Standard Room seeing what it has to offer. We have encountered a lot of guests who wants a discounted rate and find fault so as not to pay for the services already used.
Nevertheless, be rest assured that we have looked into the matter and will ensure that guests are aware of the rooms they are booking. That is also why we have pictures of all the rooms in our website. And since you walked in and chose your room, we really do not understand the problem. We do understand that the hotel caters most specifically to guests who like to stay in colonial heritage hotels and is not satisfactory to others who prefer a star hotel.
Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Old Courtyard must be experienced to feel the full effect of the charm it is enveloped in. Its doorway is a time machine. It takes one instantly back to the days when God was in Heaven and everything was right with the world.
The food is outstanding. The rooms are well appointed. The service is professional. The pleasant surprise is that the staff are well trained, something you rarely find in Indian establishments.
This is a one of a kind place and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a toilet that has a wooden floor. All rooms are fantastic and unique in their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very nice hotel in a lovely setting, a lovely historic hotel, very clean and comfortable and incredibly well-restored.spacious and light.This hotel is a lovely little place, only 8 rooms and a comfortable well situated place to stay. A good bathroom with plenty of hot water. the staffs are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Courtyard Hotel

Address: 1/371-372, Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free internet facility, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe and a Restaurant that spills over the courtyard with live music in the evenings during the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
Old Courtyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list