We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Old Courtyard Hotel
1/371-372, Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days at the end of Feb 2012. Friendly staff. We had room 2 which was above the archway. Old Portugese style building with dark wood interiors. Our room was lovely - well furnished with a 4-poter comfortable bed. Plenty of room. Large bathroom with good shower. Air con fine and ceiling fan.
Even wireless internet - router and a PC outside the room.
Restaurant provided good quality, variety and lovely outside setting in the courtyard if you want.
Great position - most places you are likely to want to see are a short walk away. We had a tuk tuk driver give us a tour for R50 but we gave him 150 cos he was so helpful.

The only sight drawback is that room 2 could be noisy at times. One night there was a noisy motorbike passing up and down the street. Another night the people in the room above arrived in the early hours and took an hour to settle in. The floorboards were our ceiling. So the next night we used earplugs and slept well.

Overall highly recommended and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Quieter on top floor but room 2 quality was good - possibly better than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    71
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
106
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights when travelling around Kerala in January 2012. We tried at first to get a room at the Old Courtyard Hotel, based on the reviews we had read on here. There was no availability, but the hotel offered a room at Kavu House, a homestay property that they also run that is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. It was beautiful, a four poster bed, antique style furniture, TV, fridge, ensuite shower and toilet. Everything we could want (except wi fi, which we could use at the Old Courtyard hotel) and beautifully clean and well maintained. There was also a kitchen, dining, living areas etc but we didn't use these as we were out and about in the short time we were there. Breakfast at the hotel was also included in the price of the room. We didn't realise this and left money to pay for breakfast on the first day as we were in a rush to leave. We were amazed when this was handed back to us when we popped back in to use wi fi later that day. The staff there were so honest and kind. The maid in Kavu house was also very sweet. The food was delicious (as it is all over Kerala!) including daily specials for breakfast. We cannot say enough about this place. We would definitely recommend this and would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: We are not sure if all rooms have a four poster, but ours on the ground floor did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was a very nice hotel in a lovely setting. Staff were very helpful. I stopped in a superior room and was not disappointed. We also viewed the suite which was very nice too.
I would have preferred to know in advance that this was a dry hotel so could have prepared myself for the lack of alcohol.
On the subject of alcohol, Kerala has a dry day every 1st of the month.
We ate our evening meal at the hotel as the menu looked nice. We were however disappointed by the fact that three of the meals we ordered were not available that night so ended up with spagetti bolognaise which was only average. Even more disappointed with the cheesecake that had a good write up. We all ordered the cheese cake but it was still frozen in the middle and had very little base. Tasted more like frozen Iceland Cheesecake than "home made". Summary - Hotel and staff very good - eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked ok. Some rooms up three flights of steps not good for people with mobility prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel was a really good choice and lived up to my expectations. I stayed with my mother for 3 nights and our room was lovely; simply furnished with antique furniture, spacious and light. A good bathroom with plenty of hot water. We found the staff helpful and friendly and our waiter at breakfast each day was a delight. We enjoyed a good dinner here one night too. I would definitely recommend this hotel - my only complaint would be that the mattresses are quite thin and the bed hard, something you get used to in India but it would have been nice to have found an exception here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed not at the Old Courtyard, but in the Kavu House which is 300 meters away from the hotel. It is a beautiful restored and furnished vacation rental operated by the OC. We liked it: it has more privacy, no noise from dining guests. And it is huge, not the room but the kitchen and living. It even has a small garden and balcony. For breakfast we used the OC Hotel, and then you can plug in on their wifi. Off course the Kavu House has A/C, it leaked water when we were there into our luggage ;-(

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We took a side trip up from Kovalam for a long weekend and couldn't have made a better choice - this hotel is a lovely little place, only 8 rooms and a comfortable well situated place to stay.
We were given a room at the top of a spiral staircase in the corner of the courtyard and it was a gem - beautiful wooden floors, a four poster with a mosquito net and very efficient air conditioning.
The breakfast was good, the lunch menu good and the staff were friendly, charming and efficient.
All in all I would reccommend this place to anyone but be warned - you have to book well ahead, it is rightly popular with returning guests and it is not large.
We will definitely be back

Room Tip: rooms 7 & 8 are up a spiral staircase - if you hev issues with that then ask for a different roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

A delightful haven in the midst of Fort Kochi's shops, restaurants & site-seeing. The food was good but we also enjoyed Shala, Kashi & Malabar House for a quiet coffee - round the corner are FabIndia & Anokhi (old favourites) for clothing & textiles. Rose and her staff were so friendly and helpful - even when we returned a week later to collect a forgotten hat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Courtyard Hotel

Address: 1/371-372, Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free internet facility, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe and a Restaurant that spills over the courtyard with live music in the evenings during the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
Old Courtyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.