We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolgatty Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bolgatty Palace to your Saves list
Bolgatty Palace
Mulavukad | Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 170 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel staff were very helpful.We reached early hours in the morning and didn't have any money for the ferry the next morning .They gave us some money and put it on our tab. Later, we were leaving Cochin for a few days and asked them to keep some of our luggage...to our surprise, they agreed.Our luggage was safely returned to us on our arrival back in Cochin.We checked out at 12 pm and since our flight was only at night, they agreed to keep our luggage as we were spending the day in Ernaculum.They even let us shower and freshen up in one spare room before we left.The food was good and the rooms were cleaned every day.We would recommend Bolgatty palace to anyone wanting to be away from the rat race and tourist crowds in Cochin.

Room Tip: Marina view was good and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
37
38
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Its a lovely place if you love the old builtup hotels , very nice location. beautiful location for this location , we stayed there for 2 days . Food was pretty okay , rooms were clean and toilets were pretty big. Only lacking part is slow service. If you love to stay in old buildings must stay at this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Sadly this hotel has allowed to become very tired. It needs closing and a complete refurbishment carried out. The tiles around the pool are very dangerous, they are broken and very uneven. As with all of Kerala time appears to of stood still, I suppose being European we have come to expect certain standards in hotels, the basic one being that at least some of the staff should have an understanding of English since this is a universal language. Even visitng Indians from Mumbai were having troube being understood. If you wish to eat anythng other than the buffet then I am afraid its room service or the ferry to the mainland. I tried to ask the staff if they could recommend a restaurant and looked at me as though I was on a different planet, so we went on the internet and chose one to our liking, ordered a taxi and when this came the driver did not have a clue where we wanted to go.!!

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel not the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Bolgatty Palace Resort had been one of my favorite places to stay in Cochin. Situated on an island away from the tourist crowds in Fort Cochin, the cool, calm elegance of the Palace was always a pleasure since my first visit in 1974. My last stay was two years ago (2010) and I am sorry to report that standards have declined to the point where I can no longer recommend it as a place to stay. At check-in I was informed that I would have to pay an additional $1000 rupees ($20 USD) a day since the price I had paid through Hotels.com was incorrect according to management. This is the very first time I’ve ever encountered this problem in over 20 years of international travel booking through several hotel sites. I’m still trying to resolve this issue to my satisfaction.

In addition, the glass in the dining room door and the dining room windows were smeared with hand prints and sweat stains looking as if they had not been cleaned in several weeks, the table cloths were stuck with bits of food, the previously generous buffet has shrunk to three of four main dishes, and my repeated requests for additional towels and shampoo refills went unfulfilled. Most egregious, perhaps, is the addition of a large fair ground (not the Bulgatty's fault obviously) on the main road leading to the Bulgatty that spews loud music over the countryside at night destroying the once peaceful environment.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are larger than those in the Marina Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is an the exclusive heritage hotel located on the Bolgatty Island in Kochi. It was a mansion originally built by Dutch traders in 1744 and was leased to the British in 1909 and later on Kerala govt taken over this property & converted it in to hotel.
It is located on island and can be reached by road from Ernakulam or take a boat from fort Cochin, which carries cars in boats and once you are on other shore its a 15 minutes drive to hotel.
This is only hotel on this island (Except for another property Marina house in same compound) and you can't go shopping around hotel.
Front desk people are quite helpful and property is big and well maintained. Its a nice feeling walking around in corridors and gardens in hotel compound. They have put benches near back water and you can sit there and watch boat going from Ernakulam to Fort Cochin. Hotel has small jetty and you can hire small speed boat kind of boats to go to fort Cochin.
There is no restaurant near by so if you want to eat in hotel then they have only buffet for dinner, incase you want to order couple of dishes then they will serve the same in your room becoz restaurant allows only buffet.
Breakfast is again buffet and variety is good enough.
This place is very good if you want to just relax. Staff is quite helpful and eager to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bolghatty is an island connected to the main land by a bridge. We got into the resort at 1:00. They allowed to late check-in.
We got a cottage by the water boady. At was clean but quite old.
We wanted some peacefull stay with some good breeze. The evenings and nights were good. Nothing much to do in the morning. Food is okay. There was a a golf course nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is at good location and view is nice. But, staff was not very efficient and service was poor. Food was disappointing, there was no variety and quality was poor. We got a medium size room, decently maintained, not great. Overall experience was not very good.

Room Tip: Take this hotel only if you are getting good discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolgatty Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace

Address: Mulavukad | Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bolgatty Palace is the oldest Dutch Mansion existing outside Holland. The picturesque Bolgatty Island is surrounded by the quaint Chinese fishing nets that take you back in time.The Palace has 4 Palace Suites with the dutch charm in architecture. The Palace dates back to 1744. All suite rooms named after famous painters, the private balcony in Each suite offers a panoramic view to the river.The property has Bolgatty Palace, Bolgatty Island Resort and Marina House situated in the same Island, it is ideal for conducting residential conferences, In house wedding Functions large banquets etc.With the capacity to park more than 500 cars, lush green lawns on both the sides Bolgatty is an excellent host to both tourists as well as banquet functions. Our Banquet Facilities include: A/c Lake Front Hall with Panthal : Capacity: 250 pax theatre style (inside the Hall). Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1500 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 paxOther facilities in the property includes swimming pool, health club, ayuvedic spa, golf course, Boat cruise, airport pick up and drop, Multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, internet, Kathakali program me, beer parlor etc to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bolgatty Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Bolgatty Palace Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolgatty Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.