We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality, good spot, just brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paix et Amour Home Stay

Paix et Amour Home Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paix et Amour Home Stay
Save
You added Paix et Amour Home Stay to your Saves list
Kitkat Road | Naliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 299 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Varanasi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hospitality, good spot, just brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't be happier with the choice. Audley is a superb host and will help you with anything you need, be it tickets or recommending where to eat! The place is in a nice location, it's quiet and not too far from all the delicious food Cochin has to offer.

Everything worked well, the room was excellent and clean! Audley's mum cooked us breakfast everyday and she was not only a wonderful cook but also very good to talk to and friendly (ask her to cook you an Indian breakfast!)

Overall we had a fantastic time here and will be back at some stage in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
10
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my husband had never stayed in a 'home stay' before and we really didn't know what to expect. To be honest we were a little apprehensive. Our visit to Kochi was extremely last minute and unplanned and i remember scrolling thru the TripAdvisor app on my phone and calling random numbers. My call to Audley was possibly by 8th and i immediately noticed how friendly and nice he sounded. We stopped calling anybody after call and went straight to his place.

The room was basic and extremely affordable. The place is extremely clean and the wifi works like a dream! Also the place is like 10 mins from most top restaurants that Lonely Planet recommends - so great location! We ate some awesome food when we were there! :)

All this aside what stays with me is the hospitality! I was extremely unwell and Audley's mother adopted me and my husband. She took care of us like a relative and her breakfast is to die for! :)
I'm sure there are places with bigger rooms or better locations.

But if you are looking for truly 'Home' stay this is the place! You will feel right at home once you get there! :)

Room Tip: The rooms are basic and neat and clean. If you are a light sleeper avoid a room next to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audly_fernandez, Owner at Paix et Amour Home Stay, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to write this review
I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the stay in our home stay

Thanks&regards
Audly Fernandez
09746328857
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great room and location at a fantastic price in Fort Kochi. One of the best places I stayed in in India. Only a very short walk to the Chinese fishing nets and the main 'tourist' stretch of restaurants. The room had a lovely light airy feel, its own private balcony, a clean bathroom (with a great shower), and TV. The guesthouse does not do food but it has a fantastic rooftop area for relaxing. The owner speaks fantastic English and was a very welcoming host.

The only thing I could suggest needs a little improvement is more signs about entry to the building. There is a big sign outside on the street so it is easy to locate initially but you need to go through the gates past the western union office and up a flight of stairs to get into the actual guesthouse. With there being no signs at the bottom of the stairs or on the entry door once you get up the stairs it was a little confusing at first and I wasn't sure I was in the right place! However, a quick phonecall to the owner (Audley) and he was there in minutes greeting me with a big welcoming smile!

If I ever come back to Fort Kochi this is definitely where I will be staying again :) Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I highly recommend this friendly home-stay run by an incredibly warm family. There are simple, clean rooms, all with balconies and A/C, hot water, fans and TV. We were made to feel very welcome and I particularly enjoyed the breakfasts on their roof-top terrace. Breakfast comes included in the reasonable price and the owner was very kind and tailor-made breakfasts to all the guests bowel habits and dietary needs!! Some days I saw her make porridge, fruit salad, omelette, toast and jam as well as local Keralan style breakfasts for different vegan, or bad-tummy suffering guests. They are very helpful with trip planning and local knowledge and we were so happy there we extended from 3 to a 10 day stay! Whilst we were there they had very good Reiki masseur working with them who did wonders for my achy travelling body. I thoroughly recommend her 90 minute massage.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have A/C not all - our room was at the back and was very quiet with a private balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Prix et Amour is a great base from which to explore Fort Kochi. I stayed there with my family - my partner and two teenage children, so we booked two rooms. We extended the stay there by three nights and , because of the very reasonable rates, used it as a base while we visited the Hill Stations in Munnar. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and well appointed and there is free wifi. There is also a friendly lounge and rooftop eating area for breakfast. The accommodation feels very secure and is about five minutes easy walk from all the action of Fort Kochi.

The benefit however is the friendly and helpful manner of the hosts which was better than we found in some luxury hotels in India. Audly and his family who run the place were very friendly and helpful and made it their business to assist us with what we needed. They were also very welcoming without being intrusive. The ratings below are based on our expectations of home stay and our expectation of secure, clean, helpful and practical accommodation at a reasonable price. I would absolutely recommend this place and noticed there were a number of single women travellers staying there who seemed very happy with their stay.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look - they all seemed good. They front rooms had more sense of the street life below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Paix et Amour Home Stay is a very good choice if you want clean rooms close to the wonderful sightseeings of Fort Cochin. The rooms are quite big for a reasonable price and the owner Audly is a very friendly man, who really has a warm heart for his guests.
The shower gets very hot and thats amazing if you had only cold showers during your trip in India so far. When we stayed there we had a very nice balcony, where you can lay your laundrey to dry perfectly. It is also wonderful that for once you don't have to worry about bugs or any of those crawling species, one of the best things of Paix et Amour is that it is really proper. We would recommend this homestay to anyone who's visiting Cochin, we had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were fortunate to select Paix et Amour as our homestay in Kochi-We were greeted by the host Audly Fernandez who took the trouble to meet us well past midnight . He then went out of his way to make arrangements for all our requirements in Kochi. The rooms are very spacious and clean with running hot water, TV etc. Audly and his wife + extended family were great hosts and we were very happy to meet them. Audly is a very friendly and accomodating manager who takes the trouble to make your stay as pleasant as possible and is also very knowledgeable . The location is fantastic with most of the local attractions within walking distance of the homestay. The roof top is an excellent place to chill out after a long day of sightseeing. My family will definitely stay there when we visit Kochi again and we recommend it to anyone who plans on visiting Kochi. Thanks for the good times Audly.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and there were no noise issues with the rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paix et Amour Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paix et Amour Home Stay

Address: Kitkat Road | Naliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paix et Amour is a pleasant and wonderful home stay located at the central area of Fort Kochi, Kerala. The location of the house on the Fort Kochi beach promenade is unbeatable and always calm and quiet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paix Et Amour Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paix et Amour Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.