We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful momos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tibetan Chefs Restaurant

Tibetan Chefs Restaurant
Santa Cruz School Road | Opp Kerala Kathakali Centre, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
8943457257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 541 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
“Wonderful momos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very very good monks and chilly chutney was superb;the talking parrot was quit interesting I is a very simple Tibetan family running restaurant any way overall wonderful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pune
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Food, +ve vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went to this place for dinner. Had Thukpa, Momos etc. They have an exhaustive menu. I have tried tibetan food at multiple tibetan settlements, such as Bylakuppe in KA and Dharamshala in Mcleodganj in HP, but tibetan food served here was more tastier than anything I have eaten. If you love to experiment with different types of cuisine, do visit this place for some good tibetan food.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernakulam, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Place may not look so great on appearances but the food is good. The service is excellent. And maybe you wanna stay away from the Tibetan tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A bit of Tibet in Cochin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our guide fro Summit Safaris suggested this local place in Cochin and what a find it was. We visited the HImalayas with him 18 months ago and there tasted moms and other Tibetan fare. This was an authentic bit of Tibet in Cochin and such a nice change from Souther Indian food during 3 weeks of Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Goa. It is right next door to a good, relatively authentic Kathakali theatre so a great place to have dinner afterwards. It is a simple place which you might overlook initially but very much worth it. The young woman who seemed to be the owner is from Tibet and was lovely.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
“A Tibetan Experience @ Fort Kochi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had been hearing a lot about this place from my friends, but never knew where the place was. Recently I went for a massage in Fort Kochi and the spa therapist showed me the way to the restaurant.

Unlike the expectations of a RESTAURANT, the place is similar to a HOMESTAY EATERY. You feel the homely environment. No hi-fi things around. The entire family participates in cooking and serving and God bless them, the food is delicious.

I had Chicken Momos in Soup and Chicken Thupka. Both very reasonably priced and very very tasty. Quantity rocks as these two dishes were enough for two of us. We had ordered a steam dumplings too but withdrew the order with the advice from the lady who took the order. That was true. Quantity was very good.

Thupka soup rocks...

A talking parrot keeps the kids busy. The restaurant is frequented by International Tourists than keralites.

The place is near KATHAKALI centre Fort Kochi.

Recommended for all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Chefs Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Tibetan Chefs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibetan Chefs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.