We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, pleasant food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tibetan Chefs Restaurant

Tibetan Chefs Restaurant
Santa Cruz School Road | Opp Kerala Kathakali Centre, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
8943457257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 472 restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, pleasant food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've eaten here a few times, and always found the staff to be lovely, and the food perfectly pleasant.

For those who haven't tried momos before, they are a fresh, clean flavour, which is a real contrast to the rich, deep flavours of Keralese cooking - absolutely worth checking out if you fancy a change from local food.

The only negative experience we had was when we ordered immediately after a party of 15, and immediately before a power cut - which led to a long wait for food in hot, still air!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    34
    36
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Momo Magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yummy momos and vegetarian fried rice. We ate there 3 times while we were in town. Delicious food, friendly service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy momos and thenthuks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small restaurant that plays beautiful Buddhist chanting music. They are quite busy in the evenings, people eat there before watching the Kathakali performances; situated next door. They serve a variety of Tibetan cuisine. We really enjoyed their vegetarian momos (dumplings) and Chicken Thenthuks (Chicken soup noodles). The service is a bit slow but the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here as it opposite that katakali centre which we visited n also we love momos! Lets check it out!
First impressions are that it's amazing what some people in India can do with little spaces. It's kitted out mismatch bits but looks n feels friendly. The staff are so polite. And yes we had momos. Big steamed ones which were ok but we will go back n try other stuff on the menu. We also had power cut while we were there n the staff bring out candles n it's just adds to the romance of this place. Quaint, down to earth, nothing showy but friendly people n great food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Oh, the irony (Tibetan *Chowmein*); flies too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a funky little eatery, with bright plastic covers over plastic tables set up under a tarp; plastic chairs on gravel. All very neat, intended to be cheerful, yet in the hot season, rather dreary. I suspect the Free Tibet paraphanelia that complete the decore are as much the reason for its popularity as its menu. Given the name of the restaurant, and the Tibetan Buddhist items for sale, I found it highly ironic that so much of the menu offered diasporic Chinese food (like chowmein). The latter came quickly, was hot, and consisted of noodles, julienned cabbage, carrots, green pepper and some green onion. R90. The service was friendly, and the location is convenient, so I will try the apparently fabulous momos. But be warned: there are flies.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Chefs Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Tibetan Chefs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibetan Chefs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.