We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Pride Hotel

North Pride Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added North Pride Hotel to your Saves list
North Pride Hotel
ESI Road, Ernakulam North, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 320 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A bit of disappointment when I entered in this hotel due to poor communication of receptionist (English?). The location is only good for those who want to stay in front of Erankulam town railways stations, otherwise there is nothing that interests anyone. No good restaurants in the area, forget about BAR – you have to go far away to hunt for it. I thought that it will be easy next morning to catch train from there. However, I think it was not a right decision as even if I would stay somewhere around MG Road or Marine drive, it would take max 10 minutes to reach the Ernakulam town railways station. So, location wise, it is not recommended for any reasons at all, unless it is really offered with too low tariff, which was also the case for me and I paid around IRN 1,500/night. I was more disappointed when I noticed that internet is not working and was suggested that it will be fixed within 30 minutes, which never happened even until I left the hotel next morning. Cant’s imagine staying without internet which was always being the priority while choosing hotel and I have selected this hotel knowing that they would provide this facility. My frustration added, when the receptionist has asked me to fill an additional forms to prove/record my identity and also took a photo. The room of the hotel and bathroom was very basic. Looks like not maintained since long and looks dirty. The bathroom floor, toilet pan, wash basin all appeared dirty to me and gave some level of un-comfortness. Room has small TV with lots of channels in English, Hindi and many mores….probably this was the only good part of stay. The breakfast was okay with limited choice – toast/butter or fried bread or Idli-sambar. I took the later one which was tasty. I was more upset when I asked the receptionist whether I should go right or left to reach to the train station – he advised to go left, but it should be right. Highly Not Recommended.

Room Tip: Nothing to mention
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hubli
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The worst hotel ever seen.they did not accept credit card even there is swiping machine.room is full of dust.tv was not working.bad hospitality.very bad food.instead of three star hotel it should be road side hotel.no proper fecilities.everything was worst.I dont no how they gave three star hotel to this.It wont deserve it.Even this hotel give bills while checking out.I never seen such a waste hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was here for a night. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly. But as this is very next to Ernakulam railway station, you ll get disturbed by trains during your sleep at night. Food was below average and not many options too. we were served with cold idly(was like directly served from fridge) at 9AM(which is usual breakfast time). I had to ask for hot water and blanket which was not there in room. Not met our expectations for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the North Pride. Nice hotel, big clean rooms and friendly staff.

However our experience was severely marred when we returned from a day out to find an item of clothing had been removed from the room. When we asked the hotel about it we were shown another item of clothing that they thought might belong to us and they were advised it wasn't ours.

However on discussion with friends who were staying in another room about the missing item they told us that they too had a missing item of clothing. The item that we had been shown was indeed theirs.

2 items of clothing missing from 2 different rooms is not an accident. The hotel could not find the still missing dress and advised us that they would contact us to advise us if / when it had been found as we were returning to the area (and staying in a different hotel).

it is no surprise we didn't hear anything at al from them.

An apology or compensation may have eased the situation but they couldn't even muster that.

A very disappointing ordeal in what would have been an otherwise very good hotel.

Great shame

Room Tip: If you stay here please ensure you lock everything away
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashik, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

nice rooms,really good lighting,beds were comfy,, good service , near to ernakulam north town station, so getting auto for airport not a issue,also very very economical. city also within reach, you can go to marine drive also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though WiFi is is hugely prominent on their list of promises made in all the adverts, they only have it in the lobby and on the lower floors. Which is kinda a big lie. No WiFi in most rooms, don't trust the ads, and it's painfully slow even when you drag yourself down to the lobby from your top floor room to check your mail. The Restaurant is glaringly inconsistent, being good at times and outright pathetic else. The Breakfast Buffet though promises to start at 7.30 am was not ready even at 8.15; was served a la carte, which took much longer and caused me to nearly miss my 9 AM appointment. The rooms are clean and adequate and at a fair price. There are them few mosquitoes around even with the Air conditioning so ask for the Repellant Liquid. Bottom-line I would go there again for the sheer value and the mostly pleasant mannered staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower floors to have any hopes of WiFi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Kerala, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hi, i recently visited Kochi with my colleagues and booked the hotel through the net, the property was very good, the service was good, well furnished rooms, good sea food restaurant -

I will definitely stay again if i get a chance to visit kochi -

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Pride Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Pride Hotel

Address: ESI Road, Ernakulam North, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Pride is located in the heart of Cochin city, just walkable distance from north railway station (Ernakulam town), 26 km from airport. Property has 30 rooms, multi cuisine restaurant, 24 hr coffee shop, ample car parking, wifi, easy access shopping area (MG Road, Marine Drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your North Pride Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Pride Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Pride Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.