We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb base in Kochin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Save Saved
You added Brunton Boatyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 163 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Superb base in Kochin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely home-from-home nestled in the heart of Fort Cochin.
An ‘infinity’ swimming pool with great views and cheeky house crows, great food, cookery demos and yoga are all within the grounds. The daily sunset cruise starts from right next to the pool.
Within 5 minutes on foot are a ferry terminal (not as disturbing as that might sound) and iconic Chinese fishing nets, a choice of two venues for evening cultural shows of traditional dance and martial arts, and some Colonial buildings. A slightly longer walk, or a tuk-tuk ride, will bring the spice market of Mattancherry and the Commonwealth’s oldest synagogue, and most of the rest of the historic heart of Kochi, into scope.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    90
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
179
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Dear All, I just enjoyed a Trip to Fort Kochin, Kerala, South India. I stayed at a very well kept Old Historical Hotel "The Brunton Boatyard Hotel", It is an amazingly clean Hotel with very comfortable room with verandah if you choose, faces toward the sea. You can watch the ferries and the boats and listen to whistles of the boats that is soothing to me while enjoying eagles and others birds flying. The Hotel was converted from a shipping dockyard built by Mr. Brunton an Englishman, at the last century. It has a very charming ambience with friendly professional service, and if you travel at the beinning of Monsoon, you will get a discounted rate through Agoda. The Hotel is a chain of 13 other similar Hotels thoroughout South India.

Fort Cochin itself is born out of Typhoon of Battles between the Portuegese, The Dutch, and The English. Vasco de Gama died in his house in Fort Kochin. Fort Kochin is amazingly Catholic with The Italian Franciscan Church. There is the Dutch Palace, it was VOC Office, and The Jewish Community.

Nowadays is a busy Small Fort Town with many small Kashmiris Shops and Seafood Restaurants. Again at the beginning of monsoon you can get good bargains of silver jewelry and other sculptures and many more. The Brunton Boatyard Hotel also has boutique that has modrn looking Dresses from Indian materials. The pedestratians, the bicyclist the tea houses and the rickshaware mostly friendly people. I also bought paintings of elephants on dry banans leaves from the art students at The Mahatma Gandhi University. Visit Fort Kochin, and enjoy the hospitality of the South Indians. I love it during moonsoon, the sea and the wind bring cool breeze that is refreshing with plenty of birds to watch and to listen. Enjoy Fort Kochin and Thanks All

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We checked into the sea-view deluxe suite for 2 peaceful nights, facing the beautiful sea alive with activities. Beautiful rooms, ample living space, nice long balcony, super services offered that comes with free yoga lesson in the morning, free one hour boat cruise around the port/ lakes, lovely breakfast and so close yet so quiet to the quaint town of Fort Cochin.
We will definitely come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Brunton Boatyard at the end of a 2 week trip around India back in September 11. The hotel is beautiful and makes you believe its from the colonial days of the Portuguese or British. We had a beautiful, spacious room with a large bathroom complete with bath that looks out over the bay/harbour. The breakfasts were excellent, possibly the best we had in India, which is saying something and the evening meals were very good also. I recommend the Indian sparkling wine (Sula). The bar was nice and the barman was excellent, interesting and good company. We did a complimentary cooking class and sunset cruise, both of which were very enjoyable. We absolutely loved Cochin and Brunton Boatyard enhanced our experience to probably our favourite place in Indian, which again is saying something as its such an amazing country. Can't rate highly enough

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved our stay at the Brunton Boatyard. The stafff is great as is the pool and the hotel
captures the beauty and spirit of Kerala State and Cochin.
We loved the view from our third floor room of the pool and the Bay.
The restaurant has the option of a basically prix fixe seafood or prix fixe fish meal
with a choice of seafood and preparation. We ate at the hotel both nights-one night inside and
the other outside - Food was some of the best seafood and fish we have ever had.
(There is another menu inside with more traditional fare)
There was a strike throughout Kerala one of the days we were here and we were thrilled-
Allowed us to lounge around the pool etc. Great day after 3 1/2 weeks of non stop touring India.
We would return to Kerala and this hotel in a second.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Brunton boatyard is the best chill out place in kerala.Built in British colonial days , it takes you back to a bygone era of feudalism . You feel you are more sitting in a club than a restaurant .The water front restaurant is awesome in the evenings though for kerala summers its quite inhospitable .Ideal place to treat a VIP or a customer .The mouth watering sea food is one of the best in Kerala and so is the lunch spread . One must go there during monsoon.The huge verandah and 19th century architecture makes you feel like a nobleman ....and of course the ever ready to serve waiters

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As other reviewers have stated, this "young" property is built to make one feel it's got to be atleast 100 years old. The courtyard is lovely. The rooms are sufficient in size, with large bathrooms w/shower and tub both. Enjoyed all meals at the hotel, and very impressed with the experience. The seafood is so fresh you can't believe it! Never a fishy taste. Our room was on the channel, so they do furnish ear plugs, in case the maritime navigation is a problem. Neither myself, nor my room mate had an issue with it. Walking in the Fort area is completely safe. All the employees are extremely helpful and friendly. A beautiful eco-friendly property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brunton Boatyard 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, MakeMyTrip, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunton Boatyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.