We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost in the Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brunton Boatyard to your Saves list
Brunton Boatyard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Almost in the Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The view is brilliant looking straight out into the harbour with everything from canoes to container ships passing by. It can at times of course be noisy and I think a room at the end where the ferry docks could be intrusively so. But our room looking out over the swimiming pool on the harbour edge was great. Earplugs were provided on the bedside table in case we found noise intruding but weren't needed. The room was small but delightful with old-fashioned solid wood furniture and a marvellous high off the ground bedstead. There was a small balcony with cane chairs. The hotel complex is designed in a graceful open-air colonial style around an inner garden with large trees. It has a great deal of charm.
The location is good for sight seeing and just a quick stroll to some of the intriguing fishingnets and fish market stalls. There's a free evening harbour cruise offered by the hotel and we found it worthwhile.
The hotel bar was small but excellent with good staff.. The restaurant meals were very good. Breakfast was a little irksome -- this was a la carte and I've become accustomed to a buffet breakfast and much prefer being able to make a self-service choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    111
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
209
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cool location. there is an outside seating near the lake or the a/c dining hall. well done interiors. a old palace converted to a really nice hotel. the history of that place is also shown on the lobby.
try the fish curry and rice. its out of the world, liquor menu is also extensive and pretty vast. costly but overall a really nice experience. must try. cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A great place to start our trip to Kerala. Arrived early at the hotel and the room was ready overlooking the waterway. We were every close to the area that the ferries dock but it was not intrusive at all. In fact it was great for people watching! We had two nights and loved it. The food was excellent,the staff excellent and the general ambience and accessibility of the hotel is wonderful. Unfortunately because of our schedule and the weather we didn't get to ride in the sunset cruise which I am sure we would have enjoyed. One minor gripe is that the swimming pool doesn't look very clean or inviting. Overall well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay at Brunton Boatyard, Fort Cochin on our way to board a boat on the Backwaters of Kerala. We had an enormous room with loads of character overlooking the fantastically busy water.

The main thing we wanted to comment on was the excellent cuisine - it was, for some reason, quite unexpected and absolutely delicious.

Also, the next morning we were in a real hurry and can highly recommend their express breakfast which was beautifully fresh and extremely fast - which was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Try to request not to be right on the corner of the hotel as there is a very busy ferry going back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were recommended this hotel restaurant by a fellow traveler. We took them up on their recommendation and were not disappointed it was fabulous. Summer salad, prawns, and a variety of vegetable curries were very well presented and tasted great. Let me pass on the recommendation, when in Cochin try the restaurant at Brunton Boatyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Brunton Boatyard will take you back to the languid days of the Raj. Bang on the waterfront, the building has been beautifully restored and will make you want to hang around even though there is much to see in Kochi. Rooms are tastefully done and with the balcony overlooking the water, you would want to maximise the hotel experience.
The History restaurant is a place you must have a meal in, purely for the colonial grandeur of the place.
Its location is also super with a lot of sightseeing in the Fort Kochi area in walking distance.
And do go for the sunset cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Brunton Boat Yard for two nights on a trip to Kerala April 2012. The welcoming was really good, and the staff were most helpful and pleasant through the stay. Although we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, the breakfast menu was extensive with a lovely atmosphere in the breakfast room, The hotel room was spacious and well equipped, the view from the balcony over the bay was wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brunton Boatyard 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunton Boatyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.