We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely courtyard hotel next to the Kochi Biennale 2015 building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fort House to your Saves list
Fort House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Evevning Tea & pancake
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard hotel next to the Kochi Biennale 2015 building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night in January in the Fort House. Great location in Fort Kochi - right at the sea, between two ferry ports, 5min Atul brings you to all tourist locations. Kochi Biennale 2015 location is less than 100 meters away. The Biennale was a highlight - really recommended!

Restaurant was great - both food and the superb location right at the sea. Courtyard design and room layout is perfect for a tropic city.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    133
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
161
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 2 nights and loved this quiet, small hotel. Pleasant rustic room which even had free tubes of Odomus mosquito cream, which is well recommended! Great to have tea making facilities in the room.
The setting is so pretty, with a lovely courtyard. Breakfast was amazing, sitting out overlooking the river with all its activity.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in early January. We arrive late and yet they still arranged some grilled fish at the lovely lakeside restaurant. The rooms were lovely and spacious. Very clean and the hotel was really beautiful. Ate at the restaurant on 2nd night too. Yum. Finally, breakfast was superb.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited and stayed here in mid December for 2 days and it was the the best and the most pleasant stays that we had during the trip and if not exaggerating one of the best till date. my 1.5 yr old daughter thoroughly enjoyed and the positive and cheerful aura of the place just got to her. The ambiance of the place is so five star and yet so homely , the people n the staff their quiet professional n yet made us feel so at home. From the comfort of our room to the great atmosphere outside... one can feel the comfort, warmth n happiness in the air.

Positives - The rooms have an earthy touch to them..
the ambiance and atmosphere is very happy n cheerful
people are warm n helpful
the location is really nice n in the midst of all hussle n buzzle.
food is great n had one of the nicest breakfasts

Negatives - couldnt find any..

looking fwd to b back soooon

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at Fort House for the opening of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2014 on Friday 12 December. (The Biennale continues until 29 March 2015. Its details can be found here: http://kochimuzirisbiennale.org/) Luckily, having booked the previous March, we got a room right at the seaward end of the first floor (in Americanspeak, the second floor) balcony. No rooms are above this level. This is a family-owned hotel with limited accommodation, allowing it to be managed well. The area in front of the rooms is covered with palm and other trees, so that birdsong can greet you on waking each morning; a path leads to the restaurant and the private shore area of the hotel.
Slightly strangely, though our room had a sea facing wall this was not pierced by even one window. No matter, ours was an excellent location within the hotel setup and from outside our room we could look past the mature palms to the shore and out across the bay. Having seen other family members' rooms, too, there was no doubting cleanliness to be a management priority. Room cleaning was done every day. Windows had precautions against mosquitoes and all openings were pretty close-fitting.
The location was perfect. Set in the Fort Cochin area (the municipality sticks with the old name of Cochin), we were literally a few steps away from Pepper House, one of the historic venues used for the Biennale, and ten minutes' walk from its main venue, Aspinwall House. (I have to admit to taking three-wheelers instead of walking; as a bonus, most drivers were interested in the Biennale events - and many of them work in the unionised fishing industry when there is no Biennale in town.)
Fort House's restaurant was pretty good (especially as I was able to order decent porridge each day). For all meals, which were within set times (always a good sign), it was possible to sit under a large vernacular covered roof or outside next to the shore. For a special banquet on our last evening we sat at a long table on the hotel's fixed pier jutting out into the bay, lit by subdued lighting: it was quite magical. We were not disappointed with any meals, whether breakfast, lunch, or dinner; it was straightforward (much better than simple) Kerala fare served well. Thanks to being close to the Biennale venues, I got caught in one lunchtime rush that caused a slowdown, but management sorted it out as quickly as practicable.
Fort House's manager and her team were excellent. They obtained tickets for onward rail and air travel for us without any problem.
Speaking to several guests who had been coming to Fort House for years, it became obvious why it's sometimes difficult to get a booking.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location - perfect. Food - fabulous. Service - excellent. Rooms - neat and tidy. Such a well managed place right in the middle of one of the most picturesque locations in Kochi. The ambience is bang on. And the best part is that there is no television in the room. Ah - what silence at night. Highly recommended for the breakfast with the sight of ships docking in the shipyard.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

This a charming small hotel with the most attentive service. You would'nt think that the hotel was had great looks but indeed it does, for the view from the street does not show the real feeling of splendor and elegance. Tuck away at the rear of of the hotel is the back waters with ships and boats criss crossing. To sit at this dining patio is quite an experience.You dont suspect all the foliage and greenery that you see. This is indeed a simple ambiance coupled with the comfortable bedrooms. My hat off to the caring and professional management which runs this classy hotel and restaurant efficiently.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Address: 2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#17 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort House 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.