We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I was looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort House

Save Saved
You added Fort House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fort House
2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 163 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights early November 2012 and again for 3 nights after travelling around Kerala. Super friendly and helpful. Beautiful natural courtyard. Hot water. Free Wi Fi.
Staff negotiated a great rate for me with a tuk tuk driver. Food delicious, excellent dahl and chappatis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    106
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
59
136
36
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went there for dinner on 18th November. The restaurant is located on a small pier overlooking the harbour. You see small boats and trawlers going past it. The place is good but there is a lot of noise disturbance from an another restaurant located on the adjoining property. The waiters were courteous. We ordered for Chicken soup and Prawns Ginger garlic. The service was quick and we had the food in 10-15 mins but realised the prawns were slightly undercooked. Apart from this, it was a good experience. The homemade chocolate cake in desserts is a must try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. It is run by a family who were very frinedly and helpful. Facilities are basic but functional the rooms are sparse and there is no lobby/lounge to speak of, all bedrooms open off a verandah that you can sit on in front of your room, overall it is clean and comfortable. The bed is a good size and comfortable, and the bathroom is well designed. As with everywhere there are plenty of mosquitos, we were able to tie our mosquito net to the ceiling fan over the bed and this kept the blighters out! The hotel does provide mosquito repellent and a plug in insect repellent.
It is located along the main road to the central area of shops and restaurants so finding somewhere to eat is quite easy.
The WiFi is only in the reception area and is intermittent, there are power cuts each evening but they have a generator that comes on eventually.
The best thing in this hotel is the breakfast - there is a lovely restaurant opening onto the water, they serve fresh fruit, eggs cooked anyway you like and the most amazing homebaked bread - a really nice touch.

Room Tip: All the rooms are laid out in a row along a long verandah, if you are located near the reception end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Satyed 3 nights early November

Large room with AC
Outside seating for the cooler afternoons or morning coffee and book reading
Large and very clean bathroom
Right on the river with very pleasant internal courtyard/grounds
Massage at RPS1000 was okay
Breakfast was great - toast, fruit, yogurt, eggs, coffee/tea, fuit juice

Room Tip: Downstairs are the easiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It doesn't get much better than that...
Nice rooms even if a little pricey, but hotels in Kochi are generally expensive compared to other small places in India.
Beautiful garden which adds a lot of charm to the property.
Excellent massages at their ayurveda house.
and best of all, the restaurant on the jetty. awesome traditional kerala dishes, freshly caught fish to die for.
You should book this place. (ask for a discount during low season)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stay 8 nights mid october 2012: perfect location, nice room, friendly staff, excellent food, very quite, good value for money. With a beautiful tropical garden .
A la carte breackfasts are serve on the hotel pier a MUST.

Room Tip: only 18 rooms all the same on two levels .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were recommended this hotel at the last minute by a cab driver who was taking us to Cochin from Alleppey. I'm always a little bit wary of recommendations by drivers (I tend to think they're on commission and if we've got nowhere booked we'll stay anywhere!) but I'm glad we took his advice.

This charming hotel is very centrally placed in Fort Cochin and the service was just fantastic. The rooms were clean and simple with A/C, kettle and toiletries. It's not very big but each room has a little table and chairs outside the room where you can sit with a cuppa and chill out and read a book. The hotel is built around a little garden with big plants, lanterns and stone sculptures, it feels like a little sanctuary after a day out in Fort Cochin.

We only stayed one night and opted to eat in the hotel restaurant - I'm glad we did. The food was superb and at night the hotel put tables out on the little pier that juts out into the water and it's such a lovely romantic setting. The chef prepared boneless fish curry especially for me which was very kind.

The next morning we were going on a long drive to the waterfalls (something the hotel organised for us for a very reasonable price!) and the lovely breakfast staff packed us each a delicious toasted sandwich to take as we couldn't make breakfast!

Wifi is free in reception and if you're in rooms 1-3 you can pick this up from your room.

The only negative things were that there was a bit of a mossie problem when we were there (I didn't think more so than anywhere else in India, personally) but they were very proactive about spraying the room entrances and all the porches.
Also, there was a bit of building going on so there were a lot of bricks lying around and builders going back and forth, but this didn't upset our stay.

I loved this little hotel, I'm so glad we were recommended it and I'd advise anyone staying in Fort Cochin to check it out.

Room Tip: If you want wi-fi access try and get room 1 or 2. We had 3 and could get a weak signal sat on the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Address: 2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.