We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BREAKFAST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort House

Save Saved
You added Fort House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Monsoon Ayur Treatments
Ranked #17 of 167 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. It is run by a family who were very frinedly and helpful. Facilities are basic but functional the rooms are sparse and there is no lobby/lounge to speak of, all bedrooms open off a verandah that you can sit on in front of your room, overall it is clean and comfortable. The bed is a good size and comfortable, and the bathroom is well designed. As with everywhere there are plenty of mosquitos, we were able to tie our mosquito net to the ceiling fan over the bed and this kept the blighters out! The hotel does provide mosquito repellent and a plug in insect repellent.
It is located along the main road to the central area of shops and restaurants so finding somewhere to eat is quite easy.
The WiFi is only in the reception area and is intermittent, there are power cuts each evening but they have a generator that comes on eventually.
The best thing in this hotel is the breakfast - there is a lovely restaurant opening onto the water, they serve fresh fruit, eggs cooked anyway you like and the most amazing homebaked bread - a really nice touch.

Room Tip: All the rooms are laid out in a row along a long verandah, if you are located near the reception end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    111
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
61
140
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Satyed 3 nights early November

Large room with AC
Outside seating for the cooler afternoons or morning coffee and book reading
Large and very clean bathroom
Right on the river with very pleasant internal courtyard/grounds
Massage at RPS1000 was okay
Breakfast was great - toast, fruit, yogurt, eggs, coffee/tea, fuit juice

Room Tip: Downstairs are the easiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It doesn't get much better than that...
Nice rooms even if a little pricey, but hotels in Kochi are generally expensive compared to other small places in India.
Beautiful garden which adds a lot of charm to the property.
Excellent massages at their ayurveda house.
and best of all, the restaurant on the jetty. awesome traditional kerala dishes, freshly caught fish to die for.
You should book this place. (ask for a discount during low season)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stay 8 nights mid october 2012: perfect location, nice room, friendly staff, excellent food, very quite, good value for money. With a beautiful tropical garden .
A la carte breackfasts are serve on the hotel pier a MUST.

Room Tip: only 18 rooms all the same on two levels .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were recommended this hotel at the last minute by a cab driver who was taking us to Cochin from Alleppey. I'm always a little bit wary of recommendations by drivers (I tend to think they're on commission and if we've got nowhere booked we'll stay anywhere!) but I'm glad we took his advice.

This charming hotel is very centrally placed in Fort Cochin and the service was just fantastic. The rooms were clean and simple with A/C, kettle and toiletries. It's not very big but each room has a little table and chairs outside the room where you can sit with a cuppa and chill out and read a book. The hotel is built around a little garden with big plants, lanterns and stone sculptures, it feels like a little sanctuary after a day out in Fort Cochin.

We only stayed one night and opted to eat in the hotel restaurant - I'm glad we did. The food was superb and at night the hotel put tables out on the little pier that juts out into the water and it's such a lovely romantic setting. The chef prepared boneless fish curry especially for me which was very kind.

The next morning we were going on a long drive to the waterfalls (something the hotel organised for us for a very reasonable price!) and the lovely breakfast staff packed us each a delicious toasted sandwich to take as we couldn't make breakfast!

Wifi is free in reception and if you're in rooms 1-3 you can pick this up from your room.

The only negative things were that there was a bit of a mossie problem when we were there (I didn't think more so than anywhere else in India, personally) but they were very proactive about spraying the room entrances and all the porches.
Also, there was a bit of building going on so there were a lot of bricks lying around and builders going back and forth, but this didn't upset our stay.

I loved this little hotel, I'm so glad we were recommended it and I'd advise anyone staying in Fort Cochin to check it out.

Room Tip: If you want wi-fi access try and get room 1 or 2. We had 3 and could get a weak signal sat on the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was the second hotel I stayed at in India, having overnighted in Chennai and flown the following morning to Cochin. It was the total opposite of the previous hotel - definitely not five star, but well-run. I am a flexible traveler, but one thing I require is cleanliness. Rooms were simple, a bit dark, and very clean (walking barefoot on the terra cotta floor left no dust on my feet). Bath was simple, with shower only (no tub) and also perfectly clean. Mosquito net was provided, but I didn't notice any mosquitoes, and I'm extremely sensitive to their bites.
The proprietors live on premises and at all times were welcoming and helpful, arranging for moto rickshaw drivers whom we engaged for all our travel - they were great - and inviting me in to their office/sitting room for conversation. As I was there at low season (July), the restaurant on the pier at the end of property was closed, but a small restaurant at the front was open for meals - for me, not a breakfast eater, perfectly adequate, offering a variety of options such as toast, eggs, Indian fare, and always fresh fruit/juice. Service was a bit slow but not terrible. Staff were always polite, friendly, and helpful.
During my stay the hotel was constructing additional rooms, and I believe it has been upgraded since my stay. At no time was the construction an annoyance; in fact, it was interesting to watch the workers, women as well as men, who were friendly in a deferential way and did not mind having photos taken. The interior garden is lush and charming.
One of the best features of this hotel is its location, right on the water, immediately next to the famous fishermen, who welcomed us to help pull in their catch, and a short walk through interesting residential areas to local markets. For more historic areas, temples and churches, and major markets it is best to travel by rickshaw, which is inexpensive and fun.
This is not a hotel for those seeking five star accommodation; what I liked about it was the opportunity to talk with owners and staff and connect a bit with local people and learn about the area from those who live there.
Please note that my stay was a few years ago, and the hotel appears to have upgraded its facilities since.

Room Tip: During my stay there were only ground floor rooms. Probably the newer second floor rooms are more m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely place with old world charm and a great location facing the Kochi Harbour... just opposite Vallarpadom Container Terminal. And friendly staff too. But I would recommend that if you would like your dinner on time please go elsewhere. We had to wait for one and a half hours and finally the food that was delivered was far below expectations as described on the menu.
The breakfast was certainly good.

Room Tip: I understand that the next door Seagull serves good local food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Address: 2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.