We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away But Cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Malabar to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Away But Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A very unique experience for a 5 star hotel. very hospital and professional staff. Check in unique way has made our day. Guest would be siting on a comfortable sofa having a complimentary refreshing drink, while the reception is preparing the check-in formalities. Make sure to ask for the ocean view room. The good thing about this hotel is that it is far away from noise, yet it is not an advantage as well, since it takes a considerable amount of time to reach there. You have to try the seafood cosine they have on the ocean side.. it is worth trying.

Room Tip: the room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback and compliments of the hotel.

We are glad to note that the overall quality of service and facilities at our hotel measured up to your expectation. I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    290
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
309
384
70
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The taj was excellent the staff was wonderful,and very friendly ,had a wonderful time ,planning to go there again soon .
My sisters were traveling by the early morning train to chennai ,and when they were leaving the hotel had made packed breakfast for them ,it was such a thoughtful gesture.
Thank you Taj for the warmth and hospitality .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

We are most delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel. We would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the services offered by our team during you stay.

We are glad to know that our product and services exceeded your expectations. My team and I will look forward to welcome you back for many more enriching moments.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Recent stay in August
was upgraded to a suite,
while waiting even my guests were cared for ,the rooms were clean
excellent service
would like to convey my sincere thanks to Alex who was very helpful
Would highly recommend to any traveler

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that you had an excellent stay with us.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 and had a wonderful time here for the 3 days we were here and was packed with activities organised by the hotel. We were greeted on arrival by Durgesh, who organised for a smooth check in while we were having our welcome drink and relaxing at the lounge. The rooms were spotlessly clean and everything was in order. We had asked for an extra bed and it was brought in promptly after dinner without us having to remind them.We found the service very personalised and realised that each guest is treated as the only guest in the hotel and pampered as one too. There is an high tea organised ( on the house ) for all guests on the sea front and it was a very welcome one for us since we had missed our lunch. There was a good selection of snacks and also a wide variety of tea/coffee etc. Again, here ,the service was excellent. After the tea, guests were treated to a short cruise ( again on the house ) on the houseboat. There were other activities organised on our return to the hotel such as flower arrangement and cooking demo, traditional dance ( performed by a renowned local dancer ) which kept us engaged throughout until dinner time. They also have a spa ( on the house for the guests ) and a very relaxing swimming pool too. Food at the pepper was excellent and staff very friendly and extremely helpful ( in particular Akilan ). House keeping was excellent and every time we went back to our room , we found the baths spotlessly clean and dry and the beds made up too. I should also mention that we were upgraded on arrival to the heritage rooms. Breakfast had a large spread and was lovely. We also took part in the outdoor rope activities at Pearl Island and found it very good with Dipu organising the activity very well. Also, we were informed that we could borrow DVD of movies that we would like to watch in our rooms free of charge. I should compliment the hotel management for the numerous activities organised to keep the guests engaged and many of them on the house. But, for those, we would have been just lazing around in our rooms. The Thai restaurant was the only disappointment but only in terms of the food served. We found the service impeccable though. Finally, our check out was quite as smooth and Durgesh surprised us with a small gift too. Memorable stay and impeccable service and now we know why the TAJ is different from others !!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms at the heritage wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your recent stay at Cochin. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

We have made a note of your feedback. The matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and you have my assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

From the start, this hotel was really the tops in terms of staff. You could sit in the restaurant and really admire the professionalism all around. Waiters were so attentive and helpful. I should also mention the way that the hotel corrected a mistake which was actually the fault of the booking website we'd used - we were grateful for their help with that.
In truth, the decor of the place was not to my taste, but that's not really important when there was so much to like about the hotel. We were about 5-10 mins walk from the ferry to Fort Cochin, and a car was always available to offer a lift to the boat. The ferry fare was just 4 rupees. Willingdon Island doesn't have much else on it to visit, but it was so easy to get to Fort Cochin on the fairly frequent ferries.
One of the most enjoyable parts of our stay was the food - fresh dosa, pancakes + eggs all available at breakfast as well as a massive choice on the buffet. I only discovered the baked yoghurt on my last morning which was a great shame. Their 'posh' restaurant had amazing seafood and a really excellent chef. We found the best way to eat there was to talk to staff and then leave it in chef's hands with delicious results !

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

We are most delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel. We would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the services offered by our team during you stay.

We are glad to know that our product and services exceeded your expectations.

We have made a note of your feedback. The matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and you have my assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future.
My team and I will look forward to welcome you back for many more enriching moments.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is an excellent hotel not just because of its great location,luxurious decor,good food at Pepper restaurant and excellent service but also because of the numerous complimentary activities that they have,all excellent and enjoyable, like the cookery demonstration,the flower arrangement demonstration,the afternoon tea,the sunset cruise,superb Indian dance perfomances by Ms Sathyabhama and excellent lounge performances by Mr.Christopher and Mr.Noel.There was also a paid activity on another island belonging to the Taj group,very well organized by Dipu.In short,there is no time to get bored.A small disappointment was the food at the Thai restaurant which we didnot enjoy.But otherwise,we had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.P.s-The boat jetty to take a ferry to Fort Kochi is just a 10 min walk from the hotel.The ferry ride costs just Rs 4 pp one way.Details can be obtained from the hotel reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback and compliments of the hotel.

We are glad to note that the overall quality of service and facilities at our hotel measured up to your expectation. I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

We have made a note of your feedback. I would also like to assure you that the matter has been discussed with all concerned individuals and related development needs have been addressed to ensure such reoccurrences can be avoided.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Taj Malabar with our two young daughters, aunt and my mother-in-law.
Our arrival was somewhat marred by a booking mistake (on the part of Taj hotels, not us) and we were taken aback that the reception team initially expected us to pay for wi-fi to dig out e-mail proving where the problem lay! We also noticed that all around us new guests were being offered cooling welcome drinks and the like. No such pleasantries were extended to us however.
Setting aside that rather unfortunate first 45 minutes we have to say that this this visit confirmed to us that this is a great hotel with, for the most part, absolutely wonderful staff. We were pleasantly surprised, for example, to see that many of the restaurant staff remembered us from 2 years ago which is pretty good going when one considers how many people must have passed through the hotel in that time.
In general we found the hotel staff - from gardeners to managers -- to be incredibly professional, utterly courteous, kind and helpful.
Staff in the restaurants and the bar in particular are at the top of their game and we thought the service we received from them was consistently excellent. Big thanks to them all!
In addition everything we ate in all three restaurants during our stay was delicious and the kids especially loved the ice creams and puddings!
Location wise some people find the hotel a little remote but we love it for that very reason. It's also very easy to take the ferry to Fort Cochin or across to Ernakulum if like us, you like to explore, but best of all the hotel gardens are the perfect place to watch the ever-changing harbour traffic.
On this visit the monsoon was present with a vengenace but we still managed to swim in the fabulous pool and play croquet, frisbee and pitch n putt on the lawns to our hearts content. We also enjoyed the complimentary early evening cruise.
During our week at the hotel we also chartered the Cinammon Cove Yacht for a 60mins birthday cruise. We felt (well, for one hour!) like movie stars as we sailed around the harbour. Taj provided a delicious cake too. If you have a special event to celebrate we highly recommend it.
Our third floor room was fine and we enjoyed the harbour view but felt, on balance, that we would probably take a room in the older wing on our next visit as the rooms are larger and better appointed for families.
I had three treatments at the Jiva Spa while I was at the hotel and each one was incredibly relaxing. The young Bengali therapist who conducted the treatments was absolutely lovely and again incredibly professional (big thanks to her and apologies for failing to note her name).
Finally, our package at the hotel included breakfast and dinner. The value for money it represented is little short of remarkable for a hotel of this standard. Here's to our next trip!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have the view, older wing rooms are larger and better for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience.

We have made a note of your feedback. The matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and you have my assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.