We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View - Impeccable Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Malabar to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely View - Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in February at this property which has a long history and frequenty visited bt celebrities and dignatories like Prince Charles. Our whole experience from check-in to check-out was amazing. The service is absolutely top-notch. The General Manager, Mr Suman Sharma and his entire team is very customer-oriented and went out of their way to make our stay very enjoybale. Our room was super clean, well furnished with a beautiful views of the harbour. The fod quality in all restuarnats were of high standard. The complimentary 1 hour sunset cruise was very enjoyable and we could see the beautiful sunset. We would love to go back with our daughters, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room which has the views of harbour and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your recent stay at Cochin. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    251
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
275
334
59
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent three nights at the Taj in January 2014 as part of a 30 day tour of South India. The hotel was everything you would expect from Taj. Our room, located in the old (Heritage) part of the hotel was very quiet, comfortable, well-equipped and furnished and befitted from a good view of the bay. Service and food quality in the restaurant were of a consistently high standard. The complimentary one-hour sunset cruise was very enjoyable and offered excellent opportunities to see the sunset behind the Chinese fishing nets on Vypeen Island. Our only gripe concerned the IRP 600 daily charge for WiFi., a service provided free by most hotels. We stayed in a total of 15 hotels on our trip and this was one of our favourites.

Room Tip: Heritage wing offers characterful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.

We have made a note of your feedback and will certainly work on the feedback provided to the best of our abilities.

We trust the Vivanta charm will attract you again soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was the first hotel that we stayed in during a two week trip around Kerala and it set a standard that all the others failed to match. Our double room, situated on the first floor above Reception and not in the 7 story block, was large, tastefully furnished in an “old colonial” style and had everything that we could need, including TV and DVD player – DVDs could be borrowed from the hotel library. Each morning we received a free newspaper delivered to our door and our request for additional sachets of coffee brought at least enough to last us several days. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was the entire hotel, and the towels, toiletries, etc first class. Imaging sitting in bed, drinking an early morning coffee and looking out of the large window to see a fish eagle hunting out across the water. The breakfast buffet was of an excellent standard and vast in quantity and our ‘light lunch’ in the Pepper Restaurant satisfied us to such an extent that when we went for a pre-dinner drink in the bar, the free crisps, peanuts and canapés kept us out of the restaurant all evening. Every member of staff we had contact with was pleasant and helpful - first-class service in every aspect.
Two down points – firstly, the hotel is located in a commercial part of Willingdon Island and so it’s not the place to stay if, for example, you want to wander around crowded streets and you’ll need a taxi, auto-rickshaw or ferry to get to the action at, say, Fort Cochin. Secondly, on the one night we needed a meal, we couldn’t get a table in the any of the three other hotel restaurants (all fully booked) and so we headed for the Dolphin’s Point BBQ and Seafood Restaurant. With no prices on the menu, we assumed foolishly that the prices would be comparable to the Pepper – they weren’t. Four of us paid nearly £30 a head for what was merely an acceptable buffet consisting of substantial meat and fish. Still, it taught us to avoid all buffets (except breakfast) and always go a la carte.

Room Tip: Pay more for a first floor superior room above Reception ... or get lucky as we did, and get up-grad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and compliments of the hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience.

Thank you for your feedback. We have made a note of your suggestion and we are pleased to inform that the corrective actions have been implemented.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here only 2 nights but really didn't like the location. The hotel is situated right across from the main port and we heard workmen banging thru the wee hours of the morning. The hotel is basically in an industrial area surrounded by oil refineries and cement factory. Though it's not far from Old Cochin we found New Cochin to be much more exciting and there is another Taj on that side of town.

All that being said, the rooms were really nice and clean, the service was excellent and food was good. The Chinese restaurant was really slow service, but the all-you-can-ea buffets were of very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We at Vivanta by Taj- Malabar are honored to have you stay with us.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience.

We have made a note of your feedback. The matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and you have my assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We loved the Taj Malabar - the service was fantastic even providing us with a lovely room before the usual check in time as we arrived in the early hours and making sure we were happily settled.

The food was excellent particularly in the Rice Boat and the staff there were top notch. The buffet on our first night was wonderful but , with no large groups booked in , it was a one off. In fact all the staff went out of their way to provide excellent food .

Our first room with a double aspect was excellent the first night - comfortable and cosy - but here comes the point where Taj lost a star.
On the second night's bed turn-down we were provided with swimming ear plugs and chocolates. 'That's a very strange thing ' I remarked to my husband particularly as I am not fond of swimming!
But .......... At 1.30am it became very obvious why we had ear plugs as a jetty was being built next door to the hotel. Because of the tides they had to work overnight pile driving, drilling metal on metal, pumping concrete, banging and shouting. After two phone calls an irate husband went to reception in his dressing gown where the staff were sleeping.. Lucky them we said. This was at 3 am and we were still awake.
Eventually we managed to get a little sleep and the General Manager appeared at breakfast to apologise but...............The hotel KNEW this noise was a possibility , the staff admitted it did happen 'quite often' and no one thought to warn us. I suppose the ear plugs should have been a warning.
The result was that all the staff went out of their way to make us happy the next day because it was reported at the morning meeting, we were upgraded to a huge quiet suite for the next night, and we were given a discount off our bill.

We love Taj hotels , we are Taj Inner Circle members but this was not the relaxing start to our India trip we had anticipated. Accordingly Taj Malabar is only very good ... And this is primarily for the excellent staff who made us so very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

It was a pleasure meeting you at the hotel.

We are truly disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet the expectations while we strive to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience and feels the touch of our very personal service.

As discussed, I would like to keep you informed no such activities are happening within the hotel premises which would lead to any inconvenience to the residents.

However, under the given circumstances the hotel is not aware of any such activity schedule or external activities which could lead to an early alert.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. Its a lovely smallish hotel in the harbour area, just across from the chinese fishing nets. There is also something going on in the harbour which adds to the interest in the area. The hotel itself is lovely and clean, and the restaurants offer great choices of local and international cuisine. The rooms, whilst 'cosy' are very well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

I am glad to note that the overall quality of service and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience. I have taken the liberty to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Was here on a short trip. Mainly for dining. 3,4 different restaurants are offered. Seafood cuisine on a traditional boat (Vallam).
Food is overpriced, but excellent choices and flavor.
The resort itself looked nice and clean. Expect a strange odor from the lakes during the monsoon season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.