We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj - Malabar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 165 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Larkspur, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A truly wonderful place on the water--very restful, but close to a number of attractions anda short distance to the airport. Beautiful grounds, lobby and rooms (we stayed in several). We were escorted to our room by a charming young lady who explained all the amenities and electronics to us and told us of the activities offered by the hotel. Tea in the garden prior to a late afternoon cruise around the bay. Lovely. The General Manager was most gracioius and spent quite a bit of time explaining all the upgrades that had been made in the last several years. Impressive. We were there for one night, left for an overnight in a houseboat on the backwater, and then back to the hotel for our last night in Kerala. When we left the first time, we were given a "care package" to hold us until lunch on the houseboat, and half a dozen of the staff stood at the door and waved us goodbye. What a pleasant start to the day--we laughed and laughed. On the return the driver took us to old town and showed us the sights there. Everyone was so accommodating and kind. The chef even printed out a recipe for me when i'd asked about a certain dish. I had a head massage in the spa which is quite impressive to begin with, but massage was amazing. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    233
    48
    8
    7
See reviews for
244
304
55
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley,West Sussex
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a welcome ! ...from the car that collected us from Kochi Airport to the team of staff on the steps as we arrived. The most understated Amd gracious of all was Sunil , Guest Relations Manager. When I quipped about an upgrade as we were only going to be in the hotel for less than 24 hours - he quietly disappeared and he then personally showed us to the most beautiful full suite in the heritage part of the hotel. I couldn't believe it ( and almost felt a bit ' cheap' for asking ) not expecting such a generous response.
He suggested we went to the outside eating area for ' free' afternoon tea and then onto the 'free' sunset cruise. There was the hole management team around tables ensuring guests were given the best welcome And service possible. We just couldn't make th cruise as we had been traveling for hours so took early dinner at The Rice Boat - there signature Fish restaurant. Once again Sunil came and found us and settled is in . The team were very knowledgable on the catch of the day and suggested ways to prepare the fish to make an exciting local flavored meal.
Breakfast the following morning was a sumptuous buffet and we were on our way with Sunil and team waving us off from the steps .... Memorable and I wish I had stayed longer

Room Tip: Room 119 - the bay view suite if you can afford it .... Or get can get an upgrade to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Taj Malabar is simply one of the best properties at Cochin! It has a very pleasant ambiance and situated right next to the water.

The hotel boasts an amazing view and some of the best rooms too. The seafood restaurant is a must try along with the barbecue menu that they serve in the evening.

A must visit during a trip to Cochin! The hotel also organizes trips to Kumarakoram where they have another property I guess. It also has a small catermaran that you can avail the service of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I would rate this hotel as one of the best hotels i ever stayed in. We were a family of four staying in sea view heritage room. The restaurant was excellent and the sunset cruise amazing too...the buffet restaurant went out of their way to cook extra dishes for us...the sunset cruise had excellent hi-tea snacks....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Malabar hotel, as soon as we arrived we were welcomed by the most prepared staff and were given refreshments, which after a long trip was very appreciated!
The room was beautiful, spotless and the beds very comfortable, ask for their range of pillows with different features.
We ate at the Dolphin's Point and the Pepper, now reading all the nice reviews about the Rice Boat I regret not going there for dinner. Breakfast was very nice with a wide range of choices, both continental and Indian.

On the day we had to leave the room there was a problem with the water pipe thus there was no water in the building so we were allowed to check out later so that we could have a shower, but the water didn't work at 14.00 and since we booked a massage we left the room anyway. After the massage the water wasn't still available and we wandered around the hotel for a while until we asked at the reception where we could have a shower since we had to depart in the evening for a night long flight. The manager, mr. Rahul Bahl gave us outstanding service, being very helpful and understanding, he gave us a room until 20:00 to shower with buckets (!!) and relax before the long trip. This gesture was greatly appreciated, thus even with lack of water available we were very impressed.

If we ever go back to Kochi, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I spent a night at vivanta malabar. It is built on a man made island called willingdon island 20 minutes drive from the kochi airport. We had high tea in the evening followed by the cruise on the canals. The food spread was elaborate. The interiors of the hotel is oppulant. We had a great time and will return when we have the chance.
The room was very small for 2 person. The other amenities were very good. The people in the establishment were very helpful and treated us well. We were treated to some old melodies by two talented musicians in the lobby.
I will recommend the property for a great location , good time, nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When we arrived I thought why are we staying so far out of town, but after our 4 day stay I knew why. The resort was gorgeous, the service outstanding, and there was a great choice of restaurants.
Breakfast had great choices, and the restaurant had a wonderful view especially if you sat in the "boat". There was a complimentary tea time outside on the patio at 5.30 which was great........then a boat ride out into the bay.
The rooms in the older section were huge, with beautiful waterfront views. The newer section rooms were smaller, but had adequate space with hard beds ( seems to be standard any place but the US). All the usual luxuries associated with a 5 star hotel......slippers, gowns, coffee/ tea etc.
The spa was amazing, I had an hour foot massage for $ 55...... Still dreaming about it. The pool area was beautiful, and the garden area around the hotel beautifully kept.
The lobby and all the public areas smelled amazing, and the flower arrangements all over the hotel were freshened daily. The hotel is service orientated, and everyone very helpful and polite.
It was a 5 min walk to the ferry to the old town area, and if you did not feel like walking, the hotel shuttle would take you - complimentary. Once on the other side ( ferry cost 2 Rupees EACH !!) you can walk into town another 5 min walk. The took took ( 3 wheeler motorized richshaw ) is 30 rupees into town from the ferry, total for 3 people. Last ferry back into town at 9.30pm. If you stay out later the took took will take you back to the hotel, cost 75 rupees for 3 people, ( about $ 1.60)
The hotel can organize drivers for the day or a few hours, but we preferred to use the taxi service which was much cheaper. We paid the taxi 1750 rupees ( about $36) for 4 hours, and then asked him to take us to the airport- an hour and 15 mins away for 1200 rupees ( about $24).
There are great hotels in the old city, but I really felt we had the best of both worlds at the Taj after rushing around in North India.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the tower which had 2 windows with views of the water from both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.